شباب فلسطينيون قرب معبر إيريز الإسرائيلي شمال قطاع غزة. صورة أرشيفية، آذار/مارس 2016.

الأطفال المعتقلون بعد فرارهم من غزة

كجزء من

يقول يوسف، البالغ من العمر 19 عامًا وهو من سكان غزة: «عندي الكثير من الأحلام، ولكنني بتّ مقتنعًا بأهمية البقاء في غزة بكرامة، دون أن أجتاز الحدود إلى إسرائيل مرة أخرى.» فقد كانت أفكاره مختلفة عندما كان في السابعة عشرة من عمره، ويقول إنه توصل إلى اعتقاده الراهن بعدما دفع ثمنًا باهظًا.

وتعيش أسرة يوسف في مخيم جباليا، وهو أكبر مخيمات اللاجئين وأكثرها اكتظاظًا في قطاع غزة. وتعاني هذه الأسرة من الفقر وتعتمد بالدرجة الأولى على المساعدات النقدية الحكومية وعلى المساعدات الغذائية التي تقدمها وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا). وعندما توقفت الحكومة الإسرائيلية عن إصدار التصاريح لسكان غزة للعمل في إسرائيل في العام 2006 بحجة المخاوف الأمنية، فقدَ والد يوسف عمله.[1] ومنذ ذلك الحين، لا يزال الوضع المالي للأسرة يشهد تدهورًا، مثلما هو حال العديد من الأسر في غزة.

Palestinian youth near the Israeli Erez Crossing in the northern Gaza Strip. Archive picture, March 2016.
شباب فلسطينيون قرب معبر إيريز الإسرائيلي شمال قطاع غزة. صورة أرشيفية، آذار/مارس 2016.

وكان من المتوقع أن يصل معدل الفقر في غزة إلى 64 بالمائة في نهاية العام 2020،[2] كما تفاقم الوضع الاقتصادي والاجتماعي المتردي في الأصل إلى حد بعيد منذ الإغلاق الذي فرضته السلطات المحلية للمرة الثانية في شهر آب/أغسطس من أجل احتواء انتقال العدوى بفيروس كورونا، حيث بلغ معدل البطالة 43 بالمائة خلال الربع الرابع من العام 2020.[3]

وكان يوسف يحلم بأن يصبح ممرضًا، بيد أن رسوم الجامعة باهظة ويُشترط حصوله على علامات عالية في شهادة الثانوية العامة (التوجيهي) لكي يتسنى قبوله في الجامعة. ووفقًا لمجموعة التعليم، تتسم نوعية التعليم العام في غزة برداءتها، حيث يعمل نحو 65 بالمائة من المدارس التابعة لوكالة الأونروا والمدارس العامة بنظام الفترتين، وتسعى الأسر الفقيرة جاهدةً لشراء مستلزمات التعليم الأساسية ودفع تكاليف نقل أطفالها إلى المدارس. وفي العام المدرسي 2017-2018، بلغ معدل التسرب من المدارس العامة في غزة 1.94 بالمائة في مرحلة التعليم الأساسي (الصفوف من الأول حتى التاسع) و5.98 بالمائة في مرحلة التعليم الثانوي (الصفوف من العاشر حتى الثاني عشر).[4]

“I still cannot believe that I returned safe and sound to my family.” 19-year-old Yousef, who was arrested after fleeing Gaza when he was 17 years old.
«ما زلت لا أصدق أنني عدت سالمًا إلى عائلتي.» يوسف، 19 عامًا، الذي اعتُقل بعدما فرّ من غزة عندما كان في السابعة عشرة من عمره.

«في العام 2019، وخلال سنتي الأخيرة في المدرسة، قررتُ أن أجازف. فقد أقنعني صديقي بأننا إن تمكنّا من اجتياز السياج الحدودي [إلى إسرائيل]، فقد نحصل على عمل بأجر ونؤمّن ظروفًا أفضل لأنفسنا ولأسرنا. وجرّبنا ذلك لأنه لم يكن لدينا شيء نخسره. فلم يوقفنا خطر التعرض لإطلاق النار أو الاعتقال أو حتى القتل على يد الجنود الإسرائيليين، فقد كان ذلك أملنا الوحيد في حياة أفضل.»

وفي إحدى الليالي، نجح يوسف وصديقه في اجتياز السياج. وعندما بلغا مسافة قاربت 200 متر داخل إسرائيل، سمعا صوت إطلاق النار بكثافة وشاهدا جنودًا معهم كلاب وأضواء قوية. وأمرهما الجنود بخلع كل ملابسهما، ويتذكر يوسف أنه شعر بإذلال وذعر كبيرين. ويقول إنه عُصبت عيناه وتعرّض للإهانة والضرب المبرح عندما اقتاده الجنود إلى سجن شيكما في مدينة عسقلان الإسرائيلية.[5]

«وضعوني في العزل وحققوا معي مرات عدة، وضربوني وأهانوني مرات أخرى. وفي ذلك الوقت، لم أكن أعرف ما حصل مع صديقي. وبعد 20 يومًا، نقلوني أخيرًا إلى سجن آخر.»

ونقل يوسف إلى سجن عوفر في الضفة الغربية، الذي تديره السلطات الإسرائيلية كذلك. والتقى هناك مع أطفال آخرين من غزة، بمن فيهم صديقه الذي اجتاز السياج الحدودي معه. «في سجن عوفر، سمح مأمورو السجن لي بالاتصال بمحامٍ أخيرًا.»

وفي الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 2015 و2019، اعتقلت القوات الإسرائيلية ما لا يقل عن 259 شخصًا من سكان غزة، من بينهم 96 طفلًا، بينما كانوا يجتازون السياج الحدودي إلى إسرائيل. وأطلقت القوات الإسرائيلية النار باتجاه 24 شخصًا، من بينهم ثمانية أطفال، وقتلتهم، بينما أصيبَ 13 آخرين، منهم ستة أطفال، بجروح وهم يحاولون اجتياز السياج, وفقًا لتقرير صدر مؤخرًا عن مركز الميزان لحقوق الإنسان، وهو منظمة فلسطينية تتخذ من غزة مقرًا لها.

وقد أجرى مركز الميزان مقابلات مع 91 طفلًا من أمثال يوسف، ممن حاولوا اجتياز السياج الحدودي إلى إسرائيل بين العامين 2015 و2019. ووفقًا لهذه الدراسة، فقد شملت العوامل الرئيسة المحركة لهذه الظاهرة الفقر، الذي يزيد العنف الأسري من تفاقمه في بعض الأحيان، وتدني نوعية الحياة في مخيمات اللاجئين أو المناطق الريفية والتسرب من المدارس.

وأشار أكثر من نصف الأطفال الذين أُجريت المقابلات معهم إلى أنهم تعرضوا للعنف في أثناء اعتقالهم. وأفاد جميع هؤلاء الأطفال بأنهم خضعوا للتحقيق، وقال عدد منهم بأنهم خضعوا لطرق مختلفة من الاستجواب تحت الإكراه والترهيب، بما شملته من الحرمان من النوم والطعام والماء، ناهيك عن العنف والإهانات والإذلال. ولم يُسمح لثلث هؤلاء الأطفال بالالتقاء بمحامين طيلة فترة اعتقالهم، وحُرمت الغالبية الساحقة منهم من زيارة أسرهم ومُنع آخرون من إجراء الاتصالات الهاتفية.

وحاول يوسف أن يستغل وقته أحسن استغلال في السجن: «لم يُتِح لي الفقر ولا لأي فرد من أفراد أسرتي بالالتحاق بالجامعة. فأسرتي لا تملك القدرة على تأمين المال حتى لتأمين الحد الأدنى من الغذاء اللائق أو تحمّل تكلفة التعليم. ولهذا السبب، قررتُ أن أجتهد في الدراسة داخل السجن وحالفني النجاح في نهاية المطاف في الحصول على شهادتي في التوجيهي. وكنت أدرس وحدي مع كتبي، ولم يُبدِ الأطفال الأخرون اهتمامًا. كان الأمر بالغ الصعوبة بلا أي مساعدة، ولم يكن المكان جيدًا، ولكنني اجتزت الامتحان في السجن ونلت 63 بالمائة!»

 وقد أبلغت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر أسرة يوسف بأنه كان في السجن ونسقت زيارة لوالدته. وتلقّت أسرته زيارة من إحدى منظمات حقوق الإنسان التي قدمت لها بعض الاستشارات القانونية. ونُقل يوسف، بعدما أتم الثامنة عشرة من عمره، إلى سجن نفحة جنوب إسرائيل، حيث يُسجن البالغون من أبناء غزة.

ووفقًا للتقرير الصادر عن مركز الميزان، فقد أُطلق سراح نصف الأطفال في غضون 48 ساعة من اعتقالهم، بينما أمضى آخرون خمسة أشهر في المتوسط في السجون أو المنشآت العسكرية الإسرائيلية. وحسبما ورد على لسان منظمة حقوق الإنسان الإسرائيلية بتسيلم، كان 173 طفلًا فلسطينيًا ممن اعتُبروا من مرتكبي الجنايات محتجزين أو مسجونين في سجون ومنشآت تابعة لقوات الدفاع الإسرائيلية أو مصلحة السجون الإسرائيلية في شهر أيلول/سبتمبر 2020.

وحسبما جاء في التقرير، فعندما يُعاد الأطفال إلى غزة، يتعرض معظمهم للاعتقال والاستجواب من جديد على يد الأجهزة الأمنية التابعة لحركة حماس هذه المرة، من أجل التحقق مما إذا صاروا مخبرين لصالح إسرائيل. وقد سُجن الأطفال الـ91 الذين أُجريت المقابلات معهم في التقرير لفترات تراوحت من عدة أيام إلى أكثر من أسبوع لاستجوابهم، في حين أفاد ثلث هؤلاء بأنهم تعرضوا للإهانة أو الضرب. وأُطلق سراح جميع الأطفال في نهاية المطاف بعدما وقعوا على تعهد بعدم اجتياز السياج مرة أخرى.

«بعدما قضيتُ نحو عشرة شهور في سجون إسرائيلية مختلفة، أنهيت فترة محكوميتي وأُطلق سراحي. ولحسن الحظ، لم تستجوبني الأجهزة الأمنية الفلسطينية عندما عدتُ إلى غزة. وما زلت لا أصدق أنني عدت سالمًا إلى عائلتي. ولا أزال أشعر بالصدمة، وخاصة من الأيام العشرين الأولي من التعذيب والإذلال.» 

ولا يستطيع يوسف أن يعثر على فرصة عمل، والجامعة جدّ مكلفة بحيث لا يمكنه أن يتحمل تكلفة الالتحاق بها. وهو لا ينفك يشعر بالصدمة وتحاول أسرته أن تقنعه بالتماس العلاج ولكنه يرفض ذلك. وفي غزة، ليس ثمة برنامج مخصص لمعالجة احتياجات الأسرى السابقين على وجه التحديد. ومع ذلك، يقدم مجتمع العمل الإنساني خدمات منسقة في مجال الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي، وخاصة خدمات إدارة الحالات والاستشارات الجماعية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي الفردي والمساعدة القانونية للأطفال في نزاع مع القانون، بمن فيهم الأسرى السابقون.[6] ويوسف واحد من 476,000 شخص في غزة – ومن بينهم 234,000 طفل – ممن هم في حاجة إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي، كنتيجة مباشرة أو غير مباشرة للوضع الإنساني المتدهور في قطاع غزة.[7]

وبالإشارة إلى وضع الأطفال في غزة، فقد أطلق جيمي ماكغولدريك، المنسق الإنساني السابق في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، هذه المناشدة في العام 2018: «إننا ندعو إسرائيل، والسلطة الفلسطينية وسلطات حماس في غزة، إلى تقديم حقوق الأطفال على أي اعتبارات أخرى واتخاذ خطوات فورية للتخفيف من معاناتهم.» وتنص اتفاقية حقوق الطفل[8] تحديدًا على «ألا يُعرض أي طفل للتعذيب أو لغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة» و«أن يجري اعتقال الطفل أو احتجازه أو سجنه وفقًا للقانون ولا يجوز ممارسته إلا كملجأ أخير ولأقصر فترة زمنية مناسبة.»[9] ويُعدّ وضع حد لتدهور الحالة الإنسانية في غزة خطوة مهمة على صعيد ضمان حقوق الأطفال ومنحهم الأمل في المستقبل كيلا يشعروا بأنهم مجبَرين على الإقدام على محاولة مغادرة ديارهم.


[1] طرأ انخفاض تدريجي على عدد التصاريح الصادرة لعمال المياومة الفلسطينيين من غزة مع بداية الانتفاضة الثانية في العام 2000. وألغيَ ما تبقى من التصاريح في نهاية المطاف في العام 2006 بعدما فازت حركة حماس بالانتخابات التشريعية الفلسطينية.

[2] OCHA, Humanitarian Needs Overview oPt 2021.

[3] World Bank, Economic Monitoring Report to the Ad Hoc Liaison Committee (2021).

[4] المصدر: مجموعة التعليم، بيانات حول العام المدرسي 2019-2020. ولا تتوفر البيانات عن العام 2021 بسبب تعطيل الدوام في سياق جائحة كورونا.

[5] قائمة السجون ومراكز الاعتقال وأوصافها

[6] UNDP, UN Women and UNICEF, Promoting the Rule of Law in Palestine (Sawasya II) project.

[7]   تقدّر مجموعة الحماية بأن نحو 198,000 طفل في غزة يحتاجون إلى الحماية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي على نحو منظم بسبب خطورة حالات الصحة العقلية الحادة أو المتوسطة، في حين يحتاج نحو 36,000 طفل إلى إدارة حالاتهم على أساس كل حالة على حدة. وفضلًا عن ذلك، يحتاج أكثر من 242,000 شخص بالغ في غزة، بمن فيهم مقدمو الرعاية، إلى مختلف خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي. انظر: OCHA, Humanitarian Needs Overview oPt 2021.

[8] اتفاقية حقوق الطفل، اعتُمدت وعُرضت للتوقيع والتصديق والانضمام بموجب قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة 44/25 المؤرخ في 20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1989، تاريخ بدء النفاذ: 2 أيلول/سبتمبر 1990.

[9] اتفاقية حقوق الطفل، المادتان 37(أ) و37(ب).

Palestinian youth near the Israeli Erez Crossing in the northern Gaza Strip. Archive picture, March 2016.

Children arrested after fleeing from Gaza

as part of

“I have many dreams, but I am now convinced of the importance of remaining in Gaza in dignity, rather than crossing the border to Israel again”, says Yousef, a 19-year-old man from Gaza. When he was 17 years old, his thoughts were very different, and he says that his current belief was acquired at a very high cost.

Yousef’s family lives in Jabalia Camp, the largest and most populous refugee camp in the Gaza Strip. They suffer from poverty, and depend mainly on government cash assistance and on food provided by the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). When the Israeli government stopped issuing permits for people from Gaza to work in Israel in 2006, citing security concerns, Yousef’s father lost a good job.[1] Since then, the family’s financial situation has deteriorated, as it has for many other families in Gaza.

Palestinian youth near the Israeli Erez Crossing in the northern Gaza Strip. Archive picture, March 2016.
Palestinian youth near the Israeli Erez Crossing in the northern Gaza Strip. Archive picture, March 2016.

The poverty rate in Gaza was expected to reach 64 per cent at the end of 2020,[2] and the already dire socio-economic situation has deteriorated significantly since a second lockdown was imposed in August by the local authorities, to contain the transmission of COVID-19, with unemployment reaching 43 per cent in the fourth quarter of 2020.[3]

Yousef’s dream was to become a nurse, but university fees are expensive, and high marks are needed at the General Secondary Certificate – the Tawjihi – to get admitted. According to the Education Cluster, the quality of public education in Gaza is inadequate, with around 65 per cent of UNRWA and public schools operating on a double-shift system, and poor families struggling to buy basic education supplies and pay for school transportation for their children. In 2017-18 the dropout rate in public schools in Gaza was 1.94 per cent for basic education (grades from 1 to 9) and 5.98 per cent for secondary education (grades from 10 to 12).[4]

“I still cannot believe that I returned safe and sound to my family.” 19-year-old Yousef, who was arrested after fleeing Gaza when he was 17 years old.
“I still cannot believe that I returned safe and sound to my family.” 19-year-old Yousef, who was arrested after fleeing Gaza when he was 17 years old.

“In 2019, during my last school year, I decided to take a risk. My friend convinced me that if we managed to cross the perimeter fence [into Israel], we would get paid work and secure better conditions for ourselves and our families. We tried this because we had nothing to lose. The risk of being shot, arrested, or even killed by Israeli soldiers did not stop us, it was our only hope for a better life.”

One night, Yousef and his friend succeeded in crossing the fence. Some 200 metres inside Israel they heard heavy shooting and saw soldiers with dogs and strong lights. The soldiers ordered them to take off all their clothes, and Yousef remembers feeling very humiliated and panic-stricken. He says that he was blind-folded, insulted and heavily beaten when the soldiers took him to Shikma prison in the Israeli city of Ashkelon.[5]

“I was put in isolation and they interrogated me several times, again beating and insulting me. At that time, I did not know what happened to my friend. After 20 days, they finally moved me to another prison.”

He was transferred to Ofer prison in the West Bank, which is also operated by the Israeli authorities. There, he met other children from Gaza, including the friend with whom he crossed the perimeter fence. “In Ofer prison, prison officers finally allowed me to contact a lawyer.”

Between 2015 and 2019, at least 259 Gaza residents, including 96 children, were arrested by Israeli forces while crossing the perimeter fence into Israel. Israeli forces shot dead 24 people, including eight children, while 13 people, including six children, were injured while attempting to cross, according to a recent report by Al Mezan Center for Human Rights, a Palestinian organization based in Gaza.

Al Mezan interviewed 91 children like Yousef who had attempted to cross the perimeter fence into Israel between 2015 and 2019. According to the study, the main push factors included poverty, sometimes compounded by domestic violence; the poor quality of life in refugee camps or rural areas; and school drop-out.

More than a third of the children interviewed reported experiencing violence during the arrests. All the children reported being interrogated, and several claimed to have been subjected to various coercive and intimidating questioning methods, including sleep, food and water-deprivation, as well as violence, insults, and humiliation. During their entire period of incarceration, one third had reportedly not been allowed to see a lawyer, the vast majority were denied family visits and several were denied phone calls. 

Yousef tried to make the best of his time in jail: “Poverty did not allow me nor any of my family members to attend university. My family does not have the money to secure even the minimum of decent food or to afford the cost of education. Because of this, I decided to study hard in prison and finally succeeded in getting my Tawjihi. I studied alone with my books; the other children were not interested. It was very difficult without any help, the place was not good, but I took the exam in prison and I got 63 per cent!”

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) informed his family that he was in prison and coordinated a visit by his mother. His family received a visit from a human rights organization which gave them some legal advice. When he turned 18, he was transferred to Nafha prison in southern Israel, where adults from Gaza were imprisoned.

According to the Al Mezan report, half of the children were released within 48 hours of being arrested, while others spent an average of five months in Israeli jails or military installations. According to Israeli human rights organization B’Tselem, in September 2020, 173 Palestinian children considered criminal offenders were detained or imprisoned in either Israel Defence Force (IDF) or Israel Prison Service (IPS) prisons and facilities.

When children are sent back to Gaza, according to the report, most are arrested and interrogated again, this time by Hamas security services, to verify whether they have become Israeli informants. The 91 children interviewed in the report were imprisoned for periods from a few days to over a week for interrogation, while one third reported being insulted or beaten. All the children were finally released after signing a pledge not to cross the perimeter fence again.

“After nearly ten months in different Israeli prisons, I finished my prison term, so I was released. Fortunately, I was not interrogated by Palestinian security services when I got back to Gaza. I still cannot believe that I returned safe and sound to my family. I still feel traumatized, especially from the first twenty days of torture and humiliation.” 

Yousef cannot find work, and university is too expensive to afford. He is still traumatized, and his family is trying to convince him to seek treatment, but he refuses. In Gaza, there is no programme specifically dedicated to address the needs of former prisoners. However, the humanitarian community provides coordinated mental health and psychosocial support, specifically case management, group counselling, individual psychological support and legal aid services for children in conflict with the law, former prisoners included.[6] Yousef is one of 476,000 people in Gaza – including 234,000 children – in need of mental health and psychosocial support, as a direct or indirect result of the deteriorating humanitarian situation in the Gaza Strip.[7]

Referring to the situation of children in Gaza, the former Humanitarian Coordinator, Jamie McGoldrick, made this appeal in 2018, “We call on Israel, as well as the Palestinian Authority and the Hamas authorities in Gaza to put children’s rights ahead of any other considerations and to take immediate steps to alleviate their suffering.” The Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC)[8] specifically states that “no child shall be subjected to torture or other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment” and “the arrest, detention or imprisonment of a child shall be in conformity with the law and shall be used only as a measure of last resort and for the shortest appropriate period of time”.[9] Reversing the deteriorating humanitarian situation in Gaza is an important step towards guaranteeing children’s rights and giving them hope for the future, so that they do not feel compelled to try and leave the territory.


[1] The number of permits for Palestinian daily labourers from Gaza gradually decreased after 2000 with the beginning of the Second Intifada. The remaining permits were finally cancelled in 2006 when Hamas won the Palestinian parliamentary elections.

[2] OCHA, Humanitarian Needs Overview oPt 2021.

[3] World Bank, Economic Monitoring Report to the Ad Hoc Liaison Committee (2021).

[4] Source: Education Cluster. Data about school year 2019 – 2020 and 2020 – 2021 are not available due to COVID disruption.

[5] Available list of prisons and detection centres and their description.

[6] UNDP, UN Women and UNICEF, Promoting the Rule of Law in Palestine (Sawasya II) project.

[7] The Protection Cluster estimates that some 198,000 children in Gaza are in need of structured protection and psychosocial support, due to risk of severe and moderate mental health conditions, while nearly 36,000 children require individual case management. Additionally, over 242,000 adults in Gaza, including caregivers, are also in need of various MHPSS services. OCHA, Humanitarian Needs Overview oPt 2021.

[8] The Conventions on the Rights of the Child was adopted and opened for signature, ratification and accession by General Assembly resolution 44/25 of 20 November 1989 and entered into force on 2 September 1990.

[9] CRC: Articles 37(a) and 37(b).