نشرت بتاريخ 24 سبتمبر 2020
 كجزء من  

مخلَّفات الحرب المتفجرة تعرض حياة المدنيين للخطر في قطاع غزة وسط أزمة التمويل

أسهمت دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام بكتابة هذه المقالة

في يوم 26 أيلول/سبتمبر، عثر الآذن في مدرسة البحرين الأساسية للبنين في مدينة غزة على جسم مشبوه في الساحة الخلفية للمدرسة. وتدير وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا) هذه المدرسة.

وقال عطا سلمان، مدير المدرسة: «حال إبلاغ إدارة المدرسة بالأمر، نفّذنا إجراءات السلامة التي تدرّبنا عليها. ولم يُسمح لأي شخص بالاقتراب من هذا الجسم، وأخلينا ساحة المدرسة الخلفية. ووصل فريق الأمن التابع لوكالة الأونروا على جناح السرعة وتأكّد من عدم وجود أي تهديد مباشر. وفي اليوم التالي، حضر فريق من دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام، وأزال ذلك الجسم من مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة وعمل على تطهير الموقع.» واختتم سلمان بقوله: «بفضل هذا الإجراء السريع والمهني الذي نفّذه الفريقان التابعان للأونروا ودائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام، تمكّن الطلاب من الدوام في المدرسة في اليوم التالي، كما لو أن شيئًا لم يحدث.»

طلاب في مدرسة البحرين الأساسية للبنين يواصلون دوامهم المدرسي بعد عملية التطهير التي نفذها فريق دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام، تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019. تصوير خالد عدوان

وقد باشرت دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام عملياتها في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة في العام 2009، وذلك في أعقاب الأعمال القتالية التي شهدها العامان 2008 و2009 في قطاع غزة وإسرائيل. ومنذ ذلك الحين، أسفرت الأعمال القتالية والاشتباكات المتقطعة في غزة عن استمرار التلوّث بمخلفات الحرب المتفجرة. ويمكن العثور على هذه المواد المتفجرة في المناطق السكنية، والحقول الزراعية وبين الأنقاض، مما يشكّل خطرًا على حياة المزارعين وطلبة المدارس وعمال البناء وغيرهم. فمنذ العام 2014، قُتل 19 فلسطينيًا وأصيبَ 170 آخرين بجروح بسبب مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة.

وللحدّ من خطر الموت أو الإصابة الناجمة عن مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة، تنظم دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام أنشطة تثقيفية، وتنفذ إجراءات التخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة في حالات الطوارئ، وتُعِدّ تقييمات المخاطر التي تهدد البنية التحتية الأساسية ومشاريع الإسكان في غزة. وعلى الرغم من التقدم المحرَز على هذا الصعيد، تخلَّف كل حالة من حالات التصعيد وراءها المزيد من مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة، مما يعطّل سير الحياة وسبل العيش ويهددها ويعوق عملية الإنعاش. 

وتنفذ الدائرة الاستدعاءات المتعلقة بالتخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة لتطهير مقرات الأمم المتحدة التي يُشتبه في أنها ملوثة بمخلفات الحرب المتفجرة أو يتأكد تلوُّثها بها في أعقاب الغارات الجوية أو غيرها من الاشتباكات العسكرية. كما تتولى الدائرة التنسيق مع الشرطة الفلسطينية لإزالة أي مواد متفجرة والتخلص منها بالسرعة الممكنة وبأقصى قدر من السلامة، مما يتيح إعادة فتح الموقع المعني. وخلال الأعمال القتالية، لا يُستغنى عن الاستدعاءات المتعلقة بالتخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة من أجل تطهير الطرق والمواقع المستخدمة لإيصال المساعدات الإنسانية والوصول إلى أماكن الإيواء في حالات الطوارئ. 

ومنذ العام 2014، استجابت دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام لــ876 طلبًا بشأن التخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة، وأزالت ودمرت 150 قنبلة كبيرة أُلقيت من الجو وكانت تحوي 29,500 كيلوغرام من المواد المتفجرة بصورة مباشرة، وقدمت الدعم في تطهير 7,340 مادة من مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة.

وفي العام 2019 وحده، أجرت الدائرة 209 تقييمًا للمخاطر الناجمة عن مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة. واستهدف أحد هذه التقييمات نحو 170,000 متر مربع من الأراضي التي أُعدت المخططات لتشييد محطة كبرى لتحلية المياه عليها إلى جانب منشأة لتوليد الطاقة الشمسية لها. وسوف تؤمّن هذه المحطة الجديدة 55 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الشرب ذات النوعية الجيدة لمليونيْ فلسطيني. وفي شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019، استخرجت الدائرة قنبلة كبيرة كانت مدفونة على عمق كبير وطهّرت موقعها في المحافظة الوسطى. وكانت هذه القنبلة تشكّل خطرًا على حياة نحو 3,000 شخص يسكنون في دائرة نصف قطرها 1,000 متر من موقعها.

فريق دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام يستخرجون قنبلة مدفونة على عمق كبير من حفرتها، تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019. تصوير: دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام

وتشمل الأنشطة التثقيفية تنظيم جلسات تستهدف عمال البناء وسكان المناطق الملوثة، فضلًا عن تدريب المهنيين، بمن فيهم موظفو الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الشريكة في مجال العمل الإنساني. وحتى هذا اليوم، تم تنظيم 4,887 جلسة تثقيفية شارك فيها نحو 130,000 مستفيد، كان أكثر من 60 بالمائة منهم أطفالًا. 

ومنذ بداية وباء فيروس كورونا، جرى تعليق الأنشطة التثقيفية الاعتيادية والاستيعاض عنها بجلسات متخصصة تنظَّم في الشوارع وتغطي تعميم رسائل الأمان من مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة وفيروس كورونا معًا. وقد نُظِّم نحو 3,000 جلسة من هذه الجلسات، حيث وصلت إلى أكثر من 8,000 شخص، حتى تاريخه.

وتواجه دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام أزمة خطيرة في تمويلها، حيث يُحتمل أن تؤدي إلى وقف عملياتها بحلول نهاية العام 2020. وإذا ما حصل ذلك، فلن تُستكمل إزالة القنابل التي لا تزال تنتظر إزالتها، ولا تقييمات المخاطر والأنشطة التثقيفية، وسوف تتوقف الاستدعاءات المتعلقة بالتخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة. وحاليًا، لا تزال قنبلة مدفونة على عمق كبير في انتظار إزالتها، بينما قُدمت الطلبات لإجراء 122 تقييمًا للمخاطر الناجمة عن مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة من أجل السماح بتنفيذ المرحلة الثانية من برنامج تطوير البلديات، وهو عبارة عن مبادرة شبه حكومية ترمي إلى تطوير البنية التحتية لمياه الصرف الصحي وتصريف المياه والطرق. وتحتاج الدائرة إلى 700,000 دولار لمواصلة عملها في العام 2021.

وسوف يتسبّب وقف أنشطة الدائرة في تفاقم الخطر الذي يواجهه المدنيون الذين يسكنون أو يعملون في المناطق الملوثة بمخلفات الحرب المتفجرة ويقوض الجاهزية للحد من الخطر الناجم عن الأعمال القتالية التي قد تقع في المستقبل.

فريق دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام ينظّم جلسة توعية بمخلفات الحرب المتفجرة لمجموعة من المقاولين، تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019. تصوير: دائرة الأمم المتحدة للإجراءات المتعلقة بالألغام

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 24 September 2020
 as part of 

Explosive Remnants of War risk civilian lives in Gaza amid funding crisis

This article was contributed by the United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS)

On 26 September 2019, the cleaner at Al Bahrain Elementary Boys School in Gaza city found a suspicious object in the school backyard. The school is run by UNRWA, the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees.

“Once the school administration was informed, we implemented the safety procedures which we were trained in,” explained Ataa Salman, the school principal. “No one was allowed to approach the object, and we evacuated the school backyard. UNRWA security team arrived quickly and ensured that there was no immediate threat. The next day, a United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) team came, removed the Explosive Remnants of War (ERW) item and cleared the area. Thanks to the quick and professional action by UNRWA and UNMAS teams, students could attend the school the next day, as if nothing had happened,” Mr Salman concluded.

Students at Al Bahrain Elementary Boys School continue their lessons after UNMAS clearance, October 2019. Photo by Khalil Adwan.

UNMAS began its operations in the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt) in 2009, following the 2008-9 hostilities in the Gaza Strip and Israel. Since then, the intermittent hostilities and clashes in Gaza have resulted in continuous ERW contamination. These explosive items can be found in residential areas, agricultural fields and among debris, endangering farmers, school children, and construction workers, among others. Since 2014, 19 Palestinians have been killed and 170 injured and by ERW.

To mitigate the risk of death or injury from ERW, UNMAS conducts educational activities, and carries out emergency Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) and risk assessments for Gaza’s vital infrastructure and housing projects. Despite progress made, each escalation leaves behind additional ERW, disrupting and threatening lives and livelihoods and impeding recovery. 

UNMAS carries out EOD callouts to clear UN premises that have suspected or confirmed ERW contamination after airstrikes or other military engagements. It also coordinates with the national police to remove and dispose of any explosive items as safely and quickly as possible, enabling the site to re-open. During hostilities, EOD callouts are crucial to clear routes and locations used for the delivery of humanitarian assistance and for accessing emergency shelters. 

Since 2014, UNMAS has responded to 876 EOD requests and directly removed and destroyed 150 large aerial bombs containing 29,500 kilograms of explosive materials, and supported the clearance of 7,340 ERW items.

In 2019 alone, UNMAS conducted 209 ERW risk assessments. One of them targeted approximately 170,000 square metres of land planned for the construction of a large-scale desalination plant and a related solar power facility. The new plant will provide 55 million cubic metres of quality drinking water to two million Palestinians. Additionally, in November 2019, UNMAS carried out the excavation and clearance of a large Deep Buried Bomb (DBB) located in central Gaza, which endangered an estimated 3,000 people living within a 1,000-metre radius of the site.

UNMAS team extracting a DBB from an excavation hole, November 2019. Photo by UNMAS

Educational activities include sessions targeting construction workers and residents of contaminated areas, as well as training for professionals, including UN staff and humanitarian partners. To date, 4,887 educational sessions have been delivered to nearly 130,000 beneficiaries, of whom over 60 per cent were children. 

Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, normal educational activities have been suspended, to be replaced by the implementation of specialised street sessions covering both ERW and COVID-19 safety messaging. To date, almost 3,000 such sessions have been implemented, reaching over 8,000 people.

UNMAS is facing a serious funding crisis, which is likely to lead to the halt of operations by the end of 2020. If that happens, pending clearances of bombs, risk assessments and education activities will not be completed and emergency EOD callouts will cease. Currently, the clearance of one DBB is pending, while a further 122 ERW risk assessments have been requested, to allow for the implementation of the second phase of the Municipal Development Programme, a semi-governmental initiative aimed at developing sewage, drains and road infrastructure across Gaza. UNMAS requires US$700,000 to continue operating in 2021.

The termination of UNMAS activities will exacerbate the risk that civilians living or working in areas contaminated by ERW are facing and undermine preparedness for mitigating the risk from future hostilities.

UNMAS staff conducting an ERW awareness session to a group of contractors, November 2019. Photo by UNMAS.