كان محمود، وهو المعيل الوحيد لأسرته، يرزح تحت عبء ثقيل في إعالتها وتأمين قُوتها. تصوير محمد الريفي لصالح منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية.

دعم الغزّيين في تحمُّل نفقات اختيار أغذية أفضل

قصة نجاح سجّلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

المساعدة هي الخطوة الأولى نحو دخل أكثر استدامة

كان محمود، وهو المعيل الوحيد لأسرته، يرزح تحت عبء ثقيل في إعالتها وتأمين قُوتها. تصوير محمد الريفي لصالح منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية.

محمود الزعانين هو المعيل الوحيد لأسرته الكبيرة التي تتألف من 13 فردًا، بمن فيهم والداه المسنّان. وتعيش الأسرة في منزل صغير في بلدة بمحافظة شمال غزة. وكان محمود يعمل عامل طلاء على مدى 12 عامًا، ولكن حالته الصحية تدهورت بسبب تعرُّضه للمواد الكيماوية التي يحتويها الطلاء، مما أعاق قدرته على العمل. وقد واجه محمود صعوبات في العثور على عمل دائم له في ظل الاقتصاد المتدهور في غزة، على الرغم من الجهود التي بذلها وكفاحه في سبيل تأمين الغذاء لأسرته.

«لقد واجهت الكثير من المشاكل في توفير الغذاء لأسرتي وأمضينا أيامًا كثيرة لا نأكل فيها غير البندورة. واضطُررت إلى استدانة المال... وفي معظم الأوقات، لم أكن أستطيع شراء الدجاج لإعداد وجبة الطعام يوم الجمعة، ولكن عندما تيسّر لي ذلك، فليس في وسعك أن تتخيل السعادة التي غمرت أطفالي. كان هذا مثل عرس عندهم.» (محمود الزعانين)

وفي شهر كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019، كانت أسرة محمود واحدة من 1,800 أسرة تم اختيارها لكي تتلقى مساعدات طارئة على مدى ستة أشهر لشراء المواد الغذائية وغيرها من المستلزمات المعيشية، في سياق مشروع تنفذه منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية بتمويل من الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

وشكّلت هذه المساعدة نقطة تحوّل في حياة محمود، حيث مكّنته من إطعام أسرته من خلال شراء المواد الغذائية، والمستلزمات المعيشية الحيوية ووقود الطهي، وادخار المال لبدء مشروع صغير يؤمّن له دخلًا مستدامًا في الوقت نفسه.

ويقول محمود: «بفضل هذه [المساعدة]، تمكنتُ من ادخار بعض من المال الذي أحصل عليه من عملي المتقطّع لشراء بسطة صغيرة لأبيع الخضار عليها. وما عدتُ أستدين المال».

ومن خلال القسائم الإلكترونية التي تقدمها منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية، تستطيع الأسر أن تؤمّن احتياجاتها الأولية، مما يمكنها من شراء الأغذية الطازجة والمستلزمات المعيشية من مجموعة متنوعة من المحلات التجارية المشارِكة في المشروع، إلى جانب مياه الشرب وإعادة تعبئة أسطوانات الغاز. ويمكن استخدام القسائم الإلكترونية في شراء المواد الغذائية والمستلزمات المعيشية الحيوية ووقود الطهي. ويقول محمود: «على مدى أسابيع، لم يكن في وسعي أن أوفر غاز الطهي... ولكن من خلال الكرت [القسيمة الإلكترونية]، نستطيع أن نعبئ الأسطوانة وأن نطهو بسهولة».

محمود يشتري المواد الغذائية من سوبرماركت محلي.

وشعر محمود بالارتياح بوجه خاص لتأمين ما يكفي من المواد الغذائية خلال شهر رمضان وما بعده. «فمثلًا، خلال شهر رمضان، لم أستطع تأمين ما يكفي من الطعام لأفراد أسرتي ليفطروا بعد صيامهم. وفي معظم الأوقات، كانت لديهم وجبة واحدة بدل اثنتين في معظم الأوقات... ولكن بمساعدة البرنامج، استخدمت الكرت لشراء مواد غذائية كثيرة ومختلفة لها لكي تتناول أسرتي طعامًا لائقًا خلال الفترة التي يغطيها الدعم».

وبسبب نهج الاتصالات على المستويات الدنيا، تمكنت منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية من إجراء تعديلات سريعة على المشروع مع بروز فيروس كورونا كخطر في غزة. فقد فعّلت المنظمة والباعة المتعاقدون معها تدابير التباعد الاجتماعي وغيرها من التدابير الوقائية على الفور حتى يتسنى لمحمود وأسرته أن يستعيدوا قسيمتهم الإلكترونية. كما استخدمت المنظمة الرسائل النصية والاتصالات الهاتفية والمنشورات للتأكد من أنه وأسرته يطّلعون على المعلومات الدقيقة والآنية عن طرق توخّي السلامة في ظل الجائحة.

As a sole breadwinner, Mahmoud carried a heavy burden providing for his family. Photo by Mohamed Reefi for CRS.

Supporting Gazans to afford better food choices

An oPt Humanitarian Fund success story

Assistance is first step towards a more sustainable income

As a sole breadwinner, Mahmoud carried a heavy burden providing for his family. Photo by Mohamed Reefi for CRS.

Mahmoud Az Za’aneen is the sole breadwinner in a large, 13-member family, including two elderly parents. The family lives in a small house in a town in North Gaza. Mahmoud worked as a construction painter for 12 years, but a worsening medical condition from exposure to paint chemicals hampered his ability to work. Despite his efforts, Mahmoud faced difficulties securing permanent work in the deteriorating economy in Gaza and struggled to provide food for his family.

“I have faced many problems providing food for my family and we spent many days eating only tomatoes. I had to borrow money… Most of time I couldn’t buy chicken for Friday’s meal, but when I could, you can’t imagine how happy my children were; it was like a wedding party for them.” (Mahmoud Az Za’aneen)

In December 2019, Mahmoud’s family was one of 1,800 families selected to receive six months of emergency assistance to purchase food and other living supplies, as part of a project of Catholic Relief Services (CRS), funded through the occupied Palestinian territory Humanitarian Fund (oPt HF)

The assistance was a turning point in Mahmoud’s life, enabling him to feed his family by purchasing food, vital living supplies and cooking fuel, while saving money to start a small business to secure a sustainable income. 

“Because of the [assistance], I managed to save some money I received from my irregular work to buy a small stall to sell vegetables. I stopped borrowing money,” he said.

With the CRS e-voucher, families can meet their priority needs enabling them to buy fresh food and living supplies from a variety of participating shops, as well as potable water and gas cylinder refills. E-vouchers can be used for food, vital living supplies and cooking fuel. “For weeks, I couldn’t provide cooking gas ... but through the [e-voucher] card, we can fill the cylinder and easily cook,” he said.

Mahmoud buying healthy food from a local supermarket.

Mahmoud felt particular relief at having enough food during the month of Ramadan fast and beyond. “For example, during Ramadan, I couldn’t provide enough food for my family to break their fast. Most of the time, they had only one meal instead of two … but with the help of the programme, I used the card to buy many different food items for them to eat properly throughout the period of support.”

Due to its low-contact approach, CRS was able to make quick modifications to the project as COVID-19 emerged as a risk in Gaza. CRS and its vendors immediately enabled physical distancing and other protective measures so Mahmoud and his family could safely redeem their electronic voucher.  CRS also used text messages, phone calls and flyers to make sure he and his family had accurate and timely information about how to stay safe during the outbreak.