نشرت بتاريخ 30 يوليو 2020
 كجزء من  

نظرة عامة | حزيران/يونيو-تموز/يوليو 2020

مكب النفايات في بيت لاهيا، شمال غزة. تصوير: برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي
مكب النفايات في بيت لاهيا، شمال غزة. تصوير: برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي

هيمن شاغلان رئيسيان على الوضع الإنساني في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة خلال شهريْ حزيران/يونيو وتموز/يوليو 2020:

وأحد هذين الشاغلين هو الوباء المستمر. فمنذ منتصف شهر حزيران/يونيو، ارتفع عدد الحالات المصابة بفيروس كورونا في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة من نحو 700 حالة إلى ما يقرب من 15,000 حالة حتى نهاية شهر تموز/يوليو. وتشكّل محافظة الخليل البؤرة التي شهدت هذه الزيادة الحادة، وتليها القدس الشرقية ومحافظة بيت لحم. ولا يزال مجتمع العمل الإنساني يقدّم الدعم للسلطات الفلسطينية في استجابتها لمواجهة الوباء من خلال معالجة الفجوات الحرجة في اللوازم والمعدات الطبية، ومساندة تشغيل مراكز الحجر والعزل، وتقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي لمن يحتاج إليه وتنفيذ حملة للتواصل وإشراك المجتمع المحلي، من جملة أنشطة أخرى. والمزيد من المعلومات والتحليل حول الوباء والتدخلات الإنسانية المرتبطة به متاح على الصفحة المخصصة لفيروس كورونا على الموقع الإلكتروني لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية.

وبالنسبة لبعض الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون في المنطقة (ج) والقدس الشرقية، يتضاعف أثر الوباء بفعل ما تقوم به إسرائيل من هدم لممتلكاتهم ومصادرتها بحجة الافتقار إلى رخص البناء. فمنذ بداية حالة الطوارئ في يوم 5 آذار/مارس، استُهدف 285 مبنًى يملكه الفلسطينيون في هذا السياق، من بينها 19 منزلًا مأهولًا شُيِّد قبل هذا التاريخ، مما أدى إلى تهجير أكثر من 100 فلسطيني. ويأتي ذلك على الرغم من الالتزام الذي أبدته السلطات الإسرائيلية بوقف هدم هذه المباني في أثناء الجائحة. ويحظر القانون الإنساني الدولي على السلطة القائمة بالاحتلال أن تدمر الممتلكات في الإقليم الواقع تحت احتلالها إلا إذا "كانت العمليات العسكرية تقتضي حتمًا هذا التدمير". 

ويتمثل الشاغل الثاني في النية التي أعلنتها إسرائيل بشأن ضم أجزاء من الضفة الغربية. وقد صرح الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بأن الضم "يشكل انتهاكًا خطيرًا للقانون الدولي، ويضرّ بشدة باحتمال حل الدولتين ويقوّض إمكانات تجديد المفاوضات." وقد يؤدي الضم كذلك إلى تفاقم خطر الترحيل القسري الذي يطال بعض التجمعات السكانية وزيادة القيود المفروضة على الوصول إلى الأراضي والخدمات، من جملة تبعات أخرى. 

وردًا على خطة الضم الإسرائيلية، أوقفت السلطة الفلسطينية في أواخر شهر أيار/مايو جميع الاتصالات الثنائية مع إسرائيل، مما أفرز طائفة من التداعيات الإنسانية. وحسبما تبيّنه هذه النشرة، فقد أثّر هذا الإجراء على وصول المرضى، من قطاع غزة بصفة خاصة، إلى خدمات الرعاية الصحية في القدس الشرقية وإسرائيل. فمنذ وقف التنسيق، تُوفي رضيعان من قطاع غزة قبل التمكن من إنجاز الترتيبات المطلوبة لتحويلهما إلى مستشفيات متخصصة خارج القطاع. وللتخفيف من أثر هذا الوضع، اتفقت الأمم المتحدة مع السلطات الفلسطينية والإسرائيلية على تيسير تحويل الوثائق اللازمة بين الطرفين على أساس مؤقت، لضمان وصول مرضى غزة إلى الخدمات الصحية الأساسية.

وتركّز مقالة أخرى في نشرة هذا الشهر على الشواغل البيئية والصحية الناجمة عن ازدياد تراكُم النفايات الصلبة في بعض المناطق في قطاع غزة. ويقول أبو أحمد، وهو أب لسبعة أطفال وترصد المقالة قصته، إن مكبّ النفايات العشوائي الذي يسكن بجواره في محافظة شمال غزة قد "دمّر حياتنا". وقد تفاقمت الفجوات التي كانت قائمة من قبل في مجال إدارة النفايات الصلبة منذ تفشي الوباء بسبب الافتقار إلى نظام مستقل لجمع النفايات الملوثة بأمراض معدية. ولمعالجة هذه المشكلة، اشترت الأمم المتحدة جهازًا متخصصًا لإدارة هذه النفايات، ولكن استيراده تأخّر بسبب وقف التنسيق بين السلطة الفلسطينية وإسرائيل.  

وتتناول المقالة الثالثة في هذه النشرة الزيادة الحادة التي شهدها عنف المستوطنين. فبين شهريْ كانون الثاني/يناير وأيار/مايو 2020، وثّق مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية 143 هجمة، أدت إلى إصابة 63 فلسطينيًا، من بينهم 13 طفلًا، بجروح وإلحاق أضرار واسعة النطاق بالممتلكات الفلسطينية، بما فيها ما يربو على 3,700 شجرة وشتلة ومحاصيل حقلية وأكثر من 100 مركبة. وتسبّبت هذه الهجمات في تفاقم الصعوبات التي تواجهها التجمعات السكانية الضعيفة في الأصل، والتي تضررت بفعل القيود المفروضة على الوصول وتدابير التباعد الجسدي التي فرضتها السلطات الفلسطينية والإسرائيلية من أجل احتواء الوباء. وحسب التصريح الذي أدلى به الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، "رغم الجهود التي بذلتها السلطات الإسرائيلية في السنوات الأخيرة لمنع وقوع حوادث العنف الخاصة التي يرتكبها المستوطنون والتحقيق في تلك الحوادث ومقاضاتها، لا يزال هناك عمومًا مناخ سائد من الإفلات من العقاب يتمتع به المستوطنون العنيفون وهؤلاء الذي يستولون على الأراضي الفلسطينية الخاصة."

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 30 July 2020
 as part of 

Overview | June - July 2020

Beit Lahia dumpsite, northern Gaza. Credit: UNDP
Beit Lahia dumpsite, northern Gaza. Credit: UNDP

The humanitarian situation in the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt) in June and July’s has been dominated by two major concerns:

One is the ongoing pandemic. Since mid-June, the number of COVID-19 cases in the oPt has increased from nearly 700 to some 15,000 by the end of July, with the number of fatalities exceeding to 80. The epicenter of the surge has been the Hebron Governorate, followed by East Jerusalem and the Bethlehem Governorate. The humanitarian community has continued to support the Palestinian authorities’ response to the pandemic by addressing critical gaps in medical supplies and equipment, supporting the operation of quarantine and isolation centres, providing psychosocial support to those in need, and conducting a communication and community engagement campaign, among other activities. Further information and analysis about the pandemic and related humanitarian interventions are available at OCHA’s COVID-19 online dedicated page.

For some Palestinians living in Area C and East Jerusalem, the impact of the pandemic has been amplified by Israel’s destruction or seizure of their properties, citing the lack of building permits. Since the start of the state of emergency on 5 March, 285 Palestinian-owned structures have been targeted in this context, including at least 19 inhabited homes that were in place prior to that date, displacing over 100 Palestinians. This is despite the Israeli authorities’ commitment to suspend the demolition of such structures during the pandemic. International humanitarian law prohibits an occupying power to destroy property in an occupied territory, unless this is “absolutely necessary by military operations”. 

The second concern is Israel’s stated intention to annex parts of the West Bank. The UN Secretary-General has stated that annexation “would constitute a most serious violation of international law, grievously harm the prospect of a two-State solution and undercut the possibilities of a renewal of negotiations.” This may also exacerbate the risk of forcible transfer of some communities and increase restrictions on access to land and services, among other ramifications. 

In response to Israel’s annexation plan, the Palestinian Authority (PA) in late May halted almost all bilateral contacts with Israel, resulting in a range of humanitarian consequences. As elaborated in this Bulletin, this measure has impacted on the access of patients, in particular from Gaza, to health care in East Jerusalem and in Israel. Two Gaza infants died since the halt, before their transfers to specialized hospitals outside Gaza could be arranged. To mitigate the impact of this situation, the UN has agreed with both the Palestinian and Israeli authorities to temporarily facilitate the transfer of the required documentation between the sides, to ensure access for Gaza patients to essential health services.

Another article in this Bulletin focuses on the environmental and health concerns stemming from the increased accumulation of solid waste in certain areas of the Gaza Strip. Abu Ahmad, a father of seven, who is profiled, claims that the informal dumpsite next to which he lives in northern Gaza, has “ruined our lives”. Preexisting gaps in solid waste management have been exacerbated since the outbreak of the pandemic due to the lack of a separate system for the collection and disposal of infectious waste. To address the latter problem, the UN has purchased a specialized device for the management of such waste; however, the importation of this device has been delayed due to the halt in coordination between the PA and Israel.  

The third article in this Bulletin addresses the surge in Israeli settler violence: between January and May 2020, OCHA documented 143 attacks, resulting in 63 Palestinian injuries, including 13 children, and in extensive damage to Palestinian property, including over 3,700 trees and saplings, field crops, and more than 100 vehicles. These attacks have compounded the hardship of already vulnerable communities, which have been affected by access restrictions and physical distancing measures imposed by the Palestinian and Israeli authorities to contain the pandemic. As stated by the UN Secretary-General, “while efforts have been made by the Israeli authorities in recent years to prevent, investigate and prosecute particular incidents of settler violence, overall there continues to be a prevailing climate of impunity enjoyed by violent settlers and those taking over private Palestinian land”.