معظم المخططات التي يقدّمها الفلسطينيون للبناء في المنطقة (ج) لا تحظى بالموافقة

كجزء من

لا توافق السلطات الإسرائيلية إلا على خمسة من أكثر من 100 مخطط هيكلي يقدمه الفلسطينيون في المنطقة (ج)

مساهمة موئل الأمم المتحدة - البرنامج الخاص للمستوطنات البشرية من أجل الشعب الفلسطيني

«يملك ابني منزلًا يقع داخل حدود المخطط الهيكلي لقريتنا، بينما يقع منزلي خارج منطقة التنظيم. ويجافيني النوم في الليل بسبب خوفي من الجنود الذين قد يصلون في أي لحظة لهدم منزلي. وعندما يبلغ القلق مبلغه مني وأريد أن أنال قسطًا من النوم، أذهب إلى منزل ابني. ولا يزال الخطر الماثل بهدم منزلي قائمًا، ولكنني أعلم بأن هذا المنزل يتسم بالسلامة والأمان، وهو ما يمنحني إحساسًا أفضل. وفي جوارنا، يوسع المستوطنون مستوطنتهم. ونستطيع أن نسمع الجرافة وهي تعمل، ولكن ليس في وسعنا أن نفعل الشيء نفسه هنا.»

فضل، فلسطيني يبلغ من العمر 55 عامًا وأب لأحد عشر طفلًا، قرية التواني (الخليل).

© Archive picture by UN Habitat
صورة أرشيفية من برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (موئل الأمم المتحدة)

ماذا تفعل لو قيل لك إنك في حاجة إلى رخصة لكي تبني منزلًا لا يكون الهدم مصيره، مع أن الحصول على هذه الرخصة أمر من ضرب المستحيل؟ هذا هو الوضع الذي يواجهه العديد من الفلسطينيين الذين يسكنون في المنطقة (ج) بالضفة الغربية.

”At night, I can’t sleep from fear of the soldiers arriving at any moment to demolish my house.” Fadel, whose home is outside the area of his village where plans have been approved. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
«يجافيني النوم في الليل بسبب خوفي من الجنود الذين قد يصلون في أي لحظة لهدم منزلي»، فضل، الذي يقع منزله خارج المنطقة التي صدرت الموافقة على مخططاتها في قريته. تصوير مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2021.

ووفقًا للسلطات الإسرائيلية، يرجع السبب وراء هدم منازل الفلسطينيين ومبانيهم الأخرى على نطاق واسع في المنطقة (ج) إلى تشييد هذه المباني دون الحصول على الرخص التي تصدرها هذه السلطات. ففي الفترة الممتدة بين العام 1998 و2014، أصدرت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية ما يزيد عن 14,000 أمر هدم طال مبانٍ يملكها الفلسطينيون في المنطقة (ج) على هذا الأساس.[1] وفي العام 2020، هُدم ما مجموعه 668 مبنًى في المنطقة (ج)، وهو أعلى عدد يسجَّل على أساس سنوي باستثناء العام 2016، وذلك منذ أن استهلّ مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية توثيق هذه الممارسة بانتظام في العام 2009. ولا يخفى أن هذا الاتجاه متواصل خلال العام 2021، حيث هُدم ما مجموعه 259 مبنًى يملكه فلسطينيون أو صودر في المنطقة (ج) (حتى يوم 31 آذار/مارس)، وذلك بزيادة بلغت 216 بالمائة بالمقارنة مع الفترة نفسها من العام 2020.

وترفض السلطات الإسرائيلية الغالبية العظمى من الطلبات التي يقدمها الفلسطينيون للحصول على رخص البناء الإسرائيلية في المنطقة (ج) بحجة أن المنطقة المعنية لا يشملها التنظيم لأغراض البناء. وهذا هو الوضع حتى في الحالات التي لا يثور خلاف على أن الأرض التي يقدَّم طلب للحصول على رخصة بشأنها يملكها الفلسطيني صاحب الطلب المذكور. ونتيجةّ لذلك، يُعدّ حصول الفلسطينيين على رخص البناء في حكم المستحيل. فوفقًا للبيانات التي حصلت عليها منظمة السلام الآن الإسرائيلية من الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية، لم تُمنح الموافقة إلا على 2 بالمائة من مجموع الطلبات التي رفعها الفلسطينيون للحصول على رخص البناء في المنطقة (ج) بين العامين 2009 و2018 (98 من أصل 4,422 طلبًا).

نظام تخطيط تقييدي وتمييزي

وضعت إسرائيل، عقب احتلال الضفة الغربية في العام 1967، يدها على صلاحيات التخطيط التي يقرّرها قانون تنظيم المدن والقرى والأبنية الأردني، الذي كان ساريًا في حينه. وقد عُدِّل هذا القانون لاحقًا بموجب الأوامر العسكرية، التي ألغت لجان تنظيم المدن المحلية واللوائية التي كانت تمثل السكان الفلسطينيين، ونقلت صلاحياتها إلى المجلس الأعلى للتخطيط الذي يشغله ضباط إسرائيليون بصفة حصرية.[2]

وفي مطلع عقد التسعينات من القرن الماضي، وافقت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية على نحو 400 «مخطط هيكلي جزئي خاص» للتجمعات السكانية في مختلف انحاء الضفة الغربية. وقد أُعدت هذه المخططات بعد إجراء مشاورات محدودة أو دون أي مشاورات مع السكان الفلسطينيين. ويغطي نحو 110 مخطط من هذه المخططات مناطق تحولت فيما بعد إلى المنطقة (ج) ولم تزل سارية حتى هذا اليوم. وفي حين تحظى المباني الواقعة ضمن حدود هذه المخططات بالحماية من الهدم، فإن ما يقل عن واحد بالمائة من المنطقة (ج) يغطيه مخطط تنظيمي صادقت عليه الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية لصالح التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية. وفضلًا عن ذلك، لا تغطي هذه المخططات سوى جزء من المناطق المأهولة من التجمعات السكانية الواقعة في المنطقة (ج)، مما يترك فرصة ضئيلة أمام تنمية هذه التجمعات ويُخرج المباني القائمة من حدود مناطق التنظيم ويعرّضها لخطر هدمها.

وفي المقابل، تغطي المخططات الهيكلية المحلية[3] التي تصادق السلطات الإسرائيلية عليها لصالح المستوطنات الإسرائيلية ما لا يقل عن 8.5 بالمائة من مساحة المنطقة (ج)، وفقًا للتقديرات الصادرة عن مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية في العام 2015. وتُعدّ المستوطنات غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي الإنساني بالنظر إلى أنها تخالف المادة 49 من اتفاقية جنيف الرابعة، التي تحظر نقل السكان المدنيين التابعين للسلطة القائمة بالاحتلال إلى الإقليم الواقع تحت احتلالها.[4] ووفقًا لمنظمة السلام الآن، صادقت السلطات الإسرائيلية في العامين 2019 و2020 على مخططات لتشييد 16,098 وحدة سكنية في المستوطنات وأصدرت رخصًا لما لا يقل عن 2,233 وحدة أخرى.

وتُعدّ جميع المخططات الهيكلية المحلية في المنطقة (ج) تعديلات على المخططات الهيكلية الإقليمية التي صادقت سلطات الانتداب البريطاني عليها في العقد الخامس من القرن الماضي. وقد صنفت هذه المخططات الإقليمية معظم ما تحول لاحقًا إلى المنطقة (ج) باعتبارها «منطقة زراعية». ودأبت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية على رفض معظم طلبات رخص البناء التي يقدمها الفلسطينيون بذريعة أنها لا تستوفي الشروط المحددة في تلك المخططات، على الرغم من أنها تسمح من الناحية النظرية بالبناء لأغراض السكن وغيره من الأغراض لصالح الفلسطينيين داخل منطقة زراعية.[5]

ومنذ العام 2011، لم تزل التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية في المنطقة (ج) تُعِدّ مخططاتها الهيكلية المحلية التفصيلية كوسيلة لتشييد البنية التحتية الأساسية ومنازل جديدة في إطار تنمية مجتمعية تحظى بالموافقة الرسمية من الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية. وتحظى هذه الإجراءات بدعم من وزارة الحكم المحلي في السلطة الفلسطينية والمانحين الدوليين وتنطوي على إجراء مشاورات واسعة النطاق مع سكان كل تجمع من هذه التجمعات. وقد أُعِدّ حتى الآن 123 مخططًا هيكليًا محليًا، قُدِّم 109 منها إلى الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية للحصول على موافقتها. وعلى الرغم من المعايير الفنية المتقدمة التي تَسِم هذه المخططات،[6] فلم تصدر الموافقة إلا على خمسة منها، وبلغت سبعة أخرى المرحلة الأخيرة قبل صدور الموافقة النهائية عليها. ويخضع ما تبقى من تلك المخططات، وعددها 97 مخططًا، «للمناقشات الفنية» لفترات تتراوح من 18 شهرًا إلى سبعة أعوام، باستثناء أربعة مخططات قُدمت في شهريْ كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019 وشباط/فبراير 2021. وكانت آخر المخططات الهيكلية المحلية التي صدرت الموافقة التامة عليها في العام 2017.[7]

وفيما خلا الفترة الواقعة بين شهريْ أيار/مايو 2020 وكانون الثاني/يناير 2021،[8] التي توقف التنسيق بين الطرفين خلالها، عملت وزارة الحكم المحلي مع الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية بالنيابة عن التجمعات السكانية لالتماس الموافقة على تلك المخططات. ويأتي ذلك على الرغم من أن السلطة الفلسطينية لا تعتبر أن الموافقة الكاملة التي تصدرها السلطات الإسرائيلية ضرورية من أجل المضيّ بمشاريع التنمية والبناء وفقًا لهذه المخططات. وبناءً على معايير محددة، يؤمّن الاتحاد الأوروبي بمجموعه، ودول بعينها من الدول الأعضاء فيه، الدعم لتشييد مشاريع البنية التحتية الأساسية  في المناطق التي تغطيها المخططات الهيكلية المحلية التي تنتظر صدور الموافقة عليها، وذلك على الرغم من تعرُّضها لخطر الهدم أو المصادرة.

حالة قرية التواني

«تقع قرية التواني في المنطقة (ج). وكان 100 شخص يسكنون فيها قبل عقد من الزمان، ولكننا الآن في حاجة إلى مبانٍ جديدة بالنظر إلى تزايُد أعداد أسرنا. فليس ثمة شبكة عامة لتأمين المواصلات إلى التجمعات السكانية القريبة من التواني، والطرق وعرة. ويطيّر المستوطنون طائراتهم المسيّرة ويصوروننا، ويصدرون الأوامر ويشجعون الجيش على هدم منازلنا. ونحن نبني على أراضينا الخاصة، التي نملك جميع الوثائق اللازمة بشأنها. ولكننا إذا قدمنا طلبات للحصول على رخص البناء، فإننا لا نحصل عليها أبدًا، ولذلك فنحن نبني أيًا كان الأمر. وفي الوقت نفسه، يبني المستوطنون الإسرائيليون على أراضي الفلسطينيين على نحو يخالف القانون الدولي، ولا شيء يحدث لهم.» موسى، أب لأحد عشر طفلًا وأحد سكان التواني.

“If we apply for building permits, we never get them.” Musa, At Tuwani. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
«إذا قدمنا طلبات للحصول على رخص البناء، فإننا لا نحصل عليها أبدًا». موسى، التواني. تصوير مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2021.

وتقع قرية التواني الفلسطينية الصغيرة، التي تبعد نحو كيلومتر واحد عن الموقع الأثري البيزنطي المعروف باسم «خربة التواني»، جنوب جبل الخليل. ويضم هذا التجمع نحو 200 نسمة انتقلوا إليه من بلدتين مجاورتين، هما يطا ودورا. وفي العام 1982، أُقيمت مستوطنة ماعون الإسرائيلية على مسافة تقارب 900 متر إلى الشرق من التواني.

وحتى الآن، أصدرت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية ما لا يقل عن 40 أمرًا بهدم ومصادرة نحو 48 مبنًى فلسطينيًا في التواني. وحتى شهر آذار/مارس 2021، هُدمت أربعة مبانٍ وهُجر 21 شخصًا من سكان القرية. ومع غياب المصادقة على المخطط الهيكلي المحلي، لا تزال مباني القرية تحت طائلة التهديد بهدمها، وليس ثمة سبيل قانوني يتيح تحويل القرية إلى موئل يمكن العيش فيه ويحظى بالخدمات الأساسية. 

The Palestinian village of At Tuwani against the backdrop of the Israeli settlement of Ma’on. Photo by Tanya Habjouqa for OCHA, 2021.
قرية التواني الفلسطينية وفي خلفيتها مستوطنة ماعون الإسرائيلية. تصوير تانيا حبجوقة لصالح مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2021.

وفي العام 2008، أطلقت الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية مخططًا هيكليًا محليًا للتواني (رقم 1764)، ويغطي المنطقة المأهولة في الأصل في القرية أساسًا. ولم يترك هذا المخطط أي مجال للمزيد من التنمية، ولم يشمل سوى قدر ضئيل من المشاركة العامة في إعداده، ولم تُقبل الاقتراحات والطلبات التي قُدمت لإدخال التعديلات عليه. وفي العام 2011، بادر أبناء المجتمع المحلي إلى إعداد مخطط لقريتهم بموافقة وزارة الحكم المحلي الفلسطينية وبدعم فني من موئل الأمم المتحدة ودعم مالي من المملكة المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي فيما بعد. وقُدم المخطط المقترح إلى الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية وصدرت الموافقة الأولية عليه في يوم 7 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2020. وينتظر المخطط حاليًا نشره النهائي لكي يدخل حيز النفاذ.

يبلغ بكر من العمر 21 عامًا ويسكن في المنطقة التي يشملها المخطط الهيكلي المحلي الذي اقترحه المجتمع المحلي: «في الماضي، كنا نبقى مستيقظين طيلة الليل والقلق ينتابنا من الجنود الذين قد يحضرون في أي لحظة لهدم منزل آخر. أما الآن فنشعر بقدر أكبر بقليل من الأمان، مع أننا لا نزال ننتظر الموافقة النهائية على المخطط الذي قدمناه. وأشعر بالاطمئنان بأنني لو أردت أن أوسع منزلي فإن جهودي وأموالي التي أضعها فيه لن تذهب سُدى. من الظلم أن يذهب كل ما تبذله أدراج الرياح في بضع ثوانٍ عندما تعمل بكل جد وتستثمر الكثير في منزل.»

The demolition of a Palestinian structure in At Tuwani by the ICA and Israeli forces. © Photo by At Tuwani Village Council, 25 November 2020.
هدم مبنى فلسطيني في التواني على يد الإدارة المدنية والقوات الإسرائيلية. تصوير مجلس قروي التواني، 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020.

ويضفي المخطط المقترح صفة قانونية بأثر رجعي على المباني التي يستهدفها 17 أمرًا أصدرته الإدارة المدنية الإسرائيلية بهدمها. وبناءً على هذا المخطط، قدم الاتحاد الأوروبي الدعم لبناء طابق إضافي في مدرسة القرية وإعادة تأهيل الطرق الداخلية من خلال صندوق تطوير وإقراض البلديات، وهو مؤسسة شبه حكومية فلسطينية تُعنى بتقديم المساعدة لإصلاح هيئات الحكم المحلي وتطويرها. وفضلًا عن ذلك، ساند موئل الأمم المتحدة تصميم ساحة عامة في التواني وتنفيذها، بمشاركة فاعلة من جانب المنظمات النسوية والمؤسسات المعنية بالأطفال وبدعم مالي من الأمم المتحدة.

“We feel a bit more secure, although we are still waiting for the final approval of our plan.” Bakker, a resident of At Tuwani whose home is included in the outline planned prepared by the community, one of few such plans that have reached final approval stages. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
«نشعر بقدر أكبر بقليل من الأمان، مع أننا لا نزال ننتظر الموافقة النهائية على المخطط الذي قدمناه.» بكر، أحد سكان التواني، ومنزله مشمول في المخطط الهيكلي الذي أعدّه سكان القرية، وهو أحد المخططات القليلة التي بلغت مراحل الموافقة النهائيةـ تصوير مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، 2021.

الطريق إلى الأمام

إن نظام التخطيط التقييدي والتمييزي النافذ في المنطقة (ج) يجعل حصول الفلسطينيين على رخص البناء التي تشترطها إسرائيل أمرًا من ضرب المستحيل. فالأراضي العامة والمصادرة في هذه المناطق تخصَّص بصورة حصرية تقريبًا لصالح المستوطنات أو الجيش الإسرائيلي. وتصنَّف معظم الأراضي الخاصة باعتبارها أراضٍ زراعية أو «مناطق خضراء» أو لا يشملها التنظيم، مما يعوق إصدار الرخص في هذه المناطق. ولا يُترك أمام الكثير من الفلسطينيين من خيار سوى البناء دون الحصول على هذه الرخص لكي يفوا باحتياجاتهم من السكن وسبل العيش، مما يعرضهم لخطر الهدم والتهجير، أو الانتقال إلى مكان آخر. ويسهم نظام التخطيط التقييدي الذي تطبقه إسرائيل في المنطقة (ج)، وما يقترن به من قيود أخرى، في فرض بيئة قسرية على كاهل السكان، مما يفضي إلى خطر ترحيلهم قسرًا من ديارهم. ففضلًا عن هدم المنازل والمدارس والمباني التي يستخدمها أصحابها في تأمين سبل عيشهم والتهديد بهدمها، تشمل الضغوط الأخرى الحرمان من البنية التحتية للخدمات، والقيود المفروضة على الوصول إلى الأراضي الزراعية والمراعي، وضعف إنفاذ القانون على المستوطنين الذين يشنون أعمال العنف، وسحب حقوق الإقامة، من جملة سياسات وممارسات أخرى.[9]

Public space at At Tuwani. © Photo by UN-Habitat, 2019.
ساحة عامة في التواني. تصوير برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (موئل الأمم المتحدة)، 2019.

وبموجب القانون الدولي، تقع إسرائيل تحت التزام يملي عليها ضمان الوفاء بالاحتياجات الإنسانية لدى الفلسطينيين الذين يرزحون تحت احتلالها وإتاحة القدرة أمامهم ليحيوا حياة طبيعية. وعلى إسرائيل أيضًا أن تضمن أن الفلسطينيين الذين يقبعون تحت نير الاحتلال يملكون القدرة على ممارسة حقوق الإنسان الواجبة لهم، بما فيها حقهم في مستوى معيشي ملائم، والسكن اللائق والحرية من التمييز. كما يحظر القانون تدمير الممتلكات الخاصة والعامة، ما لم تقتضِ العمليات العسكرية حتمًا هذا التدمير، وترحيل المدنيين أو تهجيرهم قسرًا من ديارهم.

ولا غنى عن تأمين التخطيط المكاني المناسب لصالح التجمعات السكانية الريفية في المنطقة (ج) لتحسين الظروف المعيشية لسكانها والتخفيف من الضغط الذي يدفعهم إلى الانتقال منها. ومن شأن اعتماد المخططات الهيكلية المحلية التي تُعِدّها التجمعات السكانية المعنية، وبصرف النظر عن الوقت والجهود التي يستدعيها إعدادها ومعدل موافقة السلطات الإسرائيلية الحالي عليها، أن يستأصل خطر هدمها. وقد تشكل موافقة السلطات الإسرائيلية على تلك المخططات لصالح التجمعات السكانية في المنطقة (ج) خطوة مهمة على صعيد الوفاء بالتزاماتها الدولية.

وينبغي للمجتمع الدولي أن يواصل دعم التخطيط المكاني في المنطقة (ج) وأن يواصل جهود المناصرة التي يبذلها في سبيل الدفاع عن حقوق التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية في السكن والأراضي والتملك في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، بما فيها المنطقة (ج).


[1]   مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، تحت التهديد: أوامر الهدم في المنطقة (ج) في الضفة الغربية (2015). وفي العديد من الحالات، يستهدف الأمر ذاته مبانٍ متعددة تملكها الأسرة نفسها (بمعنى المسكن أو حظيرة الماشية أو مخزن أو غرفة أو مرحاض). ويقدَّر العدد الفعلي للمباني المتضررة بنحو 17,000 مبنى بناءً على دراسة شملت أكثر من 90 في المائة من السجلات.

[2]   للاطلاع على شرح تفصيلي يتناول إجراءات المصادقة على المخططات التي يقدمها الفلسطينيون في المنطقة (ج) ونشأتها، انظر: Bimkom, The Prohibited Zone. Israeli Planning Policy in the Palestinian Villages in Area C (2008).

[3] تُعرف المخططات الهيكلية المحلية كذلك باسم المخططات العامة، التي تُعدّ أداة من الأدوات التشريعية السارية على أعمال التخطيط في المنطقة (ج).

[4] وقد ورد تأكيد ذلك في قرارات متعاقبة صدرت عن محكمة العدل الدولية، والأطراف السامية المتعاقدة في اتفاقية جنيف الرابعة ومجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة.

[5]   للاطلاع على المزيد من التفاصيل، انظر: Bimkom, The Prohibited Zone: Israeli planning policy in the Palestinian villages in Area C (2008); UN, ‘One UN’ Approach to Spatial Planning in Area C of the occupied West Bank (2015).

[6] UN-Habitat, Spatial Planning in Area C of the Israeli occupied West Bank of the Palestinian territory. Report of an International Advisory Board (2015).

[7] تعِنّك (جنين) وعزبة الطبيب (قلقيلية).

[8] استؤنف التنسيق بين السلطة الفلسطينية والسلطات الإسرائيلية في القطاعات الأخرى في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020، ولكن هذه القضية تحديدًا استغرقت شهرين آخرين.

[9] Humanitarian Needs Overview 2020.

Most Palestinian plans to build in Area C not approved

as part of

The Israeli authorities approve only five of over 100 outline plans submitted by Palestinians in Area C

Contributed by UN-Habitat - Special Human Settlements Programme for the Palestinian People

“My son has a house that is located within the boundary of the local outline plan in our village, whereas my house is located outside the planned area. At night, I can’t sleep out of fear of the soldiers arriving at any moment to demolish my house. When all the worrying gets too much for me and I want to get some sleep, I go to my son’s house. The risk of my house being demolished is still there, but I know that his house is safe and secure, and that makes me feel better. Next to us, the settlers are expanding their settlement. We can hear a bulldozer working, but we can’t do the same here.”

Fadel, 55, Palestinian father of 11 children, At Tuwani village (Hebron).

© Archive picture by UN Habitat
© Archive picture by UN Habitat

What do you do if you are told you need a permit in order to build a home that would not be demolished, but it is all but impossible to acquire such a permit? This is the situation facing many Palestinians living in Area C in the West Bank.

”At night, I can’t sleep from fear of the soldiers arriving at any moment to demolish my house.” Fadel, whose home is outside the area of his village where plans have been approved. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
”At night, I can’t sleep from fear of the soldiers arriving at any moment to demolish my house.” Fadel, whose home is outside the area of his village where plans have been approved. Photo by OCHA, 2021.

According to the Israeli authorities, the extensive demolition of Palestinian homes and other structures in Area C is due to the structures being erected without Israeli-issued building permits. Between 1988 and 2014, the Israeli Civil Administration (ICA) issued over 14,000 demolition orders against Palestinian-owned structures located in Area C on these grounds.[1] In 2020, a total of 668 structures were demolished in Area C, the highest annual number recorded with the exception of  2016, since OCHA began systematically documenting this practice in 2009. In 2021, the trend is seemingly continuing, with a total of 259 Palestinian-owned structures demolished or seized in Area C (as of 31 March), an increase of 216 per cent compared with the equivalent period in 2020.

The vast majority of Palestinian applications for Israeli building permits in Area C are rejected by the Israeli authorities on the grounds that the relevant area has not been zoned for construction. This is the case even when the land for which the permit is requested is undisputedly owned by the Palestinian applicant. Consequently, it is virtually impossible for Palestinians to obtain building permits: according to data obtained by the Israeli organization Peace Now from the ICA, between 2009 and 2018 only two per cent of all requests submitted by Palestinians for building permits in Area C were granted (98 out of 4,422).

A restrictive and discriminatory planning regime

Following its occupation of the West Bank in 1967, the Israeli authorities took over the planning powers endowed by the Jordanian Planning Law, which was in force at that time. This law was subsequently amended by military orders, which annulled the local and district planning committees representing the Palestinian population, and transferred their powers to the Higher Planning Council, which is exclusively staffed by Israeli officers.[2]

During the early 1990s, the ICA approved some 400 ‘partial special outline plans’ for localities across the West Bank, which were produced with little or no consultation with the Palestinian population. Of these plans, around 110 cover areas that later became Area C and have remained in force through to the present. While structures located within the boundaries of these plans are protected from demolition, less than one per cent of Area C is covered by a planning scheme for Palestinian communities approved by the ICA.  Additionally, these plans only covered part of the built-up areas of communities in Area C, leaving little opportunity for community development, and placing the structures outside the planned areas at risk of demolition.

By contrast, local outline plans[3] approved by the Israeli authorities for Israeli settlements cover at least 8.5 per cent of Area C, according to 2015 OCHA’s estimates. Settlements are illegal under international humanitarian law as they violate Article 49 of the Fourth Geneva Convention, which prohibits the transfer of the occupying power’s civilian population into occupied territory.[4] According to Peace Now, in 2019 and 2020, the Israeli authorities approved plans for 16,098 units in settlements and issued permits for at least 2,233 housing units.

All local outline plans in Area C are considered amendments of the Regional Outline Plans, approved in the 1940s by the British Mandate. These regional plans designated most of what subsequently became Area C as an ‘agricultural zone’. Although, in theory, they do permit limited construction for residential and other purposes for Palestinians in an agricultural zone, the ICA regularly rejects most building permit applications by Palestinians on the grounds that they do not meet the conditions specified in these plans.[5]

Since 2011, Palestinian communities in Area C have been drafting their own detailed local outline plans, as a means of building essential infrastructure and new houses in the framework of a community development officially approved by the ICA. The process has been supported by the Palestinian Authority’s (PA) Ministry of Local Government (MoLG) and international donors and involved significant consultation with the residents of each community. So far, 123 local outline plans have been produced, of which 109 have been submitted to the ICA for approval. Despite the high technical standards of these plans,[6] only five have been approved and another seven have reached the final stage prior to final approval. The remaining 97 plans have been under “technical discussions” for periods ranging from 18 months to seven years, except for four plans submitted in December 2019 and February 2021. The last local outline plans to be fully approved was in 2017.[7]

Except for the period between May 2020 and January 2021[8] when coordination between the parties was halted, the MoLG has engaged with the ICA on behalf of the communities to advance the approval of the plans. This, despite the fact that the PA does not consider full approval by the Israeli authorities necessary in order to advance development and construction in accordance with the plans. Based on certain criteria, the European Union (EU) collectively, as well as certain individual EU members states, sometimes support the construction of essential infrastructure projects in areas covered by pending local outline plans, despite the risk of demolition and confiscation.

The case of At Tuwani village

“At Tuwani is located in Area C. Decades ago, 100 people lived in At Tuwani, but we need new structures as our families grow. There is no public transportation to the communities near At Tuwani, and the roads are rough. The settlers fly their drones and film us, they give the orders and encourage the army to demolish our houses. We build on our own private lands, for which we have all the needed documents. But if we apply for building permits, we never get them, so we build anyway. At the same time, Israeli settlers are building on Palestinian lands, against international law, and nothing happens to them.” Musa, father of 11 children, At Tuwani resident.

“If we apply for building permits, we never get them.” Musa, At Tuwani. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
“If we apply for building permits, we never get them.” Musa, At Tuwani. Photo by OCHA, 2021.

Located approximately one kilometre from the Byzantine archaeological site called “Khirbet At Tuwani”, the small Palestinian village At Tuwani is situated in the hilly southern Hebron governorate. The community consists of about 200 residents who moved from two nearby towns, Yatta and Dura. In 1982, the Israeli settlement of Ma’on was established about 900 metres to the east of At Tuwani.

So far, the ICA has issued at least 40 demolition and confiscation orders against about 48 Palestinian structures in At Tuwani. As of March 2021, four structures have been demolished and 21 residents displaced. In the absence of an approved local outline plan, most of the village’s structures remain under threat of demolition and there is still no legal avenue to transform the village into a liveable habitat with basic services. 

The Palestinian village of At Tuwani against the backdrop of the Israeli settlement of Ma’on. Photo by Tanya Habjouqa for OCHA, 2021.
The Palestinian village of At Tuwani against the backdrop of the Israeli settlement of Ma’on. Photo by Tanya Habjouqa for OCHA, 2021.

In 2008, ICA commissioned a local outline plan for At Tuwani (no. 1764), mainly covering the already built-up area of the village. This left no room for further development, entailed minimal public participation, and suggestions and requests for change were not accepted. In 2011, the local community took the initiative to prepare its own village plan, with the endorsement of the Palestinian MoLG, technical support from UN-Habitat, and financial support by the United Kingdom, and subsequently by the EU. The proposed plan was submitted to the ICA in July 2011, published for public objection in January 2014, and initially approved on 7 December 2020. The plan is currently awaiting final publication to enter into force.

Bakker is 21 years old and lives in At Tuwani, in the area included within the community-proposed local outline plan: “In the past, we used to stay awake all night, worrying that the soldiers could come at any time to demolish another house. Now we feel a bit more secure, although we are still waiting for the final approval of our plan. I feel assured that if I want to expand my house, my efforts and the money I put into it won’t be in vain. It’s so unjust when you work so hard and invest so much in a house, and it’s all gone in a matter of seconds.”

The demolition of a Palestinian structure in At Tuwani by the ICA and Israeli forces. © Photo by At Tuwani Village Council, 25 November 2020.
The demolition of a Palestinian structure in At Tuwani by the ICA and Israeli forces. © Photo by At Tuwani Village Council, 25 November 2020.

The proposed plan retroactively legalizes structures targeted by 17 demolition orders issued by the ICA. Based on this plan, the EU has supported the construction of an additional floor for the local school, and the rehabilitation of internal roads through the Municipal Development and Lending Fund, a semi-governmental Palestinian institution for reform and development assistance to local government. In addition, UN-Habitat supported the design and implementation of a public space in At Tuwani, with the active participation of women and children’s groups, and with financial support from the UN.

“We feel a bit more secure, although we are still waiting for the final approval of our plan.” Bakker, a resident of At Tuwani whose home is included in the outline planned prepared by the community, one of few such plans that have reached final approval stages. Photo by OCHA, 2021.
“We feel a bit more secure, although we are still waiting for the final approval of our plan.” Bakker, a resident of At Tuwani whose home is included in the outline planned prepared by the community, one of few such plans that have reached final approval stages. Photo by OCHA, 2021.

The way forward

The restrictive and discriminatory planning regime applied in Area C and East Jerusalem makes it virtually impossible for Palestinians to obtain the requisite Israeli building permits. Public and confiscated land in those areas has been allocated almost exclusively to Israeli settlements or to the military. Most private land has been zoned as agricultural or ‘green’, or is not planned, impeding the issuance of permits in these areas. To meet their housing and livelihood needs, many Palestinians are left with little choice than to build without permits, risking demolition and displacement, or to move elsewhere. Along with other constraints, the restrictive planning regime applied by Israel in Area C contributes to the creation of a coercive environment on residents, leading to risk of forcible transfer. In addition to demolition and the threat of demolition of homes, schools and livelihoods, other pressures include the denial of service infrastructure; access restrictions on farming and grazing land; poor law enforcement on violent settlers; and the revocation of residency rights, among other policies and practices.[9]

Public space at At Tuwani. © Photo by UN-Habitat, 2019.
Public space at At Tuwani. © Photo by UN-Habitat, 2019.

Under international law, Israel has the obligation to ensure that the humanitarian needs of Palestinians living under occupation are met and that they are able to lead life normally. Israel must also ensure that Palestinians under occupation are able to exercise their human rights, including their right to an adequate standard of living, to adequate housing, and to be free from discrimination. International law also prohibits the destruction of private or public property, unless absolutely required by military operations, as well as the forced transfer or displacement of civilians.

The provision of adequate spatial planning for rural communities in Area C is essential to improve the living conditions of their residents and to relieve the pressure on them to move. The use of community-led local outline plans, notwithstanding the time and efforts required for their development and their current rate of approval by Israeli authorities, can potentially remove the risk of demolition. The Israeli authorities’ approval of pending community-led local outline plans for Palestinian communities in Area C would be a significant step towards the fulfilment of their international obligations.

The international community should continue to support spatial planning in Area C and continue its advocacy efforts to defend housing, land, and property rights for Palestinian communities across the oPt, including in Area C.


[1] OCHA, Under Threat: Demolition orders in Area C of the West Bank (2015). In many cases, the same order targets multiple structures owned by the same household (e.g. their residence, an animal shelter, a storage room or a latrine). The actual number of structures affected is estimated, based on an examination of over 90 per cent of the records, to be about 17,000.

[2] For a detailed explanation of the planning approval process for Palestinians in Area C and how it was developed, see Bimkom, The Prohibited Zone. Israeli Planning Policy in the Palestinian Villages in Area C (2008).

[3] Local outline plans are also known as master plans, a statutory planning tool in use in Area C.

[4] This has been confirmed by the International Court of Justice, the High Contracting Parties to the Fourth Geneva Convention and the United Nations Security Council in successive resolutions.

[5] For further details, see: Bimkom, The Prohibited Zone: Israeli planning policy in the Palestinian villages in Area C (2008); UN, ‘One UN’ Approach to Spatial Planning in Area C of the occupied West Bank (2015).

[6] UN-Habitat, Spatial Planning in Area C of the Israeli occupied West Bank of the Palestinian territory. Report of an International Advisory Board (2015).

[7] Ti’nnik (Jenin) and Ezbat at Tabib (Qalqiliya).

[8] Coordination between the PA and Israeli authorities regarding other sectors resumed in November 2020, but this specific issue took two more months.

[9] Humanitarian Needs Overview 2020.