نشرت بتاريخ 25 مايو 2017
 كجزء من  

مخاوف بشأن تقارير الرش الجوي للمحاصيل على طول السياج المحيط بغزة

أفاد مزارعون فلسطينيون في قطاع غزة أن الطائرات الإسرائيلية قامت في أوائل نيسان/أبريل 2017 برش أراضيهم الزراعية الواقعة على طول السياج الحدودي مع إسرائيل بمبيدات الأعشاب. ولا تزال مساحة الأراضي والمزارعين المتضررين قيد التقييم. 

وأشارت وزارة الزراعة الفلسطينية في غزة إلى أن عمليات الرش الجوي الإسرائيلية كانت ممارسة متكررة منذ عام 2014، مستهدفة المناطق على طول السياج المحيط مرتين سنويا في: كانون الأول/ديسمبر-كانون الثاني/يناير ونيسان/أبريل، ملحقة الضرر بمحاصيل الشتاء والصيف على السواء. ووفقا لوزارة الزراعة، فإن المادة الكيميائية الفعالة المستخدمة (أوكسيفلورفن) تقتل أو تمنع إنبات البذور المزروعة حديثا.

إن تأثير هذه الممارسة كبير كما تفيد التقارير: فقد قدرت وزارة الزراعة أن عمليات الرش في كانون الثاني/يناير 2017، على سبيل المثال، ألحقت الضرر بأكثر من 2,900 دونم تخص ما يقرب من 270 مزارعاً، مع خسارة تقدر بنحو 1,3 مليون دولار أمريكي. وتمثل محاصيل القمح، الشائعة في هذه المنطقة، ما يقرب من ثلث الخسائر.

أكد المتحدث باسم الجيش الإسرائيلي، وفقا لتقرير إعلامي إسرائيلي في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2015، وجود هذه الممارسة، وبرر ذلك بالحاجة إلى "تمكين العمليات الأمنية".[1] لكن وزارة الدفاع الإسرائيلية نفت هذه الممارسة في ردها على التماس قدمته منظمة مسلك- مركز الدفاع عن حرية الحركة (جيشا) الإسرائيلية غير الحكومية، استنادا إلى قانون حرية المعلومات، وقالت إن "عمليات الرش الجوي تجري على الأرض الإسرائيلية فقط، على طول السياج الأمني مع غزة".[2]

المنطقة المقيد الوصول إليها

شددت إسرائيل منذ أيلول/سبتمبر 2000 القيود المفروضة على وصول الفلسطينيين إلى الأراضي داخل غزة الواقعة بالقرب من السياج الحدودي مع إسرائيل (يشار إليها فيما يلي ب"أراضي مقيد الوصول إليها")، مبررة ذلك بضرورة التصدي لسلسلة من التهديدات الأمنية.

وفي حين كانت حدود المنطقة المقيد الوصول إليها متغيرة  مع مرور الوقت، فقد امتنعت السلطات الإسرائيلية عن الإعلان عنها رسميا أو ترسيمها، مما زاد من عدم اليقين والخطورة على المدنيين الذين يعملون في المنطقة أو يقتربون منها. ويعتبر الفلسطينيون الذين يعيشون أو يعملون بالقرب من المناطق الحدودية المناطق الواقعة ضمن مسافة 300 متر من السياج كمنطقة "محظورة"، وذلك بالرغم من أن بعض المزارعين يزرعون الأراضي على مسافة 100 متر من السياج. ويعتبر العمل أو التواجد ضمن عدة مئات من الأمتار بعد هذه المسافة وحتى 1,000 متر من السياج أمر محفوف بالمخاطر. وتقوم المنظمات الدولية بدعم عدد من المزارعين الذين يزرعون الأراضي في المنطقة المقيد الوصول إليها، حيث تنسق وصولهم إلى هذه المنطقة مع الجيش الإسرائيلي؛ مما أدى إلى خفض مستوى المخاطر التي يتعرض لها المزارعون وخلق مصادر دخل إضافية.

يفرض الجيش الإسرائيلي القيود على الوصول بشكل دوري من خلال إطلاق النار بشكل تحذيري، وأحيانا نيران مباشرة (بالذخيرة الحية) على الفلسطينيين الذين يدخلون المناطق المحظورة، بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ عمليات تجريف للأراضي. والرش الذي تطرقنا اليه أعلاه عامل آخر يعيق تواجد الفلسطينيين على طول المنطقة المقيد الوصول إليها.

وثق مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية والمفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان في الأشهر الأربعة الأولى من عام 2017، 26 حادثة إطلاق نار و11 عملية تجريف للأراضي أسفرت عن مقتل فلسطيني واحد و11 إصابة، مما يمثل انخفاضا كبيراً عن المتوسط الشهري لنفس الأرقام في عامي 2016 و2015. معظم القتلى والجرحى الفلسطينيين في السنوات الأخيرة سقطوا في سياق الاحتجاجات والاشتباكات مع القوات الإسرائيلية المنتشرة بجوار السياج.

حوادث إطلاق النار الإسرائيلية وتجريف الأراضي والإصابات الفلسطينية في منطقة البر المقيد الوصول اليها

Chart: Israeli shooting and land levelling incidents and Palestinian casualties in ARA (land)

50 دونم من السبانخ دمرت قبل ثلاثة أيام من الحصاد - حالة ناصر سمور

ناصر سمور مع السبانخ الذي لحق به أضرار، كانون الثاني/يناير 2017 © تصوير فريق الأمن الغذائي، نقاط التركيز في القرارة

قال ناصر، "قبل فصل الشتاء عام 2016، استأجرت 150 دونم من أحد مالكي الأراضي في منطقة القرارة، على بعد 700 متر تقريباً من السياج، وزرعتها بـ 13 نوعاً من المحاصيل الورقية والبعلية. ثلث الأرض، 50 دونم، زرعتها بالسبانخ، والذي يتزايد الطلب عليه في فصل الشتاء. كل شيء كان على ما يرام. تمكنت من العثور على تاجر جملة دفع لي 11,100 دولار أمريكي مقدماً للمنتج. 

ناصر سمور وفي كانون الثاني/يناير 2017، قبل ثلاثة أيام فقط من الحصاد، قامت طائرة إسرائيلية برش المحاصيل بمبيدات الأعشاب وتم تدمير محصول السبانخ بكامله. كنت قد استخدمت الأموال التي تلقيتها من تاجر الجملة بالفعل لتغطية تكلفة المستلزمات والدفع للمالك. وأقدر خسائري بمبلغ 43,000 دولار أمريكي. ليس لدي المال لسد تاجر الجملة. قمت بزراعة الأرض مرة أخرى بمحاصيل موسمية أخرى لاسترداد بعض الخسائر الكبيرة التي واجهتها. ولحسن الحظ، قمت هذه المرة بتغطية بعض المحاصيل بالنايلون، قبل عمليات الرش في نيسان/أبريل، وقللت من الضرر".

 


[1] مايكل شايفر وأومر مان، "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي يعترف برش مبيدات الأعشاب داخل قطاع غزة،" +972، 28 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2015.

[2] انظر: http://gisha.org/UserFiles/File/LegalDocuments/Herbicides/answer.13.11.16.pdf [Hebrew]

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 25 May 2017
 as part of 

Concerns over reports of aerial spraying of crops along Gaza’s perimeter fence

Palestinian farmers in the Gaza Strip reported that in early April 2017, Israeli airplanes sprayed their farming land located along the perimeter fence with Israel with herbicides. The scope of land and farmers affected is yet to be assessed. 

The Palestinian Ministry of Agriculture (MoA) in Gaza indicated that Israeli aerial spraying has been a recurrent practice since 2014, targeting areas along the perimeter fence twice yearly: in December/January and April, affecting both winter and summer crops. According to the MoA, the active chemical used (Oxyfluorfen) kills or inhibits the germination of newly planted seeds.

The impact of this practice is reportedly significant: the MoA estimated that the January 2017 spraying, for example, affected over 2,900 dunums belonging to some 270 farmers, with an estimated loss of $1.3 million. Wheat crops, which are common in this area, accounted for nearly a third of the losses. 

According to an Israeli media report in December 2015, the IDF spokesperson confirmed the existence of this practice and justified it by citing the need to “enable security operations”. However, in a response to a court petition by the Israeli NGO Gisha, based on the Freedom of Information Act, the Israeli Ministry of Defence denied the practice and said (in Hebrew) that “aerial spraying is conducted on Israeli soil only, along the security fence with Gaza.”

The Access Restricted Area (ARA)

Since September 2000, Israel has tightened restrictions on Palestinian access to land inside Gaza located near the perimeter fence with Israel (hereafter: ARA), citing the need to address a range of security threats.

While the boundaries of the ARA have fluctuated over time, the Israeli authorities have refrained from officially announcing or demarcating them, thereby increasing uncertainty and risk among civilians working in or approaching the area. Palestinians living or working near the border areas consider areas within 300 metres of the fence as a “no-go” area, although some farmers cultivate land as close as 100 metres to the fence. Work or presence within several hundred metres beyond this distance and up to 1,000 metres from the fence is considered risky. A number of farmers cultivating land in the ARA are supported by international organizations, which coordinate their access to this area with the Israeli military; this has reduced the level of risk to farmers and generated additional income sources.

The access restrictions are enforced regularly by the Israeli military through the shooting of warning and, occasionally, direct fire (live ammunition) at Palestinians entering the restricted areas, in addition to carrying out land leveling operations. The spraying described above is another factor discouraging a Palestinian presence along the ARA.

In the first four months of 2017, OCHA and OHCHR documented 26 shooting incidents and 11 land leveling operations, which resulted in one Palestinian fatality and 11 injuries, representing a significant decline from the monthly average of the same figures in 2016 and 2015. The vast majority of Palestinian deaths and injuries the ARA in recent years occurred in the context of protests and clashes with Israeli forces deployed next to the fence.

Israeli shooting and land levelling incidents and Palestinian casualties in ARA (Land)

Chart: Israeli shooting and land levelling incidents and Palestinian casualties in ARA (land)

50 dunums of spinach destroyed three days before harvesting – the case of Nasser Sammour

Nasser Sammour with his affected spinach, January 2017. © Photo FSS focal points in Qarara

“Ahead of the 2016 winter season, I leased 150 dunums from a landowner in the Al-Qarara area, some 700 meters from the fence, and planted them with 13 types of leafy and rain-fed crops. A third of the land, 50 dunums, I planted with spinach, which is in demand in winter. Everything went well. I managed to find a wholesaler who paid me $11,100 in advance for the produce.

Nasser Sammour¨In January 2017, just three days before the harvest, an Israeli airplane sprayed the crops with herbicides and all the spinach crop was destroyed. I had already used the money I received from the wholesaler to cover the cost of inputs and for paying the landlord. I estimate my losses at $43,000. I have no money to pay the wholesaler back. I replanted the land again with other seasonal crops to recover some of the big losses I experienced. Luckily, this time I covered some of the crops with nylon, in advance of the April spraying, and minimized the damage,” said Nasser.

* This article was contributed by the Food Security Sector (FSS)