نشرت بتاريخ 7 أبريل 2020

حالة الطوارئ الناجمة عن فيروس كوفيد-19: تقرير الحالة الثالث (1-6 نيسان/أبريل 2020)

أبرز الأحداث

  • تمديد حالة الطوارئ في عموم أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة حتى مطلع شهر أيار/مايو 2020. 
  • نقص متزايد في معدات الوقاية الشخصية واللوازم الضرورية لإجراء فحوصات فيروس كوفيد-19. 
  • تأمين 86 في المائة من التمويل المطلوبة لخطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات لمواجهة الأزمة الناجمة عن فيروس كوفيد-19.

260 11,500 58 US$34 M
شخصًا مصابًا بفيروس كوفيد-19 (الحالات المؤكدة) شخص خضع لفحص الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19 مركز حجر وعلاج المبلغ المطلوب لخطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات

نظرة عامة على الوضع

حتى يوم 7 نيسان/أبريل، تأكدت إصابة ما مجموعه 260 فلسطينيًا بفيروس كوفيد-19 في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، من بينهم 247 مصابًا في الضفة الغربية (باستثناء القدس الشرقية) و13 مصابًا في قطاع غزة. ومن بين هؤلاء، تُوفيت امرأة مصابة في يوم 25 آذار/مارس، وتعافى 23 شخصًا من الإصابة بالفيروس، ولا تظهر أعراض المرض على أغلبية المصابين الآخرين. وبينما لا يزال عدد الأشخاص الذين اكتُشفت إصابتهم بالفيروس في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، ولا سيما في غزة، متدنيًا بالمقارنة مع بلدان أخرى، فقد يعكس هذا الأمر القدرات المحدودة على إجراء الفحوصات.

وخلال الفترة التي يغطيها هذا التقرير، اكتُشفت إصابة أكثر من 100 حالة جديدة بفيروس كوفيد-19 في الضفة الغربية، حيث أصيبَ العديد بالمرض في مصنع يقع بمنطقة صناعية تابعة لمستوطنة في القدس الشرقية. ولا يزال العدد الدقيق للحالات المصابة في القدس الشرقية غير مؤكد، بالنظر إلى أن وزارة الصحة الفلسطينية لا تغطيهم ولأنه لا يَرِد تصنيفهم في الأرقام العامة التي تصدُر عن السلطات الإسرائيلية.

وفي يوم 3 نيسان/أبريل، مدّدت الحكومة الفلسطينية حالة الطوارئ التي أعلنتها في يوم 5 آذار/مارس في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة لمدة شهر آخر. وواصل مركز إدارة الطوارئ في مكتب رئيس الوزراء قيادة الجهود المبذولة لاحتواء تفشي الوباء، وسط تنسيق وثيق مع السلطات الإسرائيلية والجهات الفاعلة الدولية، وخاصة منظمة الصحة العالمية. ومع ذلك، تبقى قدرة النظام الصحي الفلسطيني على التعامل مع الزيادة المتوقعة في أعداد المرضى تعاني من قصور حاد بسبب التحديات طويلة الأمد وحالات النقص الحرجة التي تشوبه، ولا سيما في قطاع غزة.

وقد طلبت الحكومة الفلسطينية في خطة الاستجابة، التي أعدّتها ونشرتها في يوم 26 آذار/مارس، مبلغًا قدره 137 مليون دولار لمساندة عملها على توجيه استجابة قطاع الصحة العامة لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19 في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، بالإضافة إلى دعم الموازنة وإنعاش الاقتصاد. ويغطي برنامج الاستجابة الصحية (120 مليون دولار) الفجوات الحرجة على المدى القصير والتي يمكن أن تقوّض قدرة الحكومة على احتواء الفيروس وإدارته.

وتشهد المواد التي تمسّ الحاجة إليها نقصًا في هذه الآونة بسبب الطلب العالمي غير المسبوق عليها، بما فيها معدات الوقاية الشخصية واللوازم الضرورية لإجراء فحوصات الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19. وتواجه المستشفيات في عموم أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة نقصًا في الطواقم المتخصصة في وحدات العناية المركزة.

وفي مختلف أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، و بالأخص في قطاع غزة، أشار مقدّمو خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي إلى زيادة حادة طرأت على الاستشارات الهاتفية المتعلقة بالعنف الأسري، الذي يُعزى إلى إغلاق المدارس منذ فترة طويلة وارتفاع معدلات البطالة وفرض القيود المشددة المفروضة على التنقل.

الضفة الغربية

جرى تشديد القيود على التنقل وتدابير التباعد الاجتماعي، والتي فرضتها الحكومة الفلسطينية في وقت سابق، منذ تمديد حالة الطوارئ. ويوجد حاليًا أكثر من 30 منشأة للحجر ومنشأة طبية في مختلف أرجاء الضفة الغربية، حيث يمكث الأشخاص المصابون بفيروس كوفيد-19، ولا يزال العمل جاريًا على إنجاز التحضيرات لافتتاح المزيد من المراكز. وتشير السلطات إلى نقص حاد في المعدات واللوازم الطبية، بما فيها مجموعات الفحص والطواقم المدرَّبة.

وقد أُثيرت المخاوف إزاء احتمال عودة الآلاف من العمال الفلسطينيين الذين يعملون في إسرائيل قبل حلول عطلة عيد الفصح اليهودي، الذي يبدأ في مساء يوم 8 نيسان/أبريل. ويرجع السبب وراء ذلك إلى احتمال انتشار الفيروس من إسرائيل، وإلى القدرات المحدودة للمنشآت الطبية ومنشآت الحجر في الضفة الغربية. وتتخذ السلطات الفلسطينية الترتيبات اللازمة لفحص حرارة العمال العائدين، وتقديم المواد المعقمة لهم وتشجيعهم على البقاء في الحجر المنزلي لمدة 14 يومًا. ومع ذلك، فوفقًا للسلطات الإسرائيلية، سوف تبقى تصاريح العمال التي يحملها ما يزيد عن 36,000 فلسطيني سارية خلال عطلة عيد الفصح، ولا تزال جهود التعاون المشترك بين الجانبين قائمة لمعالجة هذه المسألة.

ابدى مسح مجتمعي سريع أجرته مجموعة المأوى في منتصف شهر آذار/مارس إلى أنه من 165 تجمعًا سكانيًا ضعيفًا شملها المسح في المنطقة (ج)، لم يتلقّ أكثر من نصف هذه التجمعات (3,500 أسرة) استجابة أو مساعدة لحمايتها من فيروس كوفيد-19 بعدُ، وأن هذه التجمعات تفتقر إلى الإمكانيات المالية واللوجستية التي تيسر لها شراء مواد النظافة الصحية والحماية الضرورية.

وظل وصول المرضى المُحالين من بقية أنحاء الضفة الغربية إلى مستشفيات القدس الشرقية وإسرائيل مقتصرًا على الحالات الطارئة ومرضى السرطان. وأعلنت شبكة مستشفيات القدس الشرقية أن منشآتها الست (6) تُجري التحضيرات اللازمة للتعامل مع حالات الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19، والتي تستدعي الرعاية السريرية، في ذات الوقت الذي تعاني فيه من نقص مزمن في التمويل، وهو ما يعوق تأمين الأدوية والعلاج الطبي.

وقد تفاقمت الشواغل القائمة من قبلُ والناجمة عن الاحتلال الإسرائيلي خلال الفترة التي يغطيها هذا التقرير في سياق الأزمة الناجمة عن فيروس كوفيد-19. فمع أن السلطات الإسرائيلية جمّدت هدم المنازل المأهولة إلى حد كبير في المنطقة (ج) والقدس الشرقية، فقد استمر هدم المباني التي يستخدمها أصحابها في تأمين سُبل عيشهم والمباني المتصلة بالخدمات ومصادرتها، مما يزيد من وطأة الضغط على كاهل التجمعات السكانية الضعيفة في الأصل. وفضلًا عن ذلك، طرأت زيادة كبيرة على الهجمات التي يشنّها المستوطنون الإسرائيليون منذ نشوب هذه الأزمة، مما أدى إلى وقوع إصابات بين الفلسطينيين وإلحاق أضرار جسيمة بالممتلكات الفلسطينية. ولا تزال الشواغل إزاء إقدام الجنود الإسرائيليين على الاستخدام المفرط للقوة قائمة، حيث أفضت عدة حوادث إلى مقتل فلسطينيين وإصابتهم بجروح منذ بداية الأزمة.

قطاع غزة

حتى يوم 6 نيسان/أبريل، لم يخضع سوى 1,495 شخصًا لفحوصات الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19 في قطاع غزة. وقد أُجريَ عدد كبير من هذه الفحوصات في الضفة الغربية أو في إسرائيل بسبب الافتقار إلى الإمكانيات في غزة، وأطلقت السلطات الصحية فيها مناشدة عاجلة لتأمين المزيد من الدعم لتوريد مجموعات الفحص. ويخضع 1,100 شخص على الأقل للحجر في 25 موقعًا مخصصًا لهذه الغاية، بما فيها مركز الحجر في معبر رفح، والمنشآت الصحية، والمدارس والفنادق. ومن المتوقع خروج معظم هؤلاء من الحجر في غضون الأسبوع المقبل بعد إتمام فترة الحجر الإلزامية، والبالغة 21 يومًا. وقد جرى تعليق جميع العمليات الجراحية غير الطارئة وحصر الرعاية الصحية الأولية في 14 مركزًا يقدم الخدمات الأساسية فقط.

ويخضع وصول الفلسطينيين من غزة إلى العالم الخارجي عبر معبريْ المسافرين مع إسرائيل ومصر لقيود صارمة. فمعبر إيرز الخاضع للسيطرة الإسرائيلية لا يزال مغلقًا في جانب كبير منه منذ يوم 12 آذار/مارس أمام معظم حمَلة التصاريح، وسوف يعمل على نطاق أضيق بكثير من ذلك خلال عطلة عيد الفصح المقبلة. وكما هو الحال في الضفة الغربية، يقتصر خروج المرضى على الحالات الطارئة ومرضى السرطان. وأوقفت السلطات المصرية الخروج إلى مصر عبر معبر رفح بدءًا من يوم 15 آذار/مارس. ولا تزال الأوقات التي يُفتح فيها المعبر للدخول إلى غزة غير منتظمة ولا يمكن التنبؤ بها. وتشير التقديرات إلى أن 400 فلسطيني من غزة ينتظرون حاليًا في مصر للعودة إليها.واستمرت حركة البضائع من إسرائيل ومصر كما كانت عليه في السابق، بما يشمل دخول المواد المقيّدة ("ذات الاستخدام المزدوج") عبر معبر كرم أبو سالم الخاضع للسيطرة الإسرائيلية. ومن المتوقع أن يتواصل العمل في هذا المعبر خلال عطلة عيد الفصح بقدرة منخفضة. وعرضت الحكومة الإسرائيلية تسريع وتيرة الموافقة على المواد الضرورية للاستجابة لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19.

خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات – حالة التمويل

أُعلن عن عدد من المساهمات المالية المعتبرة لخطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19 خلال الفترة التي يشملها هذا التقرير. وتضمّن بعض هذه المساهمات إعادة جدولة الأموال التي رُصدت أو جرى التعهد بها في السابق وتحويلها إلى تدخلات أخرى، بما فيها نحو 7.76 مليون دولار قدمّها الاتحاد الأوروبي (المكتب الإنساني للجماعة الأوروبية) و5.16 مليون دولار رصدها الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. وتعدّ المساهمات الأخرى جديدة بالكامل، بما فيها 9 ملايين دولار قدّمتها الكويت و2.8 مليون دولار قدمتها كندا.

وفي الإجمال، جُمع مبلغ قدره 29.3 مليون دولار لغايات تنفيذ خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات، منذ إطلاقها. ويغطي هذه المساهمات ما نسبته 86 في المائة من المبلغ المطلوب (وهو 34 مليون دولار).

ومن المقرر تنفيذ هذه الخطة على مدى 90 يومًا، وسوف تخضع للمراجعة حسب التطورات التي يشهدها الوضع، وكلما استدعت الحاجة ذلك. وتتمثل الأهداف الرئيسية التي تسعى الخطة إلى إنجازها في منع زيادة انتقال الفيروس في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، وتقديم الرعاية الكافية للمرضى المصابين ومساندة أُسرهم، والتخفيف من أسوأ الآثار التي تخلّفها هذه الجائحة. وتوسِّع الخطة نطاق الخطة الأولية التي أطلقتها مجموعة الصحة في يوم 14 آذار/مارس، كما تتواءم بحذافيرها مع خطة الاستجابة الوطنية التي تعتمدها الحكومة الفلسطينية.

خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19

الجهة المانحة المبلغ بالدولار الحالة الجهة المتلقية
الكويت 9,000,000 جديد منظمة الصحة العالمية
كندا 2,810,000 جديد منظمة الصحة العالمية، اليونيسف، الأونروا
صندوق "التعليم لا يمكن أن ينتظر" 850,000 جديد اليونيسف، مؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل
الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة 1,000,000 جديد منظمة الصحة العالمية
دائرة التنمية الدولية البريطانية 500,000 جديد اليونيسف
إيرلندا  138,000 جديد أوكسفام
المقر العام لمنظمة الصحة العالمية 120,000 جديد منظمة الصحة العالمية
الصندوق المركزي للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ 300,000 جديد صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان
المكتب الإنساني للجماعة الأوروبية 7,760,000 إعادة جدولة  
الصندوق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة 5,160,000 إعادة جدولة اليونيسف، والأونروا، وصندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان، ومنظمة المعونة الطبية للفلسطينيين – المملكة المتحدة، ومؤسسة (CESVI) الإيطالية، ومنظمة العمل ضد الجوع، ومركز العمل التنموي/معًا، ووكالة التنمية والتطوير التقني
صندوق "التعليم لا يمكن أن ينتظر" 771,000 إعادة جدولة اليونيسف، والأونروا
دائرة التنمية الدولية 500,000 إعادة جدولة منظمة الصحة العالمية
اليونيسف 367,000 إعادة جدولة اليونيسف
أوكسفام 60,000 إعادة جدولة أوكسفام

التنسيق

يواصل فريق العمل المشترك بين الوكالات لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19، والذي يقوده منسق الأمم المتحدة المقيم/منسق الشؤون الإنسانية، ومجموعة التنسيق المشتركة بين المجموعات عقد اجتماعات دورية لمتابعة تنفيذ خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات. كما يُطلِع منسق الأمم المتحدة المقيم/منسق الشؤون الإنسانية السلطات الفلسطينية على التحركات الأساسية التي يطلبها الموظفون العاملون في المجال الإنساني ومجال التنمية خلال هذه الفترة التي تشهد تشديد القيود المفروضة على التنقل، بينما يتابع إجراءات العمليات الموحدة التي جرى اعتمادها في وقت سابق. وحيثما اقتضى الأمر، يجري التنسيق مع السلطات الإسرائيلية لتأمين التنقل المأمون لهؤلاء العاملين.

وفي سياق خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات، تعمل اليونيسف ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، وبدعم من مجموعة عمل المناصرة التابعة للفريق القطري للعمل الإنساني وفريق الأمم المتحدة للاتصالات، على تنفيذ خطة للتواصل بشأن المخاطر وإشراك المجتمع المحلي. وبمساندة أكثر من 20 منظمة شريكة في مجموعة الصحة والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية، لا يزال العمل جاريًا على بث الرسائل عبر قنوات مختلفة وعلى مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي للأسبوع الثالث على التوالي، حيث تصل هذه الرسائل إلى عشرات الآلاف من الأشخاص والتجمعات السكانية الضعيفة في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة.

كما تتولى اليونيسف دفة قيادة تنسيق العمل على توريد اللوازم والمعدات الطبية وإضفاء طابع مركزي عليها. وفضلًا عن ذلك، شكّل صندوق الغذاء العالمي مجموعة عمل لوجستية لدعم المنظمات الشريكة في العمل الإنساني في تأمين سلاسل اللوازم الأساسية، وتقليص الازدواجية في العمل وزيادة فعالية التكلفة. ومن المقرر تأمين الخدمات اللوجستية جوًا وبحرًا، عبر مطار بن-غوريون وميناء أسدود.

ولا تزال جهود التعاون الجيدة مستمرة بين الحكومة الفلسطينية وإسرائيل على صعيد الاستجابة لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19. ففي هذا الخصوص، سلّمت السلطات الإسرائيلية للضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة 2,850 مجموعة فحص، و2,000 قفاز، و1,000 كمامة، و100 لتر من مواد التعقيم و200 بدلة واقية، كما نسقت دخول 10,000 مجموعة فحص عبر مطار بن-غوريون.

الاحتياجات ذات الأولوية والأنشطة حسب المجموعات

الصحة

تتمحور الأهداف الرئيسية التي تسعى مجموعة الصحة إلى تحقيقها حول وقف زيادة انتقال فيروس كوفيد-19 في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، والتخفيف من أثره، وتقديم الرعاية الكافية للمرضى المصابين به.

الحماية

تتمحور الأهداف الرئيسية المتوخاة من الاستجابة التي تقدمها مجموعة الحماية حول الوقاية من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19 والتخفيف من أثره على شواغل الحماية الجديدة والحالية، وتعميم الاعتبارات المتعلقة بالحماية في جميع محاور خطة الاستجابة لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19.

التعليم

تتمثل الأهداف الرئيسية التي تنطوي عليها استجابة مجموعة التعليم في تصميم مواد باللغة العربية للتوعية بالنظافة الصحية وتدابير الوقاية من فيروس كوفيد-19 وتوزيعها، وتوظيف منصات التواصل الاجتماعي لرفع مستوى الوعي بأهمية التعلم من المنزل ، وإعداد الرسائل الإعلامية وتوزيعها على أولياء الأمور والمعلمين والأطفال، وتنظيف جميع المدارس والروضات العامة وتعقيمها قبل إعادة افتتاحها. وتتواءم هذه الأهداف مع خطة الاستجابة التي أعدتها وزارة التربية والتعليم لمواجهة فيروس كوفيد-19.

المأوى 

تسعى مجموعة المأوى من خلال استجابتها إلى تعزيز قدرات الأسر الضعيفة وصمودها من أجل الحد من انتشار وباء كوفيد-19، وتقليص الاكتظاظ في المساكن والتخفيف من وطأته.

المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية

تسعى مجموعة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية إلى ضمان استمرار إمكانية الوصول إلى خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية في المراكز الصحية والمؤسسات الرئيسية والتجمعات السكانية، من أجل التخفيف من أثر فيروس كوفيد-19.

الأمن الغذائي

حسبما يرد في خطة الاستجابة المشتركة بين الوكالات، يكمن الهدف الرئيسي الذي تسعى مجموعة الأمن الغذائي إلى تحقيقه في دعم الأسر التي يتأثر أمنها الغذائي تأثرًا مباشرًا بتفشي الفيروس بالمساعدات العينية والنقدية، بما تشمله من القسائم الإلكترونية، واعتماد برنامج جديد في تسليم المساعدات بصورة مباشرة في غزة

للمزيد من المعلومات عن أولويات و مداخلات كل مجموعة انقر هنا للتقرير الكامل

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 7 April 2020

COVID-19 Emergency Situation Report 3 (1 - 6 April 2020)

Highlights

  • State of Emergency across the oPt extended through early May 2020.
  • Increasing shortages in personal protective equipment (PPE) kits and supplies to conduct COVID-19 tests.
  • The Inter-agency Response Plan for the COVID-19 crisis is 86 per cent funded.

260 11,500 58 US$34 M
People with COVID-19 (confirmed cases) People tested for COVID-19 Quarantine and treatment centers request for Interagency Response Plan

Situation Overview

As of 7 April, a total of 260 Palestinians have been confirmed to have COVID-19 in the oPt, 247 in the West Bank (excluding East Jerusalem Palestinians), and 13 in the Gaza Strip. Of these, one died on 25 March, 23 people have recovered, and the majority of the remainder are asymptomatic. While the current number of people detected positive for COVID-19 in the oPt, especially in Gaza, remains low relative to other countries, this may reflect the limited testing capacity.

During the reporting period, over 100 new COVID-19 cases were detected in the West Bank, many of them reportedly contracting the disease in a factory located in a settlement industrial area in East Jerusalem. The exact number of cases in East Jerusalem remains unconfirmed, as these are not covered by the Palestinian Ministry of Health (MoH) and are not disaggregated in the overall figures by the Israeli authorities.

On 3 April, the Government of Palestine (GoP) extended the State of Emergency declared on 5 March across the oPt for another month. The Emergency Command Centre at the Prime Minister’s Office continued leading the efforts to contain the outbreak, amid close coordination with the Israeli authorities and international actors, primarily the World Health Organization (WHO). Nevertheless, the capacity of the Palestinian health system to cope with the expected increase in caseload remains severely impaired by longstanding challenges and critical shortages, particularly in the Gaza Strip.

In its Response Plan released on 26 March, the GoP requested US$137 million to support its direct public health response to COVID-19 across the oPt, as well as budget support and economic recovery. The health response component ($120 million) covers short-term critical gaps that could undermine its ability to contain and manage the epidemic.

The most needed items are currently in short supply due to the unprecedented global demand, including personal protective equipment (PPE) kits and supplies to conduct COVID-19 tests. Hospitals across the oPt also face shortages of specialized staff in intensive care units.

Across the oPt, and especially in Gaza, mental health and psychosocial service (MHPSS) providers have reported a sharp increase in phone consultations related to domestic violence, attributed to the longstanding closure of schools, increased unemployment and severe movement restrictions.

West Bank

Movement restrictions and social distancing measures, previously imposed by the GoP, have been further tightened since the extension State of Emergency. Currently, there are over 30 quarantine and medical facilities across the West Bank where people who have COVID-19 are hosted, with preparations underway to open more centres. The authorities have reported an acute shortage of medical equipment and supplies, including testing kits, as well as trained personnel.

Concerns have been raised regarding the possible return of thousands of Palestinian workers employed in Israel, in advance of the Jewish Passover holiday, which starts on the evening of 8 April. This is because of a potential spread of the virus from Israel, as well as due to the limited capacity of medical and quarantine facilities in the West Bank. Arrangements have been made by the Palestinian authorities to test the temperature of returning workers, provide them with disinfectants and encourage them to undergo a 14-day home quarantine Nonetheless, according to the Israeli authorities, the work permits of over 36,000 Palestinians will remain valid during Passover and joint cooperation efforts between the two parties continue to address the issue.

A rapid community assessment conducted by the Shelter Cluster in mid-March found that of 165 vulnerable communities surveyed in Area C, more than half (3,500 households) were not yet supported by COVID-19 response or protection assistance, and lacked the financial and logistic capacities to purchase the required hygiene and protection materials.

The access of patients from the remainder of the West Bank referred to hospitals in East Jerusalem and Israel remained limited to emergency cases and cancer patients. The East Jerusalem Hospital Network has announced that all of their six facilities are preparing to deal with cases of COVID-19 that require clinical care, whilst continuing to suffer from chronic underfunding, which hinders the provision of medical drugs and treatment.

Pre-existing protection concerns related to Israel’s occupation have been exacerbated during the reporting period in the context of the COVID-19 crisis. In Area C and East Jerusalem, while the Israeli authorities have largely frozen the demolition of inhabited homes, the demolition and seizure of livelihood and service-related structures continued, adding strain to already vulnerable communities. Additionally, since the start of the crisis there has been a surge in attacks by Israeli settlers resulting in Palestinian injuries and extensive property damage. Concerns about excessive use of force by Israeli soldiers remain, with several incidents since the start of the crisis ending in the killing and serious injury of Palestinians.

Gaza Strip

As of 6 April, only 1,495 people have been tested for COVID-19 in Gaza. Much of this testing has been conducted in the West Bank or in Israel due to lack of capacity in Gaza, and the health authorities there have urgently appealed for more support to procure testing kits. Less than 1,100 people are currently quarantined in 25 designated sites, including the Rafah Crossing quarantine centre, health facilities, schools and hotels. The majority of these are expected to be released in the coming week, on the conclusion of their 21-day mandatory quarantine period. All non-emergency surgeries have been suspended and primary healthcare is restricted to 14 centres, which provide essential services only.

Access for Palestinians from Gaza to the outside world through the two passenger crossings with Israel and Egypt remains severely constrained. The Israeli-controlled Erez crossing has been largely shut down since 12 March for most permit holders and will function on a further reduced scale for the upcoming Passover holiday. As in the West Bank, the exit of patients has been limited to emergency cases and cancer patients. Exit to Egypt via the Rafah crossing has been halted by the Egyptian authorities, as of 15 March; and opening times for entry into Gaza remain irregular and unpredictable. An estimated 400 Palestinians from Gaza are currently waiting in Egypt to return.

The movement of goods from Israel and Egypt has continued as previously, including the entry of restricted (“dual use”) items via the Israeli-controlled Kerem Shalom Crossing. The latter is expected to continue operating over the Passover holiday at a reduced capacity. The Government of Israel has offered to expedite approvals for items needed in relation to the COVID-19 response

Inter-Agency Response Plan – Funding Status

A number of significant financial contributions to the oPt Inter-agency Response Plan for COVID-19 were announced during the reporting period. Some of these contributions entailed the reprogramming of funds previously allocated or pledged for other interventions, including nearly $7.76 million by the European Union (ECHO) and $5.16 million by the oPt Humanitarian Fund (HF). Other contributions are entirely new, including $9 million from Kuwait and $2.8 from Canada.

Overall, since its launch on 27 March, $29.3 million have been raised for the implementation of the Inter-agency Response Plan, covering 86 per cent of the amount requested ($34 million).

The Plan intended to be rolled out over 90 days and, as needed, will be revised as the situation evolves. Its key objectives are to prevent further transmission of the virus in the oPt; provide adequate care for patients and their families; and mitigate the worst effects of the pandemic. It expands the initial plan launched on 14 March by the Health Cluster and is fully aligned with the GoP Response Plan.

INTER-AGENCY COVID-19 RESPONSE PLAN

Donor

Amount in US$

Status

Recipient

Kuwait 9,000,000 New WHO
Canada 2,810,000 New WHO, UNICEF, UNRWA
Education Cannot Wait 850,000 New UNICEF, Save the Children
OPT Humanitarian Fund 1,000,000 New WHO
DFID 500,000 New UNICEF
Ireland 138,000 New Oxfam
WHO HQ 120,000 New WHO
CERF 300,000 New UNFPA
ECHO 7,760,000 Reprogrammed  
OPT Humanitarian Fund 5,160,000 Reprogrammed UNICEF, UNRWA, UNFPA, WHO UNDP, MAP UK, CESVI, AAH, MAAN, ACTED
Education Cannot Wait 771,000771,000 Reprogrammed

UNICEF, UNRWA

DFID 500,000 Reprogrammed WHO
UNICEF 367,000 Reprogrammed UNICEF
Oxfam 60,000 Reprogrammed Oxfam

Coordination

The Inter-agency Covid-19 Task Force led by the Humanitarian/Resident Coordinator (HC/RC), as well as Inter-Cluster Coordination Group (ICCG), continue regularly meetings to follow up on the implementation of the Inter-agency Response Plan. The HC/RC also informs the Palestinian authorities about essential movements required by humanitarian and development staff during this period of enhanced movement restrictions, while following the previously adopted Standard Operation Procedures. Where necessary, coordination with the Israeli authorities is also conducted to ensure the safe movement of staff.

As part of the Inter-agency Response Plan, UNICEF and WHO, with the support of the HCT’s Advocacy Working Group and UN Communications Group, are implementing a Risk Communication and Community Engagement (RCCE) plan. With the support of over 20 Health Cluster partners, NGOs and INGOs messages have been disseminated across various channels and via social media for the third week in a row, reaching tens of thousands of people and vulnerable communities across the oPt.

UNICEF are also taking the lead in coordinating and centralizing the procurement of medical supplies and equipment. Additionally, the World Food Programme (WFP) has set up a logistics working group to support humanitarian partners in providing key supply chains, reducing duplication and increasing cost efficiency. Logistics services will be provided by air and sea, through Ben-Gurion airport and Ashdod Port.

Strong cooperation efforts between the GoP and Israel in response COVID-19 continue. In this regard, Israeli authorities delivered to the West Bank and the Gaza Strip 2,850 testing kits, 2,000 gloves, 1,000 masks, 100 litres of sanitizer and 200 protective suits, as well as coordinated entry of 10,000 testing kits through Ben Gurion airport.

Priority needs and activities by cluster

Health and Nutrition

The main objectives of the Health Cluster response are to stop further transmission of COVID-19 in the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt), mitigate its impact, and provide adequate care for patients affected.

Protection

The main objectives of the Protection Cluster response are to prevent and mitigate the impact of COVID-19 on new and existing protection concerns, and protection mainstreaming across the Plan.

Education

The main objectives of the Education Cluster response are to map out and disseminate relevant Arabic materials on hygiene awareness and preventive measures related to COVID-19; use social media platforms to raise awareness of the importance of home-based learning; prepare and disseminate media messages to caregivers, teachers and children; and clean and disinfect all schools and public kindergartens prior to their re-opening. These objectives are aligned with the Ministry of Education’s (MoE) Response Plan to COVID-19.

Shelter 

The Shelter Cluster response seeks to improve vulnerable households’ capacities and resilience to reduce the spread of the pandemic, and to reduce overcrowding in shelters to mitigate its spread.

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

The WASH Cluster seeks to ensure continuous access to WASH services in Health Centres, key institutions and communities, to minimize the impact of the COVID-19.

Food Security

As set out in the Inter-agency Response Plan, the main objective of the Food Security Cluster is to support households whose food insecurity is directly affected by the virus outbreak with in-kind and cash assistance, including e-vouchers; and to adopt a new door-to-door delivery modality in Gaza.

For priority needs and activities by cluster, see the full report.