نشرت بتاريخ 19 أكتوبر 2020

تحسين مساكن الأُسر في التجمعات البدوية والرعوية الفلسطينية لتأمين السلامة والحماية لها

قصة نجاح سجلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

رياض جابر راعٍ فلسطيني من قرية يانون في محافظة نابلس. تحيط بقرية يانون عدة مستوطنات وبؤر استيطانية إسرائيلية، ويعاني سكان القرية من اعتداءات المستوطنين الإسرائيليين المتكررة، التي تزيد من معاناتهم. وقد اعتدى المستوطنون الإسرائيليون على رياض نفسه مرات عدة بينما كان يرعى ماشيته.

بينما يكدّ رياض في عمله لتأمين قوت أسرته، تكافح الأسرة كلها في سبيل تدبُّر أمور معيشتها. فحتى وقت قريب كان رياض وزوجته وأطفاله الأربعة يسكنون في منزل صغير مشيّد من جدران إسمنتية ومسقوف بألواح معدنية. كان هذا المنزل، الذي كان يتألّف من غرفتين، صغيرًا للغاية على الأسرة وفي حالة رديئة. كما لم يكن للعائلة مطبخ لائق، وكانت أنابيب المياه مهترئة وتسرّب المياه، وكان الحمّام بحاجة إلى الترميم، ولم يكن الباب الرئيسي للمنزل يغلق بإحكام. وكان الأطفال ينامون في نفس الغرفة التي تُستخدم للطهي.

تقول زوجة رياض: «كانت القوارض والحشرات والزواحف تدخل المنزل،» وهو ما كان يثير الخوف من لدغاتها ومن انتقال الأمراض بسببها. كما كان في المنزل حفرة امتصاصية مفتوحة، لم تكن الروائح الكريهة تنبعث منها فحسب، بل كانت تسبّب التوتر الدائم أيضًا، حيث كان رياض يخشى دائمًا من أن يسقط أحد أحفاده في هذه الحفرة، التي لم يكن في وسع الأسرة إلا أن تغطيها بألواح من الخشب. 

أثرّت هذه الظروف على صحة الأسرة ورفاهها. تقول زوجة رياض والألم يعتصر قلبها: «كنت أشعر بالأسى على أبنائي وابنتي، عندما كانوا ينامون في الغرفة نفسها دون أن يتمتعوا بأيّة خصوصية.» ويستذكر رياض قائلًا: «حاولت أن أجري بعض الترميمات قبل عامين، ولكن الأمر استدعى إنجاز المزيد من العمل، ولم يكن بوسعي أن أتحمل تكلفته.» 

وفي شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019 وبدعم من الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، وقع الاختيار على أسرة رياض كواحدة من 120 أسرة لكي تستفيد من مشروع تنفذه منظمة الإغاثة الأولّية الدولية (Première Urgence Internationale) بالشراكة مع لجان الإغاثة الزراعية الفلسطينية. يهدف هذا المشروع إلى تحسين الظروف المعيشية وتعزيز حماية الأسر التي تعاني من ضعف شديد في التجمعات البدوية والرعوية الواقعة في المنطقة (ج) شمال الضفة الغربية، وذلك من خلال تحسين المساكن التي لا تستوفي المعايير المطلوبة وتقديم المواد/الأدوات التي تؤمّن الحماية لها. 

أعيدَ تأهيل منزل رياض من خلال هذا المشروع وتحسنت ظروف الأسرة المعيشية. قد جاء هذا العمل في وقت مناسب، فعندما تفشى فيروس كورونا في الضفة الغربية في شهر آذار/مارس 2010، كانت ابنة رياض المتزوجة وابنتها البالغة من العمر أربعة أعوام في زيارة لأهلها من الأردن، وباتتا عالقتين في الضفة الغربية بسبب إغلاق الحدود مع الأردن، مما أفضى إلى زيادة الاكتظاظ في المنزل.

شملت الأعمال تركيب تمديدات مياه جديدة، وإضافة غرفة جديدة للحد من ظروف الاكتظاظ، وإغلاق الحفرة الامتصاصية على الوجه المناسب وترميم الحمام. وفضلًا عن ذلك، جرى تشييد مطبخ، واستبدال السقف من أجل تحسين العزل، وتركيب باب جديد يُغلق بإحكام، وفتح نافذتين جديدتين لإتاحة تهوية أفضل. وأخيرًا، تم تبليط المنزل كله، وتصليح تمديدات الكهرباء واستبدال جميع المقابس الكهربائية. 

يقول رياض والبهجة ترتسم على محيّاه: «لقد فاق هذا المشروع توقعاتنا كلها. أكون في غاية السعادة عندما أرى أطفالي ينامون في منزل أفضل وفي غرف منفصلة. والتحسن الأكبر هو ترميم الحمّام وتبليط الأرضية. فقبل ذلك، لم نكن نستطيع أن ننظف الحمام لأن أرضيته لم تكن مبلطة، ولم تكن لدينا مياه جارية. أما الآن فهو صحي أكثر بكثير.» 

كما تعرب زوجة رياض عن سعادتها بهذا العمل وبالأثر الذي أفرزه على أطفالها، حيث تقول: «يغمرني السرور لأن الأولاد والبنات لهم غرفهم المنفصلة، وخاصة بالنظر إلى أنهم غدوا في سن المراهقة. وقد تحسن مزاجهم.» وتستطرد قائلة: «وجود باب يغلق بإحكام يشعرني بالأمان. فقد كنت دائمًا أشعر بالقلق من أن تدخل الأفاعي المنزل.» 

يقول رياض وزوجته: «لقد غيّر المشروع حياتنا وحَسّنها بكل طريقة ممكنة. إننا الآن نحيا حياتنا بكرامة.»

لم يكن في المنزل سوى غرفتين قبل المشروع. وتم تشييد مطبخ وتركيب تمديدات المياه في سياق إعادة تأهيله. تصوير: رياض جابر

تم إغلاق الحفرة الامتصاصية خلال أعمال إعادة التأهيل. الصورة اليمنى: الحفرة الامتصاصية قبل إعادة تأهيلها. الصورة اليسرى: الحفرة الامتصاصية بعد إغلاقها. تصوير: رياض جابر

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 19 October 2020

Upgrading shelters of Palestinian Bedouin and herding households to provide safety and protection

An oPt Humanitarian Fund success story

Reyad Jaber is a Palestinian herder from Yanun village, in the Nablus Governorate. Yanun is surrounded by several Israeli settlements and settlement outposts and its residents suffer from recurring Israeli settler attacks, increasing their vulnerability. Reyad, himself, has been attacked by Israeli settlers several times while herding his livestock.

While Reyad works hard to provide for his family, they struggle to make ends meet. Until recently, he, his wife and their four children, lived in a small house made out of concrete walls and a corrugated metal roof. The two-room house was too small for the family and the conditions were poor. There was no proper kitchen, the water pipes were damaged and leaking, the bathroom needed repairs. and the house’s main door did not lock properly. The children were sleeping in the same room used for cooking.

“Rodents, insects and reptiles would come in the house,” raising fears of bites and diseases, explained his wife. The house also had an open sewage septic tank, which not only emitted bad odors, it generated constant stress, as Reyad was always fearful that one of his grandchildren might fall in the hole, which they could only cover with wooden planks. 

Overall, the poor conditions had a severe effect on the family’s health and wellbeing. “I felt sorry for my sons and my daughter, sleeping in the same room and not having any privacy,” lamented Reyad’s wife. “I tried to do some repairs two years ago,” recalls Reyad, “but more work was needed, and I could not afford it.” 

In November 2019, the family’s situation took a turn for the better. With support from the Humanitarian Fund for the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt HF), Reyad’s family was selected as one of 120 households to benefit from a project implemented by Première Urgence Internationale (PUI), in partnership with a local partner, the Palestinian Agricultural Relief Committees (PARC). The project aims at improving the living conditions and increasing the protection of acutely vulnerable Bedouin and herding households, located in Area C of the northern West Bank, through upgrading substandard shelters and providing protective materials/tools. 

Through the project, Reyad’s house was rehabilitated and the family’s living conditions improved. The work could not have come at a better time: when the COVID-19 outbreak began in the West Bank in March 2020, Reyad’s married daughter and her 4-year-old girl were visiting from Jordan. With the closure of the border with Jordan, they have been stranded in the West Bank, leading to further overcrowding of the home.

Works included: the installation of a new water network; the addition of a new room in order to reduce the over-crowded conditions; proper sealing off of the sewage pit; and repairing the bathroom. Additionally, a kitchen was built; the ceiling was replaced to improve the insulation; a new main door that locks properly was added; and two new windows were opened to allow for better ventilation. Finally, the entire house’s floor was tiled, and the electricity network was repaired, with the electric sockets all replaced. 

“Overall, this project exceeded our expectations,” rejoiced Reyad. “I am so happy to see my children sleeping in a better place, and in separate rooms. The biggest improvement is the repairing of the bathroom and the tiling of its floor,” he continued. “Before, we could not clean the bathroom, since the floor was not tiled, and we did not have running water. Now it is much more hygienic.” 

Reyad’s wife is also happy with the work and its effect on her children. “I am glad that the boys and girls have separate rooms, especially since they are becoming teenagers. Their mood has improved,” she said. “And having a door that closes properly makes me feel safe,” she continued, “I always felt anxious that snakes would come in the house.” 

“This project changed and improved our lives in every possible way,” declared Reyad and his wife. “We are now living decently.”

Before the project, the house only had two rooms. As part of the rehabilitation, a kitchen was built and a water network installed. Photo credit: Reyad Jaber.

The sewage pit's hole was sealed off during the rehabilitation. Left: the sewage pit hole before the rehabilitation. Right: the sewage pit hole after it was sealed off. Photo credit: Reyad Jaber.