نشرت بتاريخ 31 يناير 2015
 كجزء من  

الأجواء الشتوية تؤدي إلى خسائر بشرية، وفيضانات وتهجير إضافي في قطاع غزة

فيضانات في غزة خلال عاصفة الشتاء في منطقة الشجاعية، كانون الثاني/يناير 2015,تصوير مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية
فيضانات في غزة خلال عاصفة الشتاء في منطقة الشجاعية، كانون الثاني/يناير 2015,تصوير مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية

العاصفة تظهر حالة الضعف الشديدة لمعظم السكان

تأثرت غزة هذا الشهر بعاصفة شتوية اجتاحت الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة في الفترة ما بين 6 إلى 10 كانون الثاني/يناير. وأفادت وزارة الصحة في غزة أنّ طفلين (شهرين وأربعة أشهر) من خان يونس توفيا جراء العاصفة. وأبلغت وسائل الإعلام المحلية عن حالتي وفاة أخريين، من بينهما صياد أسماك توفي أثناء الصيد قرب الشاطئ.[1] وأُصيب ما يقرب من تسعة اشخاص بجروح نتيجة لسقوط خزانات المياه من فوق أسطح المنازل أو نتيجة لاستخدام مصادر التدفئة غير الآمنة أو حوادث متصلة بالكهرباء.

وأدت الأمطار الغزيرة إلى فيضانات محلية في المناطق المنخفضة من قطاع غزة، خاصة رفح وخان يونس والمنطقة الوسطى، مما تطلب تدخل مقدمي الخدمات المحليين لإزالة المياه. وظلت مستويات المياه في وادي غزة ضمن المستوى المتوقع، باستثناء وادي السلقا، حيث استدعى الارتفاع في منسوب المياه تدخل بلدية دير البلح للحد من تأثيرها على المجتمعات المجاورة. وأبلغ الدفاع المدني الفلسطيني عن أكثر من 80 مهمة إنقاذ، تضمنت معظمها إزالة الأشجار الساقطة والأغراض المتطايرة من الطرق الرئيسية، وحوادث متصلة بالحرائق، وأضرار لحقت بأسطح المنازل أو انهيار جزئي للمباني. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم تنفيذ أكثر من 50 مهمة إخلاء نفذها الدفاع المدني الفلسطيني في محافظات رفح وخان يونس بسبب الفيضانات أو انهيارات جزئية للمنازل. وتم نقل الأسر المتضررة مؤقتا إلى منازل أقاربهم أو إلى مراكز وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (أونروا) الجماعية. ولجأ ما مجموعه 23 أسرة (151 شخصا) إلى مراكز وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (أونروا) الجماعية خلال العاصفة طلبا للمأوى.

وفاة طفلة تبلغ من العمر أربعة أشهر بسبب انخفاض درجة حرارة جسمها خلال العاصفة الشتوية

قال علي: "كان اسم ابنتنا رهف. ولدت في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 2014. كانت زوجتي، أم محمد، حاملا في شهرها السابع أو الثامن خلال الحرب. لقد لجأنا إلى مدرسة تابعة لوكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (أونروا) وخلال كل وقف لإطلاق النار، كنت أخرج للاطمئنان على المنزل بينما تبقى زوجتي في الملجأ مع أبنائنا الثمانية ".

كان أحد الجيران هو الذي أبلغ علي أن المنزل قد تعرض لأضرار كبيرة. وبعد وقف إطلاق النار عادت الأسرة للعيش في المنزل، على الرغم من الدمار الذي شمل ثقوبا في السقف نجمت عن الغارات الجوية، وعدد من الجدران المنهارة، وتحطم جميع نوافذ المنزل. غطت الأسرة النوافذ بالقماش وبعض الأغطية البلاستيكية، ولكن خلال العاصفة الشتوية، أزالت الرياح القوية الأغطية بعيدا عن النوافذ وتدفق ماء المطر من خلال الثقوب في السقف.

وروت أم محمد، "وضعنا خشبا على الأرض ثم وضعنا الفرشات عليه محاولين الاحتفاظ بها جافة. جمعنا المياه المتدفقة من السقف في أوعية. وفي مساء أحد الأيام، لاحظت أن جلد رهف قد تغير لونه وأصبحت خائفة جدا. لقد تحولت إلى اللون الأزرق،".

لم يكن في منزل عائلة عاصي المدمر كهرباء ولا مصدر للتدفئة. استدعت أم محمد أحد أقاربها، الذي اقتادهم إلى مستشفى غزة الأوروبي، حيث وصلوا في الساعة 10 مساء. وضعوا في غرفة باردة متجمدة في المستشفى بدون تدفئة بينما بدأ الطبيب يفحص الرضيع. رفضت رهف الرضاعة، وبعد ما يقرب من ساعتين، تنهدت وتوقف قلبها عن الخفقان. نجح الطبيب في إعادة الحياة لها، وعادت رهف إلى الحياة لمدة نصف ساعة أخرى قبل أن توافيها المنية وأعلنت وفاتها في الساعة 4 صباحا يوم 9 كانون الثاني/يناير. وتم تحديد سبب الوفاة على أنه انخفاض حرارة الجسم وانسداد مجاري التنفس.

"أشعر بخيبة الأمل لأننا لا نستطيع الحصول على رعاية صحية أفضل هنا في غزة. ربما كان من الممكن إنقاذ حياة رهف".

بعد الجنازة، انتشر خبر وفاة الطفلة الرضيعة في جميع أنحاء قطاع غزة وعرض صحفي محلي دفع الإيجار لشقة في مكان أكثر أمنا. وانتقلوا الآن إلى شقة في بني سهيلا، ولكن ليس لديهم اسم أو تفاصيل الاتصال بالصحفي الذي وعد بتقديم الدعم لهم، والذي لم يدفع الإيجار حتى الآن.

كانت ظروف المهجرين داخليا الذين يعيشون في وحدات سكنية جاهزة، أو في منازل متضررة، أو في ملاجئ مؤقتة في غزة عصيبة بشكل خاص خلال العاصفة. وأفادت التقارير أن التسرب في وحدات سكنية جاهزة في خزاعة (خان يونس) عندما تم توزيع الأغطية البلاستيكية قبل العاصفة. وتعاون كل من لجان المجتمع المحلي والمتطوعون والمهجرون داخليا لإعادة تأمين الأغطية البلاستيكية. وتم نشر الحصى المعاد تدويره والمستخرج من الأنقاض بين الوحدات السكنية الجاهزة في مواقع المهجرين داخليا المؤقتة بمساعدة من المنظمات المحلية والدولية لحماية المهجرين داخليا من التربة الطينية وتمكينهم من الحركة الآمنة. ووزعت وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية والشركاء في مجموعة المأوى، بما في ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية المواد غير الغذائية ومدافئ للأسر المتضررة.

قوضت المشاكل المزمنة قدرة مقدمي الخدمات على الاستجابة، بما في ذلك ضعف البنية التحتية والمعدات القديمة، وعدم توفر قطع الغيار، وإمدادات الوقود والكهرباء المحدودة، على الرغم من الجاهزية وجهود التنسيق قبيل العاصفة.


[1]  لا يرصد مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية الإصابات والوفيات غير المتعلقة بالصراع في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. وتستند أرقام الوفيات الناتجة عن العاصفة الشتوية فقط على الأرقام التي تبلغ بها وزارة الصحة وتقارير وسائل الإعلام المحلية.

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 31 January 2015
 as part of 

Winter weather results in casualties, flooding and Additional displacement in the Gaza Strip

Flooding in Gaza during the winter storm in Al-Shuja’iyah area. January 2015. Photo by OCHA
Flooding in Gaza during the winter storm in Al-Shuja’iyah area. January 2015. Photo by OCHA

Storm highlights the extreme vulnerability of most of the population

This month Gaza was affected by a winter storm that swept the oPt between 6 to 10 January. The Ministry of Health (MoH) in Gaza reported the death of two infants (aged two and four months of age) from Khan Younis. Another two deaths were reported by the local media, including a fisherman who died while fishing near the shore.[1] Approximately nine people were injured as a result of water tanks falling from rooftops or due to the use of unsafe heating sources or electricity-related incidents.

The heavy rains resulted in localized flooding in low-lying areas of the Gaza Strip, mainly Rafah, Khan Younis and the Middle area, requiring intervention by local service providers to remove water. Water levels in Wadi Gaza remained within the anticipated level, apart from Wadi Al Salqa, where an increase in the water level required intervention by Deir Al Balah municipality to minimize the impact on nearby communities. The Palestinian Civil Defense reported more than 80 rescue missions, primarily for the removal of falling trees and flying objects from main roads, fire-related incidents, and damage to rooftops or the partial collapse of buildings. In addition, more than 50 evacuation missions were carried out by the Palestinian Civil Defense in Rafah and Khan Younis governorates due to flooding or the partial collapse of homes. Affected families were temporarily relocated to the homes of relatives or to UNRWA Collective Centres. A total of 23 families (151 persons) sought shelter in UNRWA Collective Centres during the storm.

Living conditions for IDPs sheltering in pre-fabricated housing units, in damaged houses, or in makeshift shelters were particularly acute during the storm. Leaking was reported in pre-fabricated housing units in Khuza’a (Khan Younis) when plastic sheeting distributed prior to the storm came adrift. Local community committees, volunteers and IDPs cooperated to re-secure plastic sheeting. Recycled gravel made from rubble was spread between pre-fabricated housing units in temporary displacement sites with assistance from local and international organizations to protect IDPs from muddy soil and enable safe movement. The Ministry of Social Affairs (MoSA) and Shelter cluster partners, including national NGOs, distributed NFIs and heaters to affected families.

The ability of service providers to respond has been undermined by chronic problems, including poor infrastructure, old equipment, lack of spare parts, and limited fuel and electricity supply, despite preparedness and coordination efforts in advance of the storm.

Four-month-old girl dies from hypothermia during the winter storm

Father of the infant who died of Hypothermia

“Our daughter’s name was Rahet. She was born on 1 November 2014. During the war, Umm Mohammed, my wife, was seven to eight months pregnant. We took shelter in an UNRWA school and during every ceasefire, I would go out to check on the house while my wife stayed in the shelter with our eight children,” Ali said.

It was a neighbour who told Ali that the house had sustained major damage. After the ceasefire, the family returned to live in the home, despite the damage, which included holes in the ceiling caused by air strikes, a number of collapsed walls, and all windows of the house blown out. The family covered the windows with cloth and some plastic sheeting, but during the winter storm, the strong winds blew the covers off the windows and rain poured down through the holes in the ceiling.

“We put wood on the floor and then placed the mattresses on top to try to keep them dry. We collected the water pouring in from the ceiling in containers. One evening, I noticed that Rahet’s skin had changed colour and I became very scared. She had turned blue,” Umm Mohammad recounted.

The Assi family had no electricity in the damaged home and no source of heating. Umm Mohammed called one of her relatives, who drove them to the European Gaza Hospital, where they arrived at 10 pm. They were placed in a freezing cold room in the hospital with no heating while the doctor examined the infant. Rafet refused to breast-feed and, after approximately two hours, she sighed and her heart stopped beating. The doctor succeeded in reviving her and Rahet came back to life for another half an hour before she passed away and was declared dead at 4 am on 9 January. The cause of death was determined to be hypothermia and blocked breathing channels.

“I am disappointed that we do not have access to better health care here in Gaza. Maybe Rahet’s life could have been saved.”

After the funeral, news of the infant’s death spread across Gaza and a local journalist offered to pay the rent for an apartment in a safer location. They have now moved into an apartment in Bani Suheila, but they do not have the name or contact details of the journalist who promised to support them, and who has not yet paid the rent.

Latest Developments

Another storm struck the oPt on the evening of 19 February, with no major impact on the Gaza Strip. The limited impact is attributed to the preparedness of the local authorities and institutions, with support from the private sector and the international community, including the activation of Emergency Operation Centres and the deployment of heavy equipment.

[1] OCHA does systematically not monitor non-conflict related casualties and fatalities in the oPt. The figures on deaths as a result of the winter storm are based solely on the figures reported by MoH and local media reports.