نشرت بتاريخ 19 أبريل 2018

المنسق الإنساني يطالب بحماية المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين في غزة إلى جانب توفير الدعم للاحتياجات الإنسانية العاجلة

طالب المنسق الإنساني، السيد جيمي ماكغولدريك ، اليوم بحماية المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين وتوفير تمويل عاجل لتلبية الاحتياجات الإنسانية الضرورية الناجمة عن الارتفاع الحاد في عدد الضحايا الفلسطينيين في غزة منذ 30 آذار.

وقال السيد ماكغولدريك "يعتبر هذا التصاعد الحاد الحالي في الاحتياجات الإنساني أزمة على راس  كارثة،" وأضاف "مع اقترابنا من جمعة جديدة من التظاهرات بالقرب من السياج الحدودي بين غزة وإسرائيل، من الضروري جدا أن تمارس السلطات الإسرائيلية اعلى درجات ضبط النفس في استخدامها القوة في عمليات إنفاذ القانون بما يتوافق مع التزاماتها بموجب القانون الدولي."

يحتاج الشركاء في العمل الإنساني لتمويل مقداره 5.3 مليون دولار أمريكي لتلبية الاحتياجات في مجال الصحة والدعم النفسي الاجتماعي والحماية لغاية 31 أيار 2018. ويعتبر هذا التمويل ضرورياً للتمكن من توظيف فرق طبية متخصصة لتنفيذ عمليات جراحية إنقاذيه معقدة ، ولتوفير الأدوية بهدف تجنب حالات الوفاة والإعاقة، وللسماح لبنوك الدم بزيادة قدرتها على التعامل مع حالات إصابات الضحايا بشكل فوري، إلى جانب مجموعة من الاحتياجات الطبية الضرورية. كما وأنه هنالك حاجة للتمويل لضمان تلقي ضحايا العنف وأسرهم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي اللازم ولدعم المنظمات التي تراقب الانتهاكات وتتحقق منها وتوثقها.

وصرح السيد ماكغولدريك في هذا الصدد "بكل بساطة، لا يتمتع مزودو الخدمات الضرورية في غزة بالقدرة على التعامل مع الوضع الحالي في هذا الوقت." وأضاف "يقف المجتمع العامل في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية متأهباً لتقديم الدعم لدولة فلسطين في تلبية احتياجات الفلسطينيين الطبية المهولة في قطاع غزة، وضمان توفر الحماية والدعم النفسي اللازمان."

نهايته

خلفية

يشهد قطاع غزة منذ 30 آذار 2018 ارتفاع حاد في عدد الضحايا الفلسطينيين في سياق التظاهرات الجماهيرية التي تقام على امتداد السياج الحدودي مع إسرائيل. وتقام هذه التظاهرات كجزء من "مسيرة العودة الكبرى"، وهي سلسلة من المسيرات الجماهيرية، ومن المتوقع أن تستمر لغاية 15 أيار. وقد أثار العدد الكبير من الضحايا في أوساط المتظاهرين غير المسلحين، بما في ذلك النسبة الكبيرة من الإصابات بالرصاص الحي في أوساط المتظاهرين، أثار المخاوف بشأن الاستخدام المفرط للقوة. كما واصيب   عدد من أفراد الطواقم الطبية ولحق الضرر بممتلكات طبية نتيجة النيران الإسرائيلية. ويعاني النظام الصحي في القطاع، والذي كان أصلاً على هاوية الانهيار بسبب سنوات الحصار الطويلة والانقسام   السياسي الفلسطيني الداخلي وتصاعد وتيرة العنف بشكل متكرر، يعاني في التعامل مع هذا الارتفاع الحاد في عدد الضحايا.

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 19 April 2018

Humanitarian Coordinator calls for protection of Palestinian demonstrators in Gaza alongside support for urgent humanitarian needs

The Humanitarian Coordinator, Mr. Jamie McGoldrick, today called for the protection of Palestinian demonstrators and for urgent funding to meet critical humanitarian needs that have been generated by the massive rise in Palestinian casualties in Gaza since 30 March.

Gaza, April 2018“The current surge in humanitarian needs is a crisis on top of a catastrophe,” said Mr. McGoldrick. “As we approach another Friday of demonstrations near the perimeter fence between Gaza and Israel, it is critical that the Israeli authorities exercise the utmost restraint in the use of force for law enforcement operations, in line with their obligations under international law.”

Humanitarian partners urgently need US$ 5.3 million in funding to meet emerging health, psycho-social and protection needs until 31 May 2018. These funds are required to enable the deployment of specialized medical teams to conduct complex, lifesaving surgeries; for medicines to prevent avoidable death or disability; to allow blood banks to immediately increase their capacity to cope with the high volume of trauma casualties, among a range of other critical health needs. Funding is also required to ensure that victims of violence and their families receive essential mental health and psycho-social support and to support organizations monitoring, verifying and documenting possible protection violations. 

“Gaza’s essential service providers simply do not have the capacity, at present, to cope with the current situation” said Mr. McGoldrick. “The humanitarian community stands ready to support the State of Palestine in meeting the immense health needs of Palestinians in Gaza, and ensuring that vital protection and mental health support is available.”

Background

Since 30 March 2018, the Gaza Strip has witnessed a significant increase in Palestinian casualties in the context of mass demonstrations taking place along Israel’s perimeter fence with Gaza. The demonstrations have occurred as part of the ‘Great March of Return’, a series of mass protests, expected to continue up to 15 May. The large number of casualties among unarmed demonstrators, including a high percentage of demonstrators hit by live ammunition, has raised concerns about excessive use of force. A number of healthcare staff have also been injured and medical assets have been damaged by Israeli fire. The Gaza health system, already on the verge of collapse following years of blockade, internal Palestinian political divisions and recurrent escalations of hostility, is struggling to cope with the mass influx of casualties.