نشرت بتاريخ 20 مايو 2020

مساعدة الفلسطينيين المصابين في أطرافهم

قصة نجاح سجّلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

إبراهيم، غزةإبراهيم* فلسطيني يبلغ من العمر 20 عامًا. أتمّ دراسته الثانوية، ويحب أن يلعب كرة القدم ويحلم في أن يصبح أخصائيًا في علم النفس يومًا ما. وكان يعيل أسرته من خلال عمله في قطاع البناء أو الزراعة، وكمنقذ. ولكن هذا كله تغيّر في يوم 23 مارس/اذار 2018، وفقًا لما يقوله إبراهيم. فقد أطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية النار على رجليه بينما كان يزاول عمله في الزراعة قرب السياج الحدودي الإسرائيلي المحيط بقطاع غزة المحاصر، حيث كانت مظاهرة فلسطينية تجري بالقرب من المكان.

وخضع إبراهيم، بعد إصابته، لعملية جراحية ووُضعت دعامة مثبّتة في رجله. ويستذكر إبراهيم: "عندما استيقظت، نظرت إلى رجلي وحمدت الله أنها لم تُبتر. كانت أمي تبكي بجواري، فمسحت دمعتها وقلت لها ’أمي، لا تحزني، سأكون بخير‘". ومع ذلك، لم تسِر رحلة تعافيه التي استغرقت شهورًا على ما يرام. وأحيل إبراهيم لمتابعة العلاج الذي لم يكن متيسرًا في ذلك الجيب الساحلي، ولكن السلطات المصرية منعته من السفر مرتين، وكان يحس بخوف كبير من الحصول على العلاج في الضفة الغربية لأن ذلك ينطوي على المرور عبر إسرائيل.

وفي شهر أيلول/سبتمبر 2018، وبفضل تمويل قدّمه الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، أصبح أحمد واحدًا من بين 1,200 شخص حصلوا على المساعدة لعلاج إصابات الأطراف التي كانوا يعانون منها من منظمة المعونة الطبية للفلسطينيين وجمعية آيديلز (Ideals) الخيرية. وفي شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، خضع إبراهيم لعملية أخرى وصار يمشي مجددًا دون عكازات.

لقد بعث هذا التدخل الناجح الأمل في نفس إبراهيم، الذي يختتم قصته بقوله:

"عزيمتي قوية، ولن أستسلم. سأعاود السباحة، وسأعمل كمنقذ مرة أخرى. وسألعب كرة القدم مرة أخرى، وسأواصل دراستي لأصبح أخصائيًا في علم النفس".

* ليس هذا اسمه الحقيقي

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 20 May 2020

Helping Palestinians with limb injuries

An oPt Humanitarian Fund success story

Ibrahim*, GazaIbrahim* is a 20-year-old Palestinian, who finished high school, loves playing football and dreams of becoming a psychologist one day. He used to support his family by working in construction or farming, and as a lifeguard. But, according to Ibrahim, on 23 March 2018, this all changed: he was shot in the legs by Israeli forces while farming, near Israel’s perimeter fence around the blockaded Gaza Strip, where a Palestinian demonstration was taking place nearby.

Following his injury, Ibrahim underwent surgery and had a fixator applied to his leg. “When I woke up,” he recalls, “I looked at my leg, and thanked God it hadn’t been cut off. My mom was crying next to me, so I wiped her tears and told her ‘don’t be sad, Mom, I will be fine’”. However, his months-long recovery did not go well. Ibrahim was referred for follow-up treatment that was not available in the coastal enclave, but was twice denied access by the Egyptian authorities and was too scared to get treatment in the West Bank because that would have entailed going through Israel.

In September 2018, with funding received from the Humanitarian Fund for the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt HF), Ibrahim became one of 1,200 people receiving help, from Medical Aid for Palestinians (MAP) and the Ideals charity, with limb injuries they suffered. In October, he underwent another surgery and began walking without crutches.

This successful intervention brought back hope to Ibrahim, who concludes:

"My determination is strong, and I will not give up: I will swim again, I will work as a lifeguard again, I will play football again, and I will continue my studies to become a psychologist."

* Not his real name