فلسطينيون في تجمّع سكاني في المنطقة (ج) بالضفة الغربية غير موصولين بشبكة المياه. صورة أرشيفية من مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية

الفلسطينيون يكافحون للوصول إلى المياه في غور الأردن

كجزء من

ساهمت مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية والمنظمات الشريكة فيها في كتابة هذا المقال.

يقول سالم، البالغ من العمر 45 عامًا وأب لخمسة أطفال: «كنا نشتري المياه المنقولة بالصهاريج بأسعار باهظة للغاية، أما الآن فيصعب علينا حتى أن نعثر على أحد يُحضر المياه إلينا خشية من أن يصادر الجنود الشاحنة.»

يسكن سالم في تجمّع حمصة البقيعة السكاني الفلسطيني، الواقع في المنطقة (ج) في شمال غور الأردن. ويقع هذا التجمع السكاني في شطر كبير منه في منطقة مصنّفة باعتبارها «منطقة إطلاق نار» مخصصة لتدريب الجيش الإسرائيلي، حيث تحظر السلطات الإسرائيلية على الفلسطينيين الإقامة فيها ووصولهم إليها. وفي مناسبات عديدة منذ العام 2012، هجّرت السلطات الإسرائيلية سكان حمصة البقيعة مؤقتًا عن تجمعهم عندما كانت تُجري التدريبات العسكرية بجواره. وسجل مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية أكثر من 50 حادثًا من هذا القبيل خلال تلك الفترة.

Palestinians in an Area C community of the West Bank not connected to the water grid. Archive picture by OCHA
فلسطينيون في تجمّع سكاني في المنطقة (ج) بالضفة الغربية غير موصولين بشبكة المياه. صورة أرشيفية من مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية

كما هجرت السلطات الإسرائيلية معظم أبناء التجمع في ست مناسبات منذ يوم 3 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020، بعدما هدمت منازلهم ومبانيهم الأخرى وصادرتها. ومؤخرًا، في يوم 22 شباط/فبراير من هذا العام، صادرت السلطات الإسرائيلية 18 مبنًى سكنيًا وحظيرة مواشٍ، فضلًا عن الطرود الغذائية والمباني غير المركَّبة وخزانات المياه. وكان معظم هذه المواد مقدَّمة في سياق الاستجابة الإنسانية التي جاءت بعد حوادث مشابهة وقعت في أيام 1 و3 و8 و16 شباط/فبراير، حيث هُدم خلالها 64 مبنًى أو صودر، مما أدى إلى تهجير نحو 60 شخصًا، من بينهم 35 طفلًا. ودعت لين هاستينغز، المنسقة الإنسانية للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، في بيان صدر عنها في يوم 24 شباط/فبراير، السلطات الإسرائيلية «إلى وقف جميع عمليات الهدم الإضافية التي تطال منازل الفلسطينيين وممتلكاتهم على الفور والسماح لمجتمع العمل الإنساني بتقديم المأوى والغذاء والمياه لهذه الفئة الأكثر ضعفًا ولأولئك الأشخاص بالبقاء في منازلهم.»

وهذا التجمع السكاني غير موصول بأي من شبكات المياه أو شبكات الصرف الصحي، ولا تتيسّر لسكانه إمكانية الوصول إلى خدمات جمع النفايات الصلبة. ولذلك، يُضطر السكان إلى شراء المياه من مورِّدين من القطاع الخاص بسعر يصل إلى 40 شيكلًا (نحو 12 دولارًا) للمتر مكعب، وهو ما يبلغ ثمانية أضعاف متوسط سعر المياه الذي يدفعه الفلسطينيون في الضفة الغربية.[1] كما يُضطر هؤلاء السكان إلى تقاسُم المراحيض بين عدة أُسر وحرق النفايات الصلبة. وفي أعقاب عملية الهدم الجماعي التي نُفذت في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020، قدم مجتمع العمل الإنساني لسكان التجمع 20 خزان مياه للوفاء ببعض احتياجاتهم من المياه. وقد صادرت السلطات الإسرائيلية هذه الخزانات في يوم 22 شباط/فبراير. ومنذ ذلك الحين، بات المورّدون من القطاع الخاص يمتنعون عن نقل المياه إلى التجمع خوفًا من أن تصادر السلطات الإسرائيلية شاحناتهم أيضًا.

وفي شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020، تعرّض ياسر، وهو أب لثمانية أطفال وأحد سكان حمصة البقيعة، لمصادرة جرّاره الزراعي وصهريج المياه المتنقل عليه، وهما الوسيلة الوحيدة التي كانت تيسر له نقل المياه إلى أسرته وماشيته.

«كنت أسير مسافة تقارب 15 كيلومترًا كل يوم لأُحضِر المياه لأسرتي وماشيتي. وقد صادرت السلطات الإسرائيلية صهريجنا المتنقل في شهر شباط/فبراير ويرفض الموردون من القطاع الخاص إحضار المياه إليّ لأنهم يخشون من فقدان صهاريجهم. ومنذ ذلك الحادث، أرسلت جميع أفراد أسرتي وماشيتي إلى تجمع قريب، لأنه ليس في مقدوري أن أؤمّن لهم المياه في منزلنا.»

Water tanks confiscated by the Israeli authorities in the Palestinian community of Humsa - Al Baqai’a (Tubas) in the northern Jordan Valley. Photo by the WASH Cluster.

وتُعدّ الأحداث الأخيرة التي شهدتها حمصة البقيعة جزءًا من نمط أوسع. فحتى يوم 31 آذار/مارس 2021، شهدت التجمعات السكانية في غور الأردن زيادة فاقت نسبتها 400 بالمائة في عمليات الهدم والمصادرة (139)، بالمقارنة مع الربع الأول من العام 2020 (27). وتمثل الأرقام الواردة من غور الأردن نحو 50 بالمائة من المباني المستهدفة ونحو 70 بالمائة من الأشخاص المهجّرين في الربع الأول من العام 2021.

مسح احتياجات الناس من المياه في غور الأردن

تُنسق وكالات الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير التابعة لها، ممن تستجيب لاحتياجات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية، عملها من خلال مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية. فبين شهريْ أيلول/سبتمبر وكانون الأول/ديسمبر 2020، أجرت المنظمات الشريكة في المجموعة مسحًا شمل 68 تجمعًا سكانيًا فلسطينيًا في غور الأردن. وقيّمت هذه المنظمات احتياجات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية في كل تجمع من تلك التجمعات، وسجلت الخدمات المتاحة فيه، ورصدت كيفية الوصول إلى هذه الخدمات وحددت الفجوات التي يتعين معالجتها. وتضم التجمعات السكانية المختارة نحو 60,000 فلسطيني، يقطن 12,500 منهم في المنطقة (ج)، التي تحتفظ إسرائيل بسيطرة شبه حصرية عليها، بما يشمل سيطرتها على البنية التحتية، وإجراءات التخطيط، والبناء، والتنقل وإنفاذ القانون. وبسبب نظام التخطيط التقييدي،[2] لا ترتبط غالبية التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية في المنطقة (ج) بغور الأردن بشبكة المياه و/أو تواجه العقبات على صعيد إعادة تأهيل الشبكات القائمة وإنشاء خزانات المياه أو ترميمها.

ووفقًا لهذا التقييم، يعتمد نحو 60 بالمائة من السكان الذين شملهم المسح في المنطقة (ج) اعتمادًا كاملًا أو جزئيًا على نقل المياه بالصهاريج (انظر الرسم البياني)، حيث يحصلون على المياه إما من الآبار أو الينابيع القريبة منهم أو من نقاط التعبئة في التجمعات الأخرى. وفي وِسع ما يقل عن نصف السكان (41 بالمائة) الاعتماد اعتمادًا كليًا على شبكات المياه. كما يعتمد نحو 40 بالمائة من هؤلاء على المياه المنقولة بالصهاريج بسبب الكميات المحدودة من إمدادات المياه عبر شبكة المياه.

وتدفع الإمكانية المحدودة للحصول على المياه بالعديد من الأسر إلى البحث عن بدائل، من قبيل تجميع مياه الأمطار ونقل المياه بالصهاريج. ومع ذلك، فليس في وسع هذه البدائل أن تفي بالاحتياجات الأساسية لما تستهلكه هذه التجمعات من المياه لأغراضها المنزلية وفي تأمين سبل عيشها بسبب ندرة هطول الأمطار في غور الأردن على مدى الأعوام القليلة الماضية[3] وارتفاع تكلفة المياه المنقولة بالصهاريج والتي تتأثر تأثرًا مباشرًا بالقيود التي تفرضها السلطات الإسرائيلية على الوصول،[4] . ولذلك، يتعين على تلك التجمعات أن تلجأ إلى آليات للتأقلم، كتقليص الكمية اليومية التي تخصصها لمياه الشرب، وهو ما يشكل مخاطر تهدد الصحة والنظافة الصحية، أو تقليل استهلاك المياه في استخداماتها المنزلية أو في سبل عيشها، وهو أمر يؤثر على نظافة المنازل ويحد من قدراتها على المحافظة على ما تملكه من أصول تؤمّن سبل العيش لها (كالمواشي والأراضي الزراعية). وفضلًا عن ذلك، ثمة مخاوف إزاء نوعية مصادر المياه، بالنظر إلى أن غياب الأنظمة المناسبة لمراقبة الجودة ورصدها تعرّض الناس للمخاطر الصحية الناجمة عن الأمراض المتصلة بالمياه.

وبسبب القيود التي تفرضها السلطات الإسرائيلية على الوصول، والبنية التحتية الرديئة وخطر المصادرة، يتراوح متوسط أسعار المياه من ضعفيْ إلى أربعة أضعاف متوسط سعرها في الضفة الغربية بعمومها (5 شواكل أو 1.5 دولار للمتر المكعب)، في 36 في المائة من التجمعات السكانية في المنطقة (ج) بغور الأردن. وبالنسبة للتجمعات الأخرى (31 في المائة)، يُعدّ الحصول على المياه أعلى تكلفة من ذلك، حيث تصل إلى ثمانية أضعاف متوسط سعرها. ويتراجع استهلاك المياه في هذه التجمعات إلى ما يقل عن 50 لترًا للفرد في اليوم، بالمقارنة مع توصية منظمة الصحة العالمية (100 لتر للفرد في اليوم).[5] وفي المقابل، تصل خدمات المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب إلى جميع الأسر المقيمة في المستوطنات الإسرائيلية القريبة من تلك التجمعات. وتتيسر لهذه الأسر إمكانية الحصول على إمدادات دائمة ولا حد لها من المياه بأسعار تستطيع تحمّلها (9 شواكل أو 2.8 دولار للمتر المكعب لاستخدامات الشرب، و2.8 شيكل أو 0.9 دولار للمتر المكعب للاستخدامات الزراعية). وتفضي هذه الإمكانية غير المحدودة للوصول إلى المياه إلى معدلات استهلاك تبلغ 300-440 لترًا للفرد في اليوم،[6] وخاصةً في المستوطنات الإسرائيلية التي ترتكز على الزراعة.

كما كشف التقييم الذي أجرته مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية عن أن مرافق الصرف الصحي في التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية الواقعة في غور الأردن لا تستوفي الشروط الدنيا التي تقررها منظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن النظافة الصحية الملائمة والخصوصية والكرامة.[7] فما يربو على 95 بالمائة من جميع التجمعات السكانية التي شملها المسح لا تصلها خدمات الصرف الصحي، ولا يملك العديد من الأسر القدرة على الوصول إلى مراحيض صالحة للاستخدام، سواء كانت داخلية أم خارجية متنقلة أم ثابتة. ووفقًا لمؤسسة (WeWorld-GVC)، وهي إحدى المنظمات الشريكة في مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية، يفيد سكان هذه التجمعات بأنهم معرضون لمخاطر تهدد سلامتهم بسبب عدم توفر ما يكفي من تلك المرافق وبأنهم محرومون من الخصوصية عندما يلتمسون مكانًا يقضون فيه حاجتهم أو عندما يتقاسمون مرحاضًا مع أسر أخرى.[8]

وتقول فاطمة، التي تبلغ من العمر 36 عامًا وأم لستة أطفال وتقطن في حمصة البقيعة: «بما أننا لا نملك ما يكفي من المراحيض، أُضطر في بعض الأحيان إلى أن آخذ أطفالي في جوف الليل مسافةً تصل إلى 50 مترًا لكي يقضوا حاجتهم. ونحن نعاني من العنف الذي يمارسه المستوطنون الإسرائيليون. فالوضع ليس آمنًا.»

كما أكد التقييم أن أكثر من 70 بالمائة من هذه التجمعات (68 تجمعًا) لا تستفيد من أي من خدمات النفايات الصلبة، مما يدفع الأسر إلى حرق نفاياتها أو دفنها أو طمرها في محيطها.

وتعرّض الإمكانية المحدودة للوصول إلى خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية في غور الأردن السكان للمخاطر التي تهدد سبل عيشهم، وصحتهم وحياتهم الاجتماعية. فالأسر لا تتيسر لها القدرة على المحافظة على مستوى مقبول من النظافة الصحية، ويُضطر عدد كبير منها إلى مغادرة تجمعاتها خلال أشهر الصيف الحارة لكي تجد مصادر مياه بديلة لسقاية مواشيها. ويُعدّ الأطفال وكبار السن الأكثر عرضة للمخاطر الصحية، ولا سيما خلال جائحة كورونا. وتكافح النساء للاضطلاع بدورهن التقليدي في ضمان الوفاء بمستوى ملائم من معايير الصحة والنظافة الصحية في أسرهن. وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا تتحمل الأسر في عمومها التكاليف المتزايدة التي يستتبعها الحصول على الحد الأدنى من خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية.

مساعدة الفلسطينيين على الوصول إلى الخدمات المتصلة بالمياه

تعمل مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية والمنظمات الشريكة فيها على تحسين الإمكانية المتاحة لأكثر التجمعات السكانية ضعفًا في غور الأردن للوصول إلى ما يكفيها من خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي على قدم المساواة وعلى نحو آمن يحفظ لهم كرامتها. وتقدم المجموعة للأسر المراحيض وخزانات البولي إيثيلين والصهاريج المتنقلة، وتعيد تأهيل خزانات المياه العامة في هذه التجمعات. كما تدعو المجموعة السلطات الإسرائيلية إلى السماح بإتاحة الإمكانية لربط التجمعات التي تفتقر إلى الخدمات في المنطقة (ج) بشبكات المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب والصرف الصحي.

وفي خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2021، قدمت المنظمات الشريكة في المجموعة سبعة مشاريع تبلغ قيمتها 1.2 مليون دولار وتستهدف 11,000 شخص من سكان التجمعات الواقعة في المنطقة (ج) بغور الأردن. وتشمل هذه المشاريع، في حال تمويلها بالكامل، تمديد أنابيب المياه وإعادة تأهيلها، وتركيب خزانات المياه للأسر، ونقل المياه بالصهاريج، وتوفير المراحيض، فضلًا عن الحملات التي تعزز النظافة الصحية. ولم يجرِ تمويل سوى 20 بالمائة من طلب المجموعة حتى نهاية شهر آذار/مارس.


[1] يبلغ متوسط سعر المياه في الضفة الغربية 5 شواكل أو 1.5 دولار للمتر المكعب.

[2] للمزيد من المعلومات، انظر «تقييد الحيز: سياسة تخطيط المناطق التي تطبّقها إسرائيل في المنطقة (ج) في الضفة الغربية».

[3] The average annual rainfall in the Jordan Valley is 166 ml. In 2020, only 65 per cent of this figure was reached.

[4] Tubas Governorate Access Restrictions | July 2018.

[5] Domestic Water Quantity, Service Level and Health, World Health Organization 2003.

[6]  مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية، 2021.

[7] WHO GUIDELINES ON SANITATION AND HEALTH.

[8] Community Protection Approach (CPA) of WeWorld-GVC.

Palestinians in an Area C community of the West Bank not connected to the water grid. Archive picture by OCHA

Palestinians strive to access water in the Jordan Valley

as part of

This article was contributed by the Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) Cluster and its partners

“We used to buy tankered water at an extremely high price, but now it’s hard to even find anyone to bring us water out of fear that soldiers could confiscate the truck,” according to Salem, a 45-year-old father of five.

Salem is a resident of the Palestinian community of Humsa - Al Baqai’a, located in Area C in the northern Jordan Valley. The community is located mostly in an area designated as a ‘firing zone’ for Israeli military training, where Palestinian residency and access is prohibited by the Israeli authorities. On numerous occasions since 2012, the residents of Humsa - Al Baqai’a have been temporarily displaced by the Israeli authorities while they carried out military trainings in the vicinity. OCHA has recorded over 50 such incidents during this period.

Palestinians in an Area C community of the West Bank not connected to the water grid. Archive picture by OCHA
Palestinians in an Area C community of the West Bank not connected to the water grid. Archive picture by OCHA

In addition, since 3 November 2020, on six separate occasions, the Israeli authorities have displaced most of the community by demolishing and confiscating their homes and other structures. Most recently on 22 February this year, the Israeli authorities confiscated 18 residential and animal structures in addition to food parcels, unassembled structures, and water tanks. Most of these items had been provided as humanitarian response, following similar incidents that occurred on 1, 3, 8 and 16 February, during which 64 structures were demolished or confiscated, leaving some 60 people, including 35 children displaced. In a statement issued on 24 February, the Humanitarian Coordinator for the oPt, Lynn Hastings, called on the Israeli authorities to “immediately halt all further demolitions of Palestinian homes and possessions, allow the humanitarian community to provide shelter, food and water to this most vulnerable group and these people to remain in their homes.”

The community is not connected to any water or sewer networks and has no access to solid waste collection services. Consequently, residents have to buy water through private vendors at NIS40 (about US$12) per cubic metre, eight times the average price of water for Palestinians in the West Bank.[1] They also have to share latrines among several households and burn solid waste. After the November 2020 mass-demolition, the humanitarian community provided them with 20 water tanks, to address some of their water needs. Those were confiscated by the Israeli authorities on 22 February. Since then, private vendors have been reluctant to bring water to the community out of fear that their trucks might also be confiscated by the Israeli authorities.

In November 2020, Yaser, a father of eight children and a resident of Humsa - Al Baqai’a, has had his tractor and mobile water tank confiscated, his only means to transport water for his family and livestock.

“I used to travel about 15 kilometres every day to bring water for my family and livestock. The Israeli authorities confiscated our mobile tank in February and now private vendors refuse to bring water for me as they are now afraid of losing their tanks. Since the incident, I have sent all my family and livestock to a nearby community, as I can't provide them with water in our own home.”

Water tanks confiscated by the Israeli authorities in the Palestinian community of Humsa - Al Baqai’a (Tubas) in the northern Jordan Valley. Photo by the WASH Cluster.

Recent events in Humsa - Al Baqai’a are part of a wider pattern. Up to 31 March 2021, communities in the Jordan Valley have witnessed an over 400 per cent increase in demolition and confiscations (139), compared with the first quarter of 2020 (27). The Jordan Valley figures account for nearly 50 per cent of targeted structures and nearly 70 per cent of displaced persons in the first quarter of 2021.

Mapping people’s water needs in the Jordan Valley

UN and non-UN organizations responding to water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) needs coordinate their work through the local WASH Cluster. Between September and December 2020, WASH Cluster partners surveyed 68 Palestinian communities in the Jordan Valley. They assessed the WASH needs of each community, registered the services available, monitored how those services can be accessed and identified gaps that need to be addressed. The selected communities comprise some 60,000 Palestinians, 12,500 of whom reside in Area C, where Israel retains near exclusive control of the territory, including over infrastructure, planning, construction, movement and law enforcement. Due to the restrictive planning regime,[2] most Palestinian communities in Area C of the Jordan Valley are not connected to a water network, and/or face impediments in rehabilitating existing connections and constructing or repairing water cisterns.

According to the assessment, some 60 per cent of the Area C residents surveyed rely fully or partially on water trucking (see pie chart), obtaining water either from nearby wells, springs, or from filling points in other communities. Less than half of the residents (41 per cent) can rely solely on water networks. Also, due to the limited amount of water supplied through water networks, some 40 per cent depend on water trucking.

Limited access to water has driven many households to seek alternatives, such as rainwater harvesting and water trucking. However, due to the scarcity of rainfall in the Jordan Valley in recent years[3] and the high cost of trucked water, which is directly affected by access restrictions imposed by the Israeli authorities,[4] these alternatives cannot meet the communities’ basic domestic and livelihood consumption needs. Therefore, communities must resort to coping mechanisms, such as limiting their daily quantity of drinking water, which poses health and hygiene risks or reducing their water consumption for domestic and livelihood uses, which is affecting their domestic cleanliness, as well as limiting their abilities to maintain livelihood assets (such as livestock and agricultural lands). In addition, there are concerns regarding the quality of these water resources, since the lack of proper quality control and monitoring systems expose people to health risks linked to water-related diseases.

Due to access restrictions imposed by the Israeli authorities, poor infrastructure, and the risk of confiscation, the average water price ranges from two to four times the average in the West Bank generally (NIS5 or $1.50 per cubic metre), for 36 per cent of Area C communities in the Jordan Valley. For other communities (31 per cent), the access to water is even more expensive, reaching up to eight times the average price. Water consumption for these communities drops to less than 50 litres/capita/day (l/c/d), compared with the WHO recommendation of 100 l/c/d.[5] In comparison, all households in nearby Israeli settlements are connected to piped water services. These households have access to permanent and unlimited water supply at affordable prices (NIS9 or $2.8 per cubic metre for drinking use, and NIS2.8 or $0.9 per cubic metre for agricultural use). Such unlimited access to water result in water consumption rates of 300-440 l/c/d,[6] particularly in Israeli settlements focusing on agriculture.

The WASH assessment also revealed that sanitation facilities in these Palestinian Jordan Valley communities do not satisfy the WHO minimum requirements for adequate hygiene, privacy, and dignity.[7] Over 95 per cent of all the surveyed communities in the Jordan Valley are not connected to wastewater services, and many families do not have access to functioning mobile or fixed internal or external latrines. According to WASH Cluster partner, WeWorld-GVC, community members report that without sufficient facilities they are exposed to safety risks and, deprived of privacy, when seeking a space for open defecation or in sharing a latrine with other families.[8]

Fatima, a 36-year-old mother of six, and resident of Humsa - Al Baqai’a: “Since we do not have enough latrines, I sometimes have to take my children in the middle of the night 50 metres away for defecation. We suffer violence from Israeli settlers. It is not safe.”

The assessment also highlighted that over 70 per cent of the communities (68) do not benefit from any solid waste service, leading families to burn, bury or dump their waste in their vicinity.

The limited access to WASH services in the Jordan Valley exposes residents to risks to their livelihood, health, and social life. Families are not able to maintain an acceptable level of hygiene, and many households are required to leave their communities during the hot summer months to find alternative water resources for their livestock. Children and elders are the most vulnerable to health risks, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic. Women struggle to perform their traditional role of ensuring adequate health and hygiene standards for the household. Moreover, families in general cannot afford the increasing costs of accessing even minimal WASH services.

Helping Palestinians access water-related services

The WASH Cluster and its partners are working to improve safe and dignified access to equitable and adequate water and sanitation services for the most vulnerable communities in the Jordan Valley. The cluster provides household with latrines, polyethylene tanks and mobile tankers, and rehabilitates community cisterns. The cluster also advocates for the Israeli authorities to allow for unserved communities in Area C to be connected to piped water and sanitation services.

For the 2021 Humanitarian Response Plan, Cluster Partners submitted seven projects, worth $1.2 million, targeting 11,000 people in Area C communities in the Jordan Valley. If fully funded, these projects will involve the construction and rehabilitation of water pipes, household water cisterns, water trucking, the provision of latrines, in addition to hygiene promotion campaigns. To end-March, less than 20 per cent of the WASH request has been funded.


[1] The average price of water in the West Bank is NIS5 or $1.5 per cubic metre.

[2] For more information see Restricting Space: The Planning Regime Applied by Israel in Area C of the West Bank.

[3] The average annual rainfall in the Jordan Valley is 166 ml. In 2020, only 65 per cent of this figure was reached.

[4] Tubas Governorate Access Restrictions | July 2018.

[5] Domestic Water Quantity, Service Level and Health, World Health Organization 2003.

[6] WASH Cluster, 2021

[7] WHO GUIDELINES ON SANITATION AND HEALTH.

[8] Community Protection Approach (CPA) of WeWorld-GVC.