قصة نجاح سجلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة | مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الانسانية - الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة
والد لين، محمد، يستعمل النقود لشراء مواد البقالة لأسرته. تصوير محمد الريفي من منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية.

قصة نجاح سجلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

قصة نجاح سجلها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

غدت لين الآن فتاة تنعم بالصحة والنشاط بفضل والديها واسعيْ الحيلة وبعض الدعم الإنساني الذي قُدِّم في الوقت المناسب. 

شُخصت حالة لين، وهي في الثالثة من عمرها، بأنها تعاني من سوء التغذية الحاد. وهذه الحالة شائعة إلى حد ما في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، وخاصة في غزة التي تعيش فيها. وعادةً ما يجري تحديد الأطفال على أنهم أكثر عرضة من الآخرين لسوء التغذية، الذي يفرض تحديات جسيمة أمام الصحة والرفاه.

وعلى الرغم من أن غزة ترزح تحت الحصار الإسرائيلي، فالمواد الغذائية متوفرة في الأسواق، ولكن لا يستطيع الكثيرون تحمّل تكلفتها. ففرص العمل في هذا الجيب المحاصر محدودة، وخاصة أمام النساء. ولم تتمكن إسلام، والدة لين، من العثور على فرصة عمل. ووالد لين، محمد، هو المعيل الوحيد للأسرة، حيث يعمل عامل نظافة في وظيفة جزئية، ويكافح في سبيل إعالة إسلام ولين وشقيقتيها. أخبرنا محمد: «لم تتناول أسرتي الفواكه والخضار منذ وقت طويل. ولا أتذكر آخر مرة تناولت فيها بناتي وجبة مغذية. وتكون ثلاجتنا فارغة على مدى أيام عديدة، وتظل بناتي جائعات طيلة اليوم.»

ومنزل الأسرة صغير. وهو مبني من الطوب الذي لا يغطيه شيء ومسقوف بصفائح الحديد. وعندما تصاعدت الأعمال القتالية في أيار/مايو 2021، لحقت الأضرار بهذا المأوى الهش وأصابت الصدمة الأسرة كلها. وشهد حالها المزيد من السوء وصارت البنات يفتقرن إلى وجبات الطعام. وكلما تدهور وضع لين الطبي، زاد همّ والديها. وكانا يرزحان تحت أعباء الديون لتغطية المصاريف الطبية، التي لم يستطيعا تحمّل تكلفتها.

والد لين، محمد، يستعمل النقود لشراء مواد البقالة لأسرته. تصوير محمد الريفي من منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية.
والد لين، محمد، يستعمل النقود لشراء مواد البقالة لأسرته. تصوير محمد الريفي من منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية.

وتمكنت إسلام ومحمد، أخيرًا، من تحسين وضع أسرتهما بفضل المساعدة التي قدمتها منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية، بدعم من الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. وكانا من بين 1,067 شخصًا جرى تحديدهم على أنهم مؤهلون لتلقي المساعدات النقدية على مدى شهرين، والتي سمحت لهم بالوفاء بالاحتياجات الأساسية عقب القتال المسلح المدمِّر. وتلقت كل أسرة مبلغًا قدره 645 شيكلًا (ما يعادل 200 دولار) في الشهر.

ويستذكر محمد: «غمرتنا الفرحة عندما تلقينا الرسالة التي تؤكد أننا مؤهلون. وبدأتُ أنا وزوجتي نفكر فيما سنشتريه. كان ينبغي أن نحدد أولوياتنا بعناية.» وبالفعل، أتاح تقديم النقود في الوقت المناسب، على خلاف أشكال المساعدات الأخرى، للأسر أن تضع خططها بناءً على احتياجاتها المتنوعة.

وللمرة الأولى منذ شهور عديدة، أحضر محمد السمك والمواد الغذائية المتنوعة والمغذية لأسرته. واستطاع هو وإسلام أخيرًا أن يغطيا المصاريف الطبية للين، التي تعافت من حالتها بعد ذلك بوقت وجيز. ويختتم محمد بقوله: «ما يسعدني أكثر من أي شيء آخر أن أرى لين وهي تركض وتلعب مع قريناتها دون أي مخاوف على صحتها.»

Fighting malnutrition in Gaza | United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs - occupied Palestinian territory
Four-year-old Leen Abu Hajras playing in front of her home in Khan Younis, the Gaza Strip, following her recovery from malnutrition. Photo by Mohammed Al Reefi for the Catholic Relief Services.

Fighting malnutrition in Gaza

An occupied Palestinian territory Humanitarian Fund success story

Leen is now a healthy, active little girl, thanks to her resourceful parents and some very timely humanitarian support.

At the age of three, Leen Abu Hajras was identified as suffering from severe malnutrition. This is rather common in the occupied Palestinian territory, especially in Gaza, where she lives. Children generally have been identified as more vulnerable than others to malnutrition, which poses significant challenges to health and wellbeing.

Even though Gaza is under Israeli blockade, food is available in the market. But for many, it is unaffordable. Job opportunities in this coastal enclave are limited, especially for women. Leen’s mom, Islam, has not been able to find one. Leen’s dad, Mohammed, is the sole breadwinner of the family; he works as a cleaner on a part-time job, struggling to provide for Islam, Leen, and Leen’s two sisters. “My family hasn’t had fruits and vegetables for so long,” he told us. “I don’t remember the last time my daughters had a nutritious meal. For many days, our fridge has been empty, and my children stayed hungry all day.”

Their home is small. It is made of uncovered bricks, and an iron sheet is used as a roof. When hostilities escalated in May 2021, this precarious shelter was damaged, and the entire family was traumatized. Their situation further worsened, and the girls started missing meals. The more Leen’s medical situation deteriorated, the more stressed her parents became. They were burdened with loans for medical expenses they just could not afford.

Leen’s father, Mohamed. using cash assistance to buy groceries for the family. Photo by Mohammed Al Reefi for the Catholic Relief Services.
Leen’s father, Mohamed. using cash assistance to buy groceries for the family. Photo by Mohammed Al Reefi for the Catholic Relief Services.

Islam and Mohammed were finally able to improve their family’s situation thanks to help from the Catholic Relief Services (CRS), supported by the occupied Palestinian territory Humanitarian Fund (oPt HF). They were among 1,067 people identified as eligible for a two-month cash assistance that would allow them to meet basic needs following the devastating armed fighting. Each family received ILS 645 (about US$200) per month.

“We were filled with joy when we got the message confirming our eligibility,” Mohammed recalls. “My wife and I started thinking what we would buy. We needed to carefully prioritize.” Indeed, the timely provision of cash, as opposed to other modalities of assistance, allowed the families to tailor their own plans based on their respective diverse needs.

For the first time in many months, Mohamed bought fresh, varied and nutritious food for his family. He and Islam could finally cover the medical expenses for Leen, who shortly thereafter recovered from her condition. “What makes me happy the most,” Mohammed concluded, ”is watching Leen run and play with her peers without any health concerns.”