نشرت بتاريخ 6 يونيو 2017

بيان منسق الأمم المتحدة للمساعدات الإنسانية والأنشطة الإنمائية، روبرت بايبر، بمناسبة مرور خمسون عاما على الاحتلال الإسرائيلي

هذا الأسبوع تمر علينا الذكرى السنوية الخمسين على احتلال إسرائيل للضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وقطاع غزة. وتعتبر هذه الأزمة بالنسبة للعاملين في المجال الإنساني، الأزمة الأطول في تاريخ الأمم المتحدة.

ومما لا شك فيه والمعروف أن وجه الاحتلال قبيح. إن العيش تحت حكم عسكري أجنبي لسنوات طويلة، يخلق اليأس، ويقضي على روح المبادرة ويضع أجيال من البشر في طي النسيان السياسي والاقتصادي.

الاحتلال الإسرائيلي تدعمه القوة. ويرافق الاحتلال جهاز أمني ​​يفرض دون كلل سياسات تهدف إلى عزل التجمعات الفلسطينية عن بعضها، وتمزّق التماسك الاجتماعي، وتحدّ بشدة من النشاط الاقتصادي، وتحرم الكثيرين من حقوقهم الأساسية - مثل التنقل والتعبير عن الرأي والوصول إلى الخدمات الصحية وأكثر من ذلك بكثير. وفي حالات عديدة، انتهكت هذه السياسات القانون الإنساني الدولي وكذلك اتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان التي وقّعت إسرائيل على احترامها والالتزام بها.

وكانت إحدى النتائج المباشرة لهذه السياسات، خلق احتياجات إنسانية مزمنة بين الفلسطينيين. وفي عام 2017، ما يقرب من نصف الفلسطينيين البالغ عددهم 4.8 مليون نسمة يعيشون في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة سيحتاج إلى شكل من أشكال المساعدات الإنسانية. العديد منهم يحتاج إلى مساعدة غذائية للتعويض عن خسارتهم مصادر كسب الرزق، إلى جانب غيرها من المساعدات القانونية، والبعض الآخر لا يزال بحاجة إلى المياه أو الرعاية الصحية أو المأوى. في السنة "العادية" – على سبيل المثال، سنة بدون صراع عسكري في غزة -  يتم تخصيص حوالي مليار دولار أمريكي من الموارد العالمية الشحيحة لدعم تنفيذ مختلف العمليات الإنسانية الحالية في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة.

وبالطبع، فإن آثار الاحتلال والاحتلال ذاته غير ثابتين. وتتهالك آليات الصمود والمواجهة باستمرار. ولا يشعر بهذه الأضرار سوى أشد الناس ضعفا، وهم الأطفال والعائلات التي تعيلها أمرة وكبار السن وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. حتى العاملين في المجال الإنساني أنفسهم يواجهون عقبات متزايدة وهم يبذلون قصارى جهودهم للتخفيف من آثار الاحتلال، سواء كان ذلك في زيادة القيود المفروضة على الحركة، أو استنفاد الإجراءات القانونية، أو مصادرة المساعدات، أو إرهاق المانحين الذي يُمكن تفهمه. ومع مرور الزمان سنة بعد أخرى، يتدهور الوضع بشكل حتمي، ويترتب على ذلك عواقب وخيمة على الفلسطينيين وأيضا من المحتمل أن تنعكس على الإسرائيليين.

من منظور إنساني، تواصل الاحتلال لـ 50 عاما يمثل فشلا في القيادة للعديد من القيادات المحلية والدولية والإسرائيلية والفلسطينية. ويدفع العديد من المدنيين الأبرياء - الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين - ثمن الفشل المزري في معالجة الأسباب الكامنة وراء أزمة الحماية الأطول في العالم.

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 6 June 2017

Statement by the UN Coordinator for Humanitarian Aid and Development Activities, Robert Piper, on the 50th Anniversary of Israel’s Occupation

This week marks 50 years since the start of Israel’s occupation of the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and the Gaza Strip. For humanitarians this is the most long-standing protection crisis in the UN’s history.

It should be obvious, but it bears repeating, that Occupation is ugly. Living under foreign military rule for years on end, generates despair, suffocates initiative and leaves generations in a kind of political and economic limbo. 

Israel’s occupation is backed by force. Accompanying that ever-present security apparatus have been deliberate policies that have isolated Palestinian communities from each other, ruptured social cohesion, profoundly limited economic activity and deprived many of their basic rights – of movement, of expression, of access to health and much more. In too many cases, these policies have violated international humanitarian law as well as the human rights instruments to which Israel is a party.

One direct result of these policies has been the creation of chronic humanitarian needs among Palestinians. In 2017, nearly half of the 4.8 million Palestinians living in the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt) will need humanitarian aid of one kind or another. Many of them require food assistance to compensate for lost livelihoods, others legal aid, and others still, will need water, healthcare or shelter. In a ‘normal’ year – ie. one without a conflict in Gaza – around US$1 billion is allocated from scarce global resources to support the various humanitarian operations underway in the oPt.

Neither the occupation, nor its impact, is static of course. Coping mechanisms are increasingly depleted. The worst impacts are felt by those most vulnerable – children, single mothers, the elderly and disabled. And humanitarians themselves face increasing obstacles in their efforts to mitigate the impacts of occupation, whether it be in increased movement restrictions, the exhaustion of legal processes, the confiscation of our aid, or understandable donor fatigue. As each year passes, the situation deteriorates inexorably, with profound consequences for Palestinians and potentially Israelis as well.

From a humanitarian’s perspective, 50 years of occupation represents a gross failure of leadership by many – local and international, Israeli and Palestinian. Too many innocent civilians – Palestinian and Israeli alike – are paying for this abject failure to address the underlying causes of the world’s longest-running protection crisis.