نشرت بتاريخ 6 أبريل 2020
 كجزء من  

بعد مضيّ عامين: الأشخاص الذين أُصيبوا بجروح وصدمات خلال "مسيرة العودة الكبرى" لا يزالون يكافحون

لا غنى عن تأمين الدعم المستدام لمعالجة الاحتياجات الصحية واحتياجات الحماية

أصيبَ محمد، البالغ من العمر 35 عاماً وهو أب لثلاثة أطفال من بيت حانون، بالذخيرة الحية في رِجله خلال أول مظاهرة جرت في سياق "مسيرة العودة الكبرى" في يوم 30 آذار/مارس 2018. وصرّح محمد لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، "خضعتُ لـ25 عملية جراحية، ولكنني ما زلت أعاني من الألم". وفقدَ محمد عمله كعامل بناء نتيجةً لإعاقته وبدأ الوضع الإقتصادي لأسرته يتدهور. "لم يكن في وسع زوجتي أن تتحمّل وضعي والفقر، فتطلّقنا. لا شيء في حياتي سوى البؤس."

وقد عُلِّقت مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى في أواخر العام 2019. ومع ذلك، فلا يزال الآلاف من أمثال محمد ممن أصيبوا بجروح أو صدمات يعانون من تبعات إصاباتهم. وأطلقت الوكالات الإنسانية مناشدة لتقديم مبلغ قدره 13.5 مليون دولار لتنفيذ طائفة من التدخلات خلال العام 2020، من أجل تأمين الدعم لإعادة تأهيل هؤلاء المصابين والتخفيف من الآثار الواقعة عليهم وعلى أسرهم.[1] ولم يجرِ تأمين سوى 16 بالمائة من هذا المبلغ حتى الآن.

ولا يشكّل نقص التمويل العقبة الوحيدة التي تقف في وجه الإستجابة للاحتياجات الصحية لدى الأشخاص المتضررين. فالعديد من المرضى الذين يعانون من إصابات معقدة، والذين أُحيلوا للعلاج المتخصص في الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية (وفي إسرائيل في بعض الحالات)، لم تمنحهم السلطات الإسرائيلية التصاريح اللازمة للخروج. وبالنظر إلى القيود العسيرة التي يرزح النظام الصحي في غزة تحت وطأتها، فلن تكُفّ هذه السياسة عن تقويض الإمكانيات المتاحة أمام هؤلاء المرضى للتعافي من إصاباتهم، ما لم ينعكس مسارها.

وتثير الطرق التي تعتمدها القوات الإسرائيلية في السيطرة على الحشود خلال مسيرة العودة الكبرى قلقًا بالغاً إزاء الإستخدام المفرط للقوة، والذي يقترن بغياب التحقيقات وإجراءات المساءلة الفعالة. ومما يبعث على القلق أيضاً المؤشرات التي تقول إن سلطات حماس لم تتخذ ما يكفي من الإجراءات لحماية الأطفال الذين يشاركون في المظاهرات والحيلولة دون تعرُّضهم لخطر العنف أو استغلالهم كأداة من أدوات العمل السياسي. وبالنظر إلى أن مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى، أو غيرها، ستُستأنف في المستقبل،[2] فإن الضرورة تقتضي أن تعدل السلطات الإسرائيلية وسلطات حماس هذه السياسات والممارسات لتفادي وقوع المزيد من الضحايا والمعاناة التي لا لزوم لها.

إصابة فلسطيني خلال مظاهرة احتجاج على الحصار البحري على الشاطئ بالقرب من السياج، شمال غرب بيت لاهيا-سبتمبر 2018. تصوير أشرف عمرة

حصيلة الضحايا

منذ يوم 30 آذار/مارس 2018، لا يزال الفلسطينيون ينظمون المظاهرات في سياق مسيرة العودة الكبرى، حيث يدعون فيها إلى الحق الفلسطينيي في العودة ووضع حد للحصار الإسرائيلي. وشارك الآلاف في التجمعات التي تُعقد في كل يوم جمعة وفي أيام خاصة في خمسة مواقع بمحاذاة السياج الحدودي. كما جرت احتجاجات أصغر في نطاقها خلال الأسبوع على الشاطئ وفي مواقع مختلفة بالقرب من السياج في الليل.

وبينما تصرفت الغالبية الساحقة من المحتجين بصورة سلمية، فقد اقترب العشرات من السياج خلال معظم المظاهرات وحاولوا تدميره، وأحرقوا الإطارات، وألقوا الحجارة والزجاجات الحارقة على القوات الإسرائيلية، وأطلقوا الطائرات الورقية والبالونات الحارقة باتجاه الأراضي الإسرائيلية. وقد ألحقت هذه الطائرات والبالونات أضراراً فادحة بالأراضي الزراعية والمحميات الطبيعية داخل إسرائيل وعرّضت حياة المدنيين الإسرائيليين للخطر. كما أشارت التقارير إلى بعض الحوادث التي شهدت إطلاق النار وإلقاء العبوات الناسفة.

وردّت القوات الإسرائيلية بإطلاق قنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع، والتي أسقطت بعضاً منها من الطائرات المسيرة دون طيار، والأعيرة المعدنية المغلفة بالمطاط، والذخيرة الحية التي أطلقها القناصة في معظم الحالات. ونتيجةً لذلك، قُتل 214 فلسطينياً، من بينهم 46 طفلاً، وأصيب ما يربو على 36,100 آخرين، بمن فيهم نحو 8,800 طفل، بجروح. وقد أصيبَ واحد من كل خمسة من بين هؤلاء (أكثر من 8,000 مصاب) بالذخيرة الحية.[3] وخلال الفترة نفسها، قُتل جندي إسرائيلي واحد وأصيبَ سبعة آخرون بجروح خلال هذه المظاهرات.

الضحايا الفلسطينيون خلال مسيرة العودة الكبرى 2018-2019

الفلسطينيون المصابون خلال مظاهرات العودة الكبرى حسب السلاح

أكثر من 1,200 شخص يحتاجون إلى إعادة تأهيل مكلف وطويل الأمد

بلغ عدد الإصابات في الأطراف ما يزيد عن 7,000 إصابة سبّبتها الذخيرة الحية (نحو 88 بالمائة من الإصابات)، وتلتها الإصابات في البطن والحوض. وقد أفضت 156 إصابة من هذه الإصابات إلى بتر الأطراف المصابة (126حالة بتر في الأطراف السفلية و30 حالة في الأطراف العلوية). ومن هذه الحالات، شملت 94 حالة على الأقل عمليات بتر ثانوية أُجريت بسبب الإلتهابات التي أصابت العظام في وقت لاحق.

وعادةً ما تحدث هذه الإلتهابات عندما يتفاقم الجرح الذي يصيب الطرف بضرر جسيم في الجلد والأنسجة والأعصاب والأوعية الدموية. وتشير التقديرات إلى أن ما بين 25 إلى 40 بالمائة من المرضى الذين يعانون من هذه المضاعفات ينتهي بهم المطاف إلى الإصابة بشكل من أشكال التهاب العظم على مدى فترة تصل إلى 12 شهراً بعد إصابتهم. وفي حالات أخرى، يؤدي الجرح إلى كسر مفتوح لا يشفى أو يترك فجوات في العظم، وهو ما يستدعي إجراء عمليات جراحية ترميمية وتجميلية متخصصة للعظام. وتشير تقديرات منظمة الصحة العالمية إلى أن 1,200 مصاب على الأقل من بين أولئك المصابين بجروح في أطرافهم قد استهلّوا العلاج المتخصص لترميم أطرافهم، أو ينتظرون الخضوع له.

أحد أعضاء جمعية الهلال الأحمر الفلسطيني يحضر مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى في 27 ابريل 2018لتقديم الدعم الصحي للمصابين

وعادةً ما يمتد علاج ترميم الأطراف وإعادة التأهيل من ستة أشهر إلى ثلاثة أعوام، حسب خطورة الحالة، ويشمل ما يتراوح من عمليتين إلى ثماني عمليات و12 إلى 30 جلسة من جلسات العلاج الطبيعي. وقد تصل تكلفة علاج كل حالة على حدة إلى 40,000 دولار.

وتتأثر حياة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الإصابات المعقدة تأثراً هائلاً. فمعظمهم فقدوا أعمالهم بسبب الإعاقات التي ألمّت بهم، وأصبحوا  يشكّلون عبئاً إضافياً على كاهل أُسرهم الضعيفة في الأصل. ولن يتسنى للغالبية من هؤلاء أن يتعافوا دون دعم الخدمات العامة ومجتمع العمل الإنساني.

وقال محمد: "بعد طلاقي، لم أستطع أن أُطعم أطفالي. واضطررتُ، بسبب ذلك، إلى أن أرسل أحدهم ليعيش مع أمي، وآخر مع شقيقي وآخر مع شقيقتي. ولم يكن في وسعي أن أحرّك رجلي لمدة عام ونصف. والان انا أستطيع المشي مجدداً بفضل جلسات العلاج الطبيعي، غير أني لست قادراً على العمل. ولا أريد عن أجلس في البيت ولا أحرّك ساكناً. ومنذ انتشار فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)، توقفت الفرق الطبية عن زيارتي، وبات وضع رجلي يزداد سوءاً".

وقد تقوّض النظام الصحي في غزة بفعل الحصار الإسرائيلي المفروض منذ ما يربو على عقد من الزمان، والإنقسام الداخلي الفلسطيني، والعجز المزمن في إمدادات الكهرباء ونقص الكوادر المتخصصة والأدوية والمعدات. ونتيجةً لذلك، يجري تحويل الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إصابات معقدة في حالات كثيرة إلى المنشآت الأكثر تقدماً في الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وفي إسرائيل في بعض الأحيان. وللوصول إلى هذه المنشآت، يقدّم المرضى طلبات للحصول على تصاريح الخروج من السلطات الإسرائيلية، التي لا تمنحها في جميع الحالات أو لا تمنحها في الوقت المطلوب.

فمن بين 604 طلبات قدّمها المصابون في مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى بغية الحصول على تصاريح، لم تصدر الموافقة إلا على ما نسبته 17 بالمائة منها، ورُفض 28 بالمائة من تلك الطلبات ولم يصدر أي ردّ بشأن 55 بالمائة منها بحلول التواريخ المقرّرة للمواعيد الطبية المقررة لأصحابها.[4] وتقل هذه النسبة عن معدلات الموافقة على جميع طلبات التصاريح التي قدّمها المرضى في العامين 2018 و2019، والتي كانت تبلغ 61 و65 بالمائة على التوالي. وبالنظر إلى القيود العسيرة التي يرزح النظام الصحي في غزة تحت وطأتها، فلن تنفكّ هذه السياسة تقوض الإمكانيات المتاحة أمام هؤلاء المرضى للتعافي من إصاباتهم، ما لم ينعكس مسارها.

نحو 22,500 طفل في حاجة إلى الدعم النفسي والإجتماعي

لقد سببت مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى آثاراً واسعة النطاق على الصحة العقلية والحالة النفسية والاجتماعية. ومن جملة الأشخاص المتضررين أولئك الذين أصيبوا بجروح خلال الاحتجاجات، ولا سيما من يعاني منهم من إعاقة بدنية دائمة، ومقدمي الرعاية لهم، ومن يتعرّض للعنف بصورة مباشرة، وخاصةً الأطفال، والأشخاص الذين فقدوا فرداً من أفراد أسرهم.

وتشير التقديرات انة في العام 2020 سوف يعاني 10,400 شخص من مشاكل في صحتهم العقلية بسبب مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى، وأن نحو 42,000 شخص سيواجهون مشاكل طفيفة إلى متوسطة.[5] وتشمل هذه الأرقام أكثر من 22,500 طفل.[6] وسوف يشهد وضع العديد من هؤلاء الأشخاص تدهوراً سريعاً ما لم يحصلوا على الدعم المتخصص، بما يشمله من خدمات إدارة الحالات الفردية. وتشمل الآثار السلبية فقدان الدخل، وتسرّب الأطفال من المدارس والعنف الأسري في أوساط الأسر المتضررة.

أطفال يشاركون في جلسة دعم نفسي غير منظمة، بيت لاهيا-قطاع غزة. تصوير Terre des Hommes Lausanne

أصيبَ مصطفى، البالغ من العمر 14 عاماً، بقنبلة غاز مسيل للدموع في رقبته خلال إحدى المظاهرات التي جرت في يوم 25 آب/أغسطس 2018، ومكث في المستشفى لمدة أسبوع. وتلقّى مصطفى، بعدما تماثل للشفاء من إصابته الجسدية، الدعم من منظمة غير حكومية دولية (وهي مؤسسة أرض الإنسان)، حيث شارك في سياقه في جلسات الإرشاد الجماعية وأداء الأدوار، إلى جانب أنشطة أخرى. وقال مصطفى: "لقد أفرغت قدراً كبيراً من الضغط عندما كنت أتحدث عن تجربتي. ومع أنني أتعب بسرعة ولا أستطيع أن ألعب كرة القدم مثلما كنت من قبل، أشعر بأنني في حال أفضل." كما يحضُر مصطفى دروساً خاصة لكي يحسّن درجاته. "ما عدتُ أسمع كلام أصدقائي الذين كانوا يشجعونني على الذهاب إلى المظاهرات. كل ما أركّز عليه الآن هو دراستي ولا شيء سواها."

تفاقم العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي

أشارت النتائج الأولية التي خَلُص إليها مسح أجراه الجهاز المركزي للإحصاء الفلسطيني في الربع الثاني من العام 2019 إلى أن ما نسبته 38 بالمائة من النساء في قطاع غزة أفدن بأنهن تعرّضن لشكل من أشكال العنف النفسي أو الجسدي أو الجنسي أو الإجتماعي أو الإقتصادي مرة واحدة على الأقل على يد أزواجهن خلال الأشهر الاثني عشر الماضية.[7]

وبينما يعدّ العنف الأسرى أحد الشواغل الطويلة العهد في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، تشير تقديرات المجموعة الفرعية للعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي إلى أن مسيرة العودة الكبرى تسببت في تفاقمه.[8] فالأدلة التي جمعتها المنظمات الشريكة في هذه المجموعة تفيد بأن الأزواج غالباً ما ينحون باللائمة على الأمهات بسبب إصابة أطفالهم بجروح أو مقتلهم خلال المظاهرات، حيث يتعرّضن لقدر متزايد من العنف جراء ذلك. كما تعدّ النساء المطلقات أكثر عرضة لخطر العنف النفسي والإجتماعي والإقتصادي المباشر على يد أفراد أسرهن، حيث يُتوقع من بعضهن أن يتزوجن مرة أخرى، وغالباً ما تتحكم أسرة الزوج المتوفى في شؤونهن المالية. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تتعرّض الفتيات اللواتي فقدن آباءهن، أو يعاني آباؤهن من إعاقات، لخطر متزايد بإجبارهن على الزواج المبكر بسبب تدني مستوى دخل أسرهن، وذلك بالنظر إلى أن الآباء/الأزواج هم من يعيلون أسرهم في العادة.

تبلغ ياسمين 22 عاماً من عمرها وتسكن في محافظة شمال غزة. "كنت أعيش حياة سعيدة، ولكن كل شيء انقلب رأساً على عقب بعدما قُتل زوجي في شهر أيار/مايو 2018، خلال إحدى مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى. وعدتُ مع ابنَيَّ إلى بيت أهلي ومكثت فيه عاماً ونصف. وكنت أخضع لرقابة مشددة من أسرتي لكوني أرملة". وكما جرت عليه العادة، طُلب من ياسمين أن تتزوج من شقيق زوجها. وقد رفضت ذلك في بادئ الأمر، ولكنها سلّمت به بعد الضغط الذي فُرض عليها. "لم أكن أريد العودة إلى منزل أهل زوجي، لأنهم كانوا يعاملونني معاملة سيئة. وبعدما تزوجنا بوقت قصير، بدأ زوجي الجديد يضربني. لم أكن أتخيل أن يفعل أحد ذلك بي مطلقًا. وبعدما قُتل زوجي الأول، صرت أحضر جلسات الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي. وقد ساعدتني هذه الجلسات على أن أشعر بتحسن وبقدر أقل من الضغط. ولكن لم يعد بوسعي أن أشارك فيها بعدما تزوجت مرة أخرى لأن أسرة زوجي رفضت ذلك. وقد عاد كل شيء إلى ما كان عليه الآن".

التدخلات المقترحة واحتياجات التمويل

تشمل خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة للعام 2020 ما مجموعه 18 مشروعاً يعالج احتياجات محددة في مجالي الصحة والحماية لدى الأشخاص المتضررين من مسيرة العودة الكبرى في قطاع غزة، حيث طُلب مبلغ يقارب 13.5 مليون دولار للوفاء بهذه الاحتياجات.[9]

وتشمل هذه المشاريع زيادة إمكانية الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية والمتخصصة لدى الأشخاص المصابين بجروح وإعاقات، بما فيها خدمات إعادة التأهيل الطبي والصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي. كما تُعنى تلك المشاريع بتحسين الوصول إلى الخدمات المتعددة القطاعات الأساسية والمأمونة وذات الجودة العالية في مجال العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي، إلى جانب التوعية والتمكين الإقتصادي والمساعدة القانونية. وإضافة إلى ذلك، تنطوي هذه المشاريع على أنشطة التوعية، كالمناصرة لحماية حق الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً في الصحة. وحتى شهر آذار/مارس 2020، قُدمت مساهمات بلغت 2.6 مليون دولار أو جرى التعهد بتقديمها لدعم هذه المشاريع.

التدخلات المتعلقة بمسيرة العودة الكبرى في خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2020

الشواغل إزاء الاستخدام المفرط للقوة وغياب المساءلة

بموجب القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، لا يُسمح باستخدام القوة المميتة في سياق أنشطة إنفاذ القانون إلاّ كملاذ أخير ورداً على تهديد داهم للحياة أو التعرض لإصابة خطيرة. وقد وقف العديد من التحقيقات على أدلة تبيّن أن المتظاهرين الذين قُتلوا أو أصيبوا بجروح خطيرة خلال مظاهرات مسيرة العودة الكبرى لم يكونوا يشكلون مثل هذا التهديد للقوات الإسرائيلية. 

وقد تولّت لجنة تحقيق مستقلة، عيّنها مجلس حقوق الإنسان، التحقيق في جميع الوفيات المرتبطة بالمظاهرات وأكثر من 700 إصابة منذ بداية مسيرة العودة الكبرى حتى نهاية العام 2018. وباستثناء حالتين، وجدت اللجنة أسباباً معقولة حملتها على الإعتقاد بأن استخدام القوات الإسرائيلية للذخيرة الحية ضد المتظاهرين كان غير قانوني.[10] وقد رفضت الحكومة الإسرائيلية النتائج التي توصلت إليها اللجنة التابعة لمجلس حقوق الإنسان باعتبارها منحازة، وصرّحت بأنها عجزت عن أخذ التهديد الذي شكلته أعمال العنف الصادرة من غزة في الإعتبار.

وتقع إسرائيل تحت التزام يملي عليها التحقيق في المزاعم بشأن الانتهاكات التي ترتكبها قواتها الأمنية بحق الفلسطينيين وإخضاع مرتكبيها المحتملين للمساءلة. وتعدّ المساءلة ضرورية لضمان العدالة للضحايا ومنع ارتكاب الإنتهاكات في المستقبل.

وأعدّ الجيش الإسرائيلي آلية لتقصي الحقائق من أجل تقييم المزاعم الواردة في سياق مسيرة العودة الكبرى. ووفقاً للسلطات الإسرائيلية، فقد استعرضت هذه الآلية، حتى نهاية شهر تموز/يوليو 2019، 226 حالة وأحالت عشراً منها إلى التحقيق الجنائي الذي تُجريه الشرطة العسكرية.[11]

وحتى الآن، لم يخضع سوى جندي واحد للملاحقة القضائية بسبب إقدامه على قتل فتى عمره 14 عاماً خلال إحدى المظاهرات. وفي شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019، أدينَ هذا الجندي "بإطلاق النار دون إذن" وحُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة شهر واحد وشهرين مع وقف التنفيذ. ووفقاً للمفوضة السامية لحقوق الإنسان، فإن "هذه القضية تسلط الضوء، فيما يبدو، على القيود الهيكلية التي يعاني منها القضاء العسكري الإسرائيلي الذي يركّز على واجب الجندي امتثال الأوامر والإجراءات التشغيلية الموحدة والمسؤولية التي تترتب عن هذا الواجب دون أن يتناول مدى قانونية تلك القواعد والمسؤولية التي تتحملها القيادة العسكرية فيما يتصل بذلك".[12]

وليس هناك من مؤشرات تدل على أن سلطات حماس اتخذت أي تدبير لضمان المساءلة عن التقصير في تأمين الحماية الكافية واحتمال استغلال الأطفال كأداة خلال مسيرة العودة الكبرى.


[1] يعدّ هذا الطلب جزءاً من خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، التي أُطلقت رسمياً في يوم 11 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019.

[2] ُجِّلت مظاهرة كبيرة لإحياء الذكرى الثانية لانطلاق مسيرة العودة، والتي كانت مقررة في يوم 30 آذار/مارس 2020، بسبب الأزمة التي سبّبها فيروس كوفيد-19.

[3] تشمل هذه الأرقام جميع الضحايا الذين سقطوا في الحوادث المتصلة بمسيرة العودة الكبرى، بما فيها الأحداث الليلية قرب السياج. كما قتل فلسطيني آخر بعدما أصابه حجر ألقاه فلسطينيون عن طريق الخطأ.

[4] HEALTH CLUSTER BULLETIN November-December 2019.

[5] نظرة عامة على الاحتياجات الإنسانية للعام 2020. ويبلغ إجمالي عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي في قطاع غزة 419,684 شخصاً. ويشمل هذا العدد 148,995 شخصاً بالغاً (55 بالمائة منهم من النساء و45 بالمائة من الرجال) و270,689 طفلًا (50 بالمائة منهم فتيات و50 بالمائة فتيان).

[6] يقدِّر القائمون على مجال المسؤولية عن حماية الطفل أن ما لا يقل عن 22,578 طفلاً ممن تضرروا بسبب ’مسيرة العودة الكبرى‘ سيكونون في حاجة إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي بدرجة معتدلة إلى حادة من خلال خدمات إدارة الحالات الفردية المتخصصة من أجل معالجة المستويات المرتفعة من الاضطرابات النفسية والاجتماعية. وهذا يُضاف إلى العبء الهائل الذي تفرضه أصلاً اضطرابات الصحة العقلية لدى 248,111 طفلًا يحتاجون إلى خدمات الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي المنتظم والتدخلات اللازمة لحماية الأطفال في قطاع غزة.

[7] استهدف المسح 12,942 أسرة في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، ونُشرت نتائجه الأولية في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019. ويتضمن هذا المسح نتائج حول أشكال أخرى من العنف في أوساط المجتمع الفلسطيني، بما فيها العنف الذي يمارسه الفلسطينيون والقوات الإسرائيلية والمستوطنون الإسرائيليون، في طائفة من السياقات.

[8] Impact of the ‘Great March of Return’ on Gender-based Violence- Situation report 8 June 2019, GBV Sub-Cluster Palestine

[9] على الرغم من أن الهدف الرئيسي ينصب على الأشخاص الذين تضرروا من مسيرة العودة الكبرى، يجري استهداف أشخاص آخرين في سياق هذه المشاريع. وبالمثل، يستهدف مشروعان من المشاريع المذكورة أشخاصًا في الضفة الغربية.

[10] Report of the independent international commission of inquiry on the protests in the Occupied Palestinian Territory.

[11] تقرير مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان، الفقرة 24.

[12] المصدر السابق، الفقرة 25.

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 6 April 2020
 as part of 

Two years on: people injured and traumatized during the “Great March of Return” are still struggling

Sustained support to address health and protection needs is essential

Mohammed, 35 and father of three, from Beit Hanoun, was shot with a live bullet in the leg during the first “Great March of Return” (GMR) demonstration on 30 March 2018. “I went through 25 surgeries, but I’m still in pain,” he told OCHA. As a result of his disability, Mohammed lost his job as a construction worker and the economic situation of his family began to deteriorate. “My wife couldn’t bear with my situation and with the poverty, so we got divorced. My life is nothing but a misery.”

The GMR demonstrations in Gaza were suspended at the end of 2019. However, like Mohammed, thousands of wounded or traumatized people continue to suffer the consequences. To support their rehabilitation and mitigate the impact on them and their families, humanitarian agencies have appealed for US$13.5 million for a range of interventions during 2020;[1] so far only 19 per cent of this amount was secured.

Lack of funding is not the only impediment to respond to the health needs of the affected people. Many patients with complex injuries, who were referred to specialized treatment in the West Bank, including East Jerusalem (and occasionally in Israel), have not been granted an exit permit by the Israeli authorities. Given the severe limitations of Gaza’s health system, unless reversed, this policy will continue to undermine the patients’ prospects of recovery.

Crowd-control methods used by Israeli forces during the GMR have raised serious concerns about excessive use of force, compounded by a lack of effective investigations and accountability. Also of concern are indications that Hamas authorities have not done enough to protect children attending the demonstrations and prevent their exposure to the risk of violence or instrumentalization for political action. As the GMR demonstrations, or others, will resume in the future,[2] it is critical that both authorities modify these policies and practices to avoid further casualties and unnecessary suffering.

Palestinian injured during a demonstration protesting the naval blockade on the beach near the fence , northwest of Beit Lahiya. September 2018. Photo by Ashraf Amra

The casualty toll

Since 30 March 2018, Palestinians have been holding the GMR demonstrations, calling for the Palestinian right of return and the ending of the Israeli blockade. Thousands participated in the gatherings taking place every Friday and on special days at five locations along the perimeter fence; smaller protests were held during the week at the beach and at various locations near the fence during the night.

While the vast majority of protestors have acted in a peaceful manner, during most protests dozens have approached the fence attempting to damage it, burning tires, throwing stones and Molotov cocktails towards Israeli forces and flying incendiary kites and balloons into Israeli territory; the latter resulted in extensive damage to agricultural land and nature reserves inside Israel and risked the lives of Israeli civilians. Some incidents of shooting and throwing of explosive devices have also been reported.

Israeli forces responded by shooting tear gas canisters, some of them dropped from drones, rubber bullets and live ammunition, mostly by snipers. As a result, 214 Palestinians, including 46 children, were killed, and over 36,100, including nearly 8,800 children have been injured. One in five of those injured (over 8,000) were hit by live ammunition.[3] During the same period, one Israeli soldier was killed and seven others were injured during the demonstrations.

Palestinian casualties in the GMR 2018-2019

lightbox

Palestinians injured during the GMR demonstrations by weapon

Over 1,200 people require long-term and expensive rehabilitation

Over 7,000 of the live ammunition injuries (some 88 per cent) were limb injuries, followed by injuries to the abdomen and pelvis. Hundred-fifty-six (156) of the limb injuries have resulted in amputations (126 lower limb and 30 upper limb). Out of these, at least 94 cases involved secondary amputations, due to subsequent bone infections.

The latter usually occur when a limb injury is compounded by more extensive damage to the skin, tissue, nerves and blood vessels. It is estimated that between 25 and 40 per cent of patients with such complications go on to develop some form of bone infection over a 12-month period following the injury. In other cases, the injury leads to an open fracture that is either non-healing or leaves bone gaps, which also require specialized orthopedic plastic-reconstructive surgery. The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that over 1,200 of those who sustained limb injuries have begun, or are waiting for, specialized limb reconstruction treatment.

A member of the Palestine Red Crescent Society attends the Great March of Return demonstrations on 27 April 2018 to provide health support to those injured.

Limb reconstruction treatment and rehabilitation usually extends from six months to three years, depending on the severity of the case, and involves two to eight surgeries and 12 to 30 physiotherapy sessions. The cost of each individual treatment may reach as much as $ 40,000.

The lives of people with such complex injuries are dramatically impacted. Most have lost their jobs due to their disabilities and posed an additional burden on already vulnerable households. The majority would not be able to recover without the support of public services and the humanitarian community.

“Following my divorce, I couldn’t feed my children, so I had to send one of them to live with my mother, one with my brother and one with my sister,” Mohammed said. “For a year and a half I couldn’t move my leg. Thanks to physiotherapy sessions I can walk again but I can’t work. I just sit at home and do nothing. Since the start of the corona virus [COVID-19] the medical teams stopped visiting me and the situation of my leg worsened”.

Gaza’s health system has been undermined by the over-decade long Israeli blockade, the internal Palestinian divide, a chronic power deficit and shortages in specialized staff, drugs and equipment. Consequently, people with complex injuries are frequently referred to more advanced facilities in the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and sometimes in Israel. To reach these facilities, patients require an exit permits from the Israeli authorities, which are not always granted or granted in time.

Out of the 604 permit applications submitted for people injured during the GMR, only 17 per cent were approved, 28 per cent were rejected and 55 per cent did not receive an answer in time for the medical appointment.[4] This is below the rate of approval of all permit applications by patients in 2018 and 2019, which stood at 61 and 65 per cent respectively. Given the severe limitations of Gaza’s health system, unless reversed, this policy will continue to undermine the patients’ prospects of recovery.

Some 22,500 children in need of psychosocial support

The GMR demonstrations have also had widespread mental health and psychosocial consequences. Impacted people include those injured during the protests, particularly those who sustained physical disability, their caregivers, those who were directly exposed to extreme violence, especially children, and people who lost a family member.

In 2020, an estimated 10,400 people will suffer severe mental health problems in connection to the GMR demonstrations, and nearly 42,000 people will have mild to moderate problems.[5] These figures include over 22,500 children.[6] Unless they receive specialized support, including individual case management services, the situation of many may deteriorate rapidly. Negative ramifications include the loss of income, school dropout among children, and domestic violence in affected households.

Children participating in an unstructured psychological support session, Beit Lahyia, the Gaza Strip. Photo by Terre des Hommes Lausanne

Mustafa, 14-years-old, was hit by a tear gas canister in the neck during a demonstration that took place on 25 August 2018 and was hospitalized for a week. After he recovered physically, he received support from an international NGO (Terre Des Hommes), as part of which he participated in group counselling and role-playing sessions, among other activities. “By talking about my experience, a lot of the stress was released. Although I get tired quickly and can’t play soccer as I used to, I’m better”, he said. Mustafa is also taking private lessons to improve his grades. “I no longer listen to my friends who encouraged me to go to the demonstrations. All that I focus on now is my study and nothing else.”

Gender-based violence exacerbated

Preliminary findings of a survey carried out by the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics (PCBS) in the second quarter of 2019 revealed that 38 per cent of women in Gaza reported some form of psychological, physical, sexual, social or economic violence by their husbands, at least once during the preceding 12 months.[7]

While domestic violence is a longstanding concern in the oPt, the Gender-Based Violence (GBV) Sub-Cluster estimates that the GMR has exacerbated it.[8] Evidence gathered by partners to the working group indicate that mothers have been often blamed by their husbands for the injury or death of their children during a demonstration, and experienced increased related violence. Additionally, widows are at higher risk of immediate psychological and economic violence by family members, as some are expected to re-marry and the family of the late husband often take control over their finances. Further, girls who lost a father, or have a father with a disability, are at increased risk of forced child marriage due to the decreased level of household income, as fathers/husbands are usually the breadwinner of the family.

Yasmin, is a 22-year-old mother living in the north area. “I used to live a happy life, but all changed after my husband was killed in May 2018, during a GMR demonstration. With my two sons I returned to my family’s house and stayed there for a year and a half. As a widow, I was under tighter control by my family.” As is customary, Yasmin was requested to marry her brother-in-law. At first, she refused, but following pressure she accepted. “I didn’t want to go back to my husband’s family home, as they treated me badly. Soon after we married, my new husband began beating me. I never imagined that someone would do that to me. After the killing of my first husband, I started to attend psychosocial support sessions. They helped me feel better, less stressed. However, after I married again, I could no longer attend as my husband’s family opposed that. Now it’s all back again.”

Proposed interventions and funding requirements

The HRP 2020 for the oPt, includes eighteen (18) projects addressing the specific health and protection needs in the Gaza Strip of people that were affected by the GMR, for which approximately $13,5 million are required.[9]

The projects entail increasing access to basic and specialized services for persons with injuries and disabilities, including medical rehabilitation and mental health and psychosocial support (MHPSS) services. They also aim at improving access to essential, safe and high quality GBV multi-sectoral services as well as awareness raising, economic empowerment and legal aid. Moreover, the projects involve awareness raising activities, such as advocacy to protect the right to health of the most vulnerable. As of March 2020, $2,6 million has been contributed or pledged in support of these projects.

GMR related interventions in HRP 2020

Concerns over excessive use of force and lack of accountability

Under international human rights law, the use of lethal force in law enforcement activities is allowed only as a last resort and only in response to imminent threat to life, or serious injury. Numerous investigations found evidence that demonstrators killed or seriously injured during the GMR demonstrations have posed no such threat to Israeli forces. 

An independent commission of inquiry appointed by the Human Rights Council (HRC), investigated all demonstration-related fatalities and more than 700 injuries since the start of the GMR through the end of 2018. With the exception of two cases, the commission found reasonable grounds to believe that the use of live ammunition by Israeli forces was unlawful.[10] The Government of Israel rejected the findings of the HRC commission as biased, stating that they failed to consider the threat posed by violent acts from Gaza.

Israel has the obligation to investigate allegations of violations committed by its security forces against Palestinians and hold potential perpetrators accountable. Accountability is essential to ensure justice for the victims and to prevent future violations.

The Israeli military has set up a fact-finding mechanism to assess allegations in the context of the GMR. According to the Israeli authorities, as of end July 2019 this mechanism reviewed 226 cases and referred ten of them for a criminal investigation by the Military Police.[11]

So far, only one soldier was prosecuted for the killing of a 14-year-old boy during a demonstration: in October 2019 he was convicted of “unauthorized shooting” and sentenced to one month in prison and a suspended prison sentence of two-months. According to the High Commissioner for Human Rights, “the case appears to highlight structural limitations inherent to the Israeli military justice system in focusing on the responsibility of soldiers in complying with orders and standard operating procedures, without addressing the legality of those same rules of engagement and the connected responsibility of military commanders”.[12]

There are no indications that the Hamas authorities have taken any measure to ensure accountability for the failure to provide adequate protection and the possible instrumentalization of children during the GMR.


[1] This request is part of the Humanitarian Response Plan for the oPt officially launched on 11 December 2019

[2] A large demonstration to commemorate the second anniversary of the GMR, which was planned to take place on 30 March 2020, was postponed due to the COVID-19 crisis.

[3] These figures include all casualties during GMR-related incidents, including the night events near the fence. An additional Palestinian was killed after being mistakenly hit by a stone thrown by Palestinians.

[4] HEALTH CLUSTER BULLETIN November-December 2019.

[5] HUMANITARIAN NEEDS OVERVIEW 2020. The overall caseload of people in need of MHPSS in Gaza is 419,684. This figure includes 148,955 adults (55% women and 45% men) and 270,689 children (50% girls and 50% boys).

[6] Child Protection AOR (Area of Responsibility) estimates at least 22,578 children impacted by the ‘Great March of Return’ (GMR) will be in need of moderate and severe MHPSS support through specialized individual case management services to address high levels of psychosocial distress. This adds to the already significant mental health burden of 248,111 children in Gaza in need of structured psychosocial support (PSS) services and child protection interventions.

[7] The survey targeted 12,942 households in the West Bank and Gaza Strip. The preliminary findings were released on November 2019. The survey includes findings about other forms of violence in Palestinian society, including by Palestinians and by Israeli forces and settlers, in a range of contexts.

[8] Impact of the ‘Great March of Return’ on Gender-based Violence- Situation report 8 June 2019, GBV Sub-Cluster Palestine

[9] Although the main target is people affected by GMR, there are other people targeted as part of the projects. Two of these projects similarly target people in the West bank.

[10] Report of the independent international commission of inquiry on the protests in the Occupied Palestinian Territory.

[11] Report by United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, para. 24.

[12] Ibid., para. 25.