نشرت بتاريخ 22 يوليو 2018

الخدمات الأساسية على وشك الانهيار في غزة بسبب نقص وقود الطوارئ

حذّر السيد جيمي ماكغولدريك، المنسق الإنساني، من أن إمدادات وقود الطوارئ التي تقدّمها الأمم المتحدة للمنشآت الحيوية في قطاع غزة تتعرّض للنضوب السريع، ودعا إسرائيل إلى وضع حدّ للقيود التي تحول دون استيراد الوقود والمانحين إلى تقديم التمويل الفوري لتغطية وقود الطوارئ، الذي يُتوقع حاليًا أن ينفد في مطلع شهر آب/أغسطس.

وقال السيد ماكغولدريك إن "مستشفى واحدًا على الأقل اضطُّر إلى تعطيل أعماله لعدة ساعات، ويجري تقليص الخدمات في مستشفيات أخرى إلى حد كبير. وبالنظر إلى انقطاع الكهرباء بصورة متواصلة ولفترة تصل إلى 20 ساعة في اليوم، وفي حال لم يجرِ توريد الوقود على الفور، فسوف تتعرض حياة الناس للخطر. ويُعَدّ المرضى الأشد ضعفًا، كمرضى القلب ومرضى غسيل الكلى والخُدَّج في أقسام الرعاية المكثفة، الأكثر عرضة للخطر."

ووفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، فسوف يُجبَر مستشفى القدس الذي يقدم التدخلات الطبية المنقذة للحياة لـ150,000 شخص في السنة، بما فيها العمليات الجراحية وعمليات الولادة والرعاية المكثفة، إلى إغلاق أبوابه في غضون الأيام القادمة بسبب نقص الوقود، ومن المحتمل أن ينفد الوقود من أربع مستشفيات أخرى على مدى الأيام الثلاثة المقبلة، مما يؤدي إلى تقليص الخدمات الطبية الأساسية المقدَّمة لسكان غزة إلى حد كبير. وتنفذ وزارة الصحة الفلسطينية تدابير تقشفية صارمة، حيث قلّصت المستشفيات تقديم خدمات التشخيص والتعقيم والنظافة، مما يزيد من خطر انتقال العدوى بين المرضى. كما يجري تقليص العمليات الجراحية الاختيارية. فقد أُجِّل ما يربو على 7,000 عملية جراحية اختيارية خلال الشهور القليلة الماضية بسبب الأعداد الهائلة من المصابين وشحّ الموارد المتاحة للاستجابة للطلب على الخدمات الطبية.

ويُعدّ أكثر من 2,000 مريض يرقدون في مستشفيات غزة ويعتمدون على الأجهزة الكهربائية، بمن فيهم الأطفال حديثو الولادة في الحاضنات، الأشد عرضة للخطر في هذه الآونة. وسوف يلحق الضرر المباشر بما يزيد على 1.27 مليون شخص بصورة مباشرة بسبب إغلاق المستشفيات وتقليص التدخلات الطبية الحيوية. وفضلًا عن ذلك، يهدد تقليص عمل منشآت المياه والصرف الصحي بزيادة الأمراض المنقولة بالمياه وانتشارها. وفي الوقت الراهن، تعمل منشآت المياه والصرف الصحي على تقنين إمدادات الوقود المتوفرة لديها، والتي ستنضب بحلول نهاية شهر تموز/يوليو، إذا لم تُستأنف واردات الوقود. وبالإضافة إلى التقليصات الأخرى التي طالت إمدادات المياه، فمن المحتمل أن يؤدي هذا الوضع إلى تدفق مياه الصرف الصحي إلى المناطق المأهولة بالسكان، وهو ما ينطوي على مخاطر تهدد الصحة العامة. وسينفد التمويل المتاح لوقود الطوارئ اللازم لتغطية جميع المنشآت الحيوية في مطلع شهر آب/أغسطس، حيث تستدعي الحاجة تأمين تمويل قدره 4.5 مليون دولار لتغطية إمدادات الوقود حتى نهاية هذا العام.

وقال السيد ماكغولدريك: "إلى حين إيجاد حلول تتسم بقدر أكبر من الاستدامة لأزمة الكهرباء في غزة، فمن شأن خطوتين أن تحولا دون المزيد من التدهور في غزة على المدى القصير: حيث ينبغي لإسرائيل أن تسمح بدخول الوقود وغيره من الإمدادات الأساسية إلى غزة، وينبغي للجهات المانحة أن تحشد الموارد لتضمن أن المنشآت الحيوية تحصل على الوقود الذي تحتاج إليه."

خلفية

منذ يوم 16 تموز/يوليو، ما تزال السلطات الإسرائيلية تحظر دخول الوقود إلى قطاع غزة، في سياق القيود المشددة التي فرضتها على الواردات والصادرات ردًّا على إطلاق الطائرات الورقية والبالونات المحمَّلة بمواد مشتعلة من غزة باتجاه إسرائيل، والتي ألحقت أضرارًا جسيمة بالممتلكات حسبما تفيد التقارير. وفي المتوسط، توزّع الأمم المتحدة 950,000 لتر من الوقود كل شهر على نحو 220 مستشفى وعيادة صحية، ومنشآت المياه، ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، وخدمات جمع النفايات الصلبة. وتضمن هذه الإمدادات المحافظة على المستوى الأدنى من الخدمات المنقذة للحياة في خضمّ النقص الحاد الذي تواجهه غزة في إمدادات الكهرباء. وفي الوقت الراهن، يحصل نحو مليونيْ فلسطيني من سكان غزة، أكثر من نصفهم أطفال، على الكهرباء لفترة لا تتجاوز أربع ساعات في اليوم. ويستهلك نحو 50 منشأة صحية ما يزيد على 60 في المائة من وقود الطوارئ.

وقد تسببت هذه المستجدات الأخيرة في تفاقم الأزمة الإنسانية التي خلّفها 11 عامًا الحصار الإسرائيلي الذي بات يثير القلق إزاء إنفاذ العقوبات الجماعية وانتهاك حقوق الإنسان، إلى جانب انقسام سياسي داخلي فلسطيني استعصى على الحل. 

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 22 July 2018

Essential services on verge of shutting down in Gaza due to lack of emergency fuel

Supplies of emergency fuel provided by the UN for critical facilities in Gaza are being fast depleted, the Humanitarian Coordinator, Mr. Jamie McGoldrick, warned today. He called on Israel to end restrictions preventing the import of fuel and for donors to provide immediate funding for emergency fuel, currently set to run out in early in August.

“At least one hospital has been forced to shut down for a few hours, and services are being dramatically reduced at others,” said Mr. McGoldrick. “Given ongoing blackouts of about 20 hours a day, if fuel does not come in immediately, people’s lives will be at stake, with the most vulnerable patients, like cardiac patients, those on dialysis, and newborns in intensive care, at highest risk.”

According to WHO, Al Quds Hospital, which provides life-saving medical interventions for 150,000 people per year, including major surgeries, deliveries and intensive care will be forced to shut down in coming days due to lack of fuel, with another four hospitals likely to run out within the next three days, thus significantly reducing provision of essential medical services to the population in Gaza. The Palestinian Ministry of Health already has implemented strict contingency measures: hospitals have reduced diagnostic, sterilization and cleaning services, increasing the risk of infections amongst patients. Elective surgeries are being further reduced. Over 7,000 elective surgeries have been postponed in recent months due to the mass trauma casualties and low resources available to cope with the demand. 

At highest risk, currently, are over 2,000 patients in Gaza’s hospitals, who rely on electrical devices, including neonates in incubators. Over 1.27 million people will be directly affected by the closure of the hospitals and reduction in provision of vital health interventions. Additionally, the reduced functioning of water and sanitation facilities risks an increase of waterborne disease and outbreaks. At present, water and sanitation facilities are rationing available fuel supplies, which will be exhausted by the end of July, if fuel imports do not resume. In addition to further reductions in water supplies, this would also potentially lead to sewerage overflowing into inhabited areas, entailing grave public health risks. Funding for emergency fuel will run out for all critical facilities in early August, with US$4.5 million required to cover fuel supplies through the end of the year.

“Until more sustainable solutions for the electricity crisis in Gaza are found, two steps can avert further devastation in Gaza in the short term,” said Mr. McGoldrick. “Israel must let fuel and other essential supplies in and donors must mobilize resources to ensure that critical facilities receive the fuel they need.”

Background

Since 16 July, the Israeli authorities have prohibited the entry of fuel into the Gaza Strip, in the context of tightened import and export restrictions, reportedly in response to the launching of incendiary kites from Gaza into Israel, which has caused extensive property damage. An average of 950,000 liters is distributed by the UN each month to around 220 critical hospitals and health clinics; water and sewage treatment sites; and solid waste collection services. The deliveries ensure that a minimum level of life-saving services can be maintained in the midst of the dire electricity shortage facing the Gaza Strip. At present, the nearly two million Palestinian residents of Gaza, over half of whom are children, receive electricity for no more than four hours each day. Over 60 per cent of the emergency fuel is consumed by some 50 health facilities.

The recent developments have exacerbated the existing humanitarian crisis driven by 11 years of Israeli blockade that has raised concerns over collective punishment and human rights violations, alongside an unresolved internal Palestinian political divide.