نشرت بتاريخ 16 يناير 2019
 كجزء من  

تمويل قدره 350 مليون دولار مطلوب للإستجابة للإحتياجات الإنسانية لدى 1.4 مليون فلسطيني خلال العام 2019

جرى تحديد نحو 2.5 فلسطيني في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، أو نحو نصف عدد سكانها، على أنهم في حاجة إلى المساعدات الإنسانية والحماية، وفقًا للنظرة العامة على الإحتياجات الإنسانية للعام 2019. ومن بين هؤلاء، سوف يجري إستهداف 1.4 مليون شخص، تم تحديدهم على أنهم أكثر الفئات ضعفًا، خلال العام 2019 من خلال مجموعة من التدخلات الواردة في خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية، وذلك بتكلفة كلية تبلغ 350 مليون دولار. وقد أطلق جيمي ماكغولدريك، المنسق الإنساني، وبالإشتراك مع الدكتور إبراهيم الشاعر، وزير التنمية الإجتماعية في دولة فلسطين، خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019، في رام الله في يوم 17 كانون الأول/ديسمبر.

تزايُد الإحتياجات في ظل بيئة عملياتية تخضع للقيود

إستهدفت خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2018 تقديم المساعدات لـ1.9 مليون فلسطيني، بتكلفة كلية بلغت 539.7 مليون دولار. ولا يعكس تقليص عدد المستفيدين الذين سيجري استهدافهم والتمويل المطلوب للعام 2019 تراجعًا في مستوى الإحتياجات الإنسانية. فعلى العكس من ذلك، فقد طرأ تدهور حاد على الأوضاع الإنسانية خلال العام 2018، ولا سيما في قطاع غزة، حيث ارتفعت مستويات الفقر والبطالة وإنعدام الأمن الغذائي، وسجّلت أعداد الضحايا الفلسطينيين إرتفاعًا هائلًا نتيجة لمظاهرات "مسيرة العودة الكبرى". كما يشهد النمو الإقتصادي تراجعًا في الضفة الغربية، حيث يزيد التوسع الإستيطاني وعنف المستوطنين وعمليات الهدم والإخلاء من وطأة البيئة القسرية المفروضة على التجمعات السكانية الفلسطينية الضعيفة.

وفي الوقت الذي يزداد فيه الوضع سوءًا، تواجه الوكالات الإنسانية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني بيئة عملياتية تخضع لقيود متزايدة. فالقيود المفروضة على الوصول، والإعتبارات السياسية لدى الجهات المانحة والإرتفاع الذي تشهده الهجمات التي ترمي إلى نزع الصفة الشرعية عن العمل الإنساني باتت تفرض تحديات أكبر على قدرة الجهات الإنسانية الفاعلة على تقديم الحماية والمساعدة (أنظر المقالة التالية من هذه النشرة).

مستويات متدنية غير مسبوقة في التمويل المطلوب للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة

بالتوازي مع إرتفاع مستوى الإحتياجات والقيود العملياتية، ما يفتأ تمويل الأنشطة الإنسانية يشهد تراجعًا، حيث لم يجرِ تأمين سوى 44.4 بالمائة من المبلغ المطلوب لخطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2018، وقدره 539.7 مليون دولار، وهي نسبة تقلّ بكثير عن المتوسط العالمي الراهن الذي تقترب نسبته من 58 بالمائة. ويُعزى هذا النقص بصورة رئيسية إلى تراجُع المساهمات التي كانت الولايات المتحدة ترصدها لوكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا)، والتي كانت أكبر مساهم في الوكالة، غير أنه يعكس في الوقت نفسه إتجاهًا في تقليص التمويل المخصص للوكالات الإنسانية في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. ومن غير المتوقَّع أن يطرأ تحسُّن على هذا الوضع خلال العام 209، حيث يشير المانحون إلى أن مستويات التمويل الحالية ستبقى على ما هي عليه في أحسن الأحوال.

وبالنظر إلى أن الأوضاع الإنسانية والموارد المطلوبة للوفاء بالإحتياجات المتزايدة والحيّز المتاح للعمليات لن يشهد تحسُّنا في المستقبل المنظور، فقد جرت مراجعة خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019 لتحديد ما يمكن إنجازه في ضوء المناخ السياسي الراهن وسياق الموارد المتاحة. ويستند استهداف 1.4 مليون مستفيد إلى العدد الأقصى للأشخاص المستضعفين  الذين يمكن، من الناحية الواقعية، تقديم الخدمات الأساسية لهم في مجالات الغذاء والرعاية الصحية والمأوى والمياه والصرف الصحي خلال العام 2019، وذلك في حال تلقّي التمويل المطلوب. ويشهد المبلغ المطلوب، وهو 350 مليون دولار، للوفاء بهذه الإحتياجات تقليصًا قدره 190 مليون دولار بالمقارنة مع خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2018، وهو مصمَّم لتحقيق أقصى قدر من المنافع من التمويل المحدود في ظل بيئة ترزح تحت وطأة الضغوط.

وتقدَّر الأموال التي تستدعيها الحاجة الفعلية لتقديم المساعدات الإنسانية لكل الفلسطينيين المحتاجين، والبالغ تعدادهم 2.5 مليون نسمة، بمبلغ قدره 800 مليون دولار. وتبدي المنظمات الشريكة في مجال العمل الإنساني الإستعداد لتوسيع نطاق استجابتها من أجل الوصول إلى أعداد أكبر من الناس، في حال توفُّر المزيد من التمويل.

وقد صرّح المنسق الإنساني للأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، جيمي ماكغولدريك، خلال إطلاق خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019، بأن هذه الخطة "مركّزة وذات أولويات محددة إلى أقصى حد ممكن. وأنجزنا هذا العمل بالتشاور مع المانحين، لذا نتوقع تقديم إستجابة أفضل لهذه الخطة. وإننا إذ نطلب 350 مليون دولار، فنحن لا نزال نطلب أكثر مما حصلنا عليه خلال العام 2018 على الرغم من أنه يقلّ عن الإحتياجات الحقيقية بشوط بعيد. ونحن ندرك أن الحاجة تقتضي تقديم قدر أكبر بكثير من المساعدات. ونحن مستعدون لتقديم المزيد. ولكن لكي يتسنّى لنا ذلك، يجب أن نملك القدرة على الوصول إلى التجمعات السكانية دون تدخُّل. ويجب أن يملك موظفونا القدرة على الدخول إلى جميع المناطق في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة والخروج منها والتنقل بينها. ويجب أن نملك القدرة على نقل المواد والخدمات وتسليمها إلى الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إليها. وينبغي للسلطات الإسرائيلية والفلسطينية أن تيسّر عملنا، لا أن تسعى إلى تقويضه."

ما هي خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية؟

تمثّل خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية خطة جماعية اعتمدها المجتمع الدولي للإستجابة للإحتياجات الإنسانية الأكثر إلحاحًا، والتي تحدّدها المنظمات الشريكة في جميع أنحاء الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة. وتشكّل خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019 جانبًا من خطة تغطي عدة أعوام وتشمل الفترة الواقعة بين الأعوام 2018 و2020، وهي تسترشد بنفس الأهداف الإستراتيجية، مثلما كان عليه الحال في العام الماضي: 

  • حماية حقوق الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون تحت الإحتلال وفقًا للقانون الدولي، وإخضاع أصحاب الواجب للمساءلة.
  • ضمان الوفاء بالإحتياجات الأساسية للفلسطينيين الضعفاء من خلال تقديم الخدمات الأساسية النوعية وتحسين القدرة على الوصول إلى الموارد.
  • ضمان دعم قدرة الفلسطينيين الضعفاء على التأقلم مع الوضع القائم، والسعي إلى اجتراح الحلول للإنتهاكات وغيرها من الأسباب الجذرية التي تثير التهديدات والصدمات.

وما يزال الوضع في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة يوصَف باعتباره أزمة طويلة الأمد تتعلق بالحماية، ويُعزى جانب كبير من الأسباب التي تقف وراء هذه الأزمة إلى استمرار الإحتلال الإسرائيلي للضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وقطاع غزة، واستمرار الإنقسام الداخلي الفلسطيني والإنتهاكات التي تمسّ القانون الدولي. وبناءً على ذلك، فقد جرت المحافظة على الموقع المركزي التي تتبوّأه الحماية باعتبارها مسؤولية مشتركة على نطاق منظومة العمل في جميع جوانب خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019، حيث يستهدف نحو 10 بالمائة (أو 36 مليون دولار) من مجموع التمويل المطلوب تأمين الإحتياجات القائمة في مجال الحماية.

وقد خضعت مشاريع الغذاء والمأوى والمياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة لتحديد الأولويات على نحو أكثر صرامة خلال هذا العام، وذلك في سياق الإستجابة للبيئة التي تشهد فرض القيود على التمويل. وكما كان عليه الحال في الأعوام المنصرمة، يخصَّص معظم التمويل المطلوب (نحو 59 بالمائة أو 206 مليون دولار) لتقديم المساعدات الغذائية لـ1.7 مليون فلسطيني يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي بدرجة متوسطة إلى حادة. وعلى نحو إستثنائي، طرأت زيادة على الإحتياجات اللازمة للقطاع الصحي (9 بالمائة، 30 مليون دولار) بالنظر إلى التدهور الذي طرأ على الأوضاع في قطاع غزة بسبب الإرتفاع الذي شهدته أعداد الإصابات الناجمة عن مظاهرات "مسيرة العودة الكبرى". ومن المقرر رصد النسبة المتبقية من التمويل المطلوب، وهي 22 بالمائة (22 مليون دولار)، لتنفيذ مجموعة من المشاريع في مجالات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية، والتنسيق، والتعليم والمأوى.

وتشمل خطة الإستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019 ما مجموعه 203 مشروعًا سوف تنفّذه 88 منظمة، بما فيها 38 منظمة محلية، و37 منظمة غير حكومية دولية، و13 وكالة من وكالات الأمم المتحدة. ويستهدف نحو 77 بالمائة من الأموال المطلوبة قطاع غزة، بينما يركِّز الدعم المتبقي (ونسبته 23 بالمائة) على المنطقة (ج)، والمنطقة الخاضعة للسيطرة الإسرائيلية في مدينة الخليل والقدس الشرقية بالضفة الغربية.

ومثلما كان عليه الحال في الأعوام السابقة، تعتمد قدرة مجتمع العمل الإنساني على تنفيذ خطة الاستجابة الإنسانية للعام 2019، والمشاريع والأنشطة المرتبطة بها، إعتمادًا كاملًا على تلقّي المبلغ المطلوب، وقدره 350 مليون دولار، من خلال المساهمات الطوعية التي يقدّمها المانحون.

النسخة الملزمة للتقرير هي النسخة الإنجليزية

Posted on 16 January 2019
 as part of 

$350 million requested to respond to humanitarian needs for 1.4 million Palestinians in 2019

About 2.5 million Palestinians across the occupied Palestinian territory (oPt), or approximately half of the population, are identified as in need of humanitarian assistance and protection according to the 2019 Humanitarian Needs Overview (HNO). Of these, 1.4 million, identified as the most vulnerable, are to be targeted in 2019 by a range of interventions outlined in the Humanitarian Response Plan (HRP) at a total cost of US$350 million. The 2019 HRP was launched jointly by Jamie McGoldrick, the Humanitarian Coordinator, with the Minister of Social Development of the State of Palestine, Dr. Ibrahim Al Shaer, in Ramallah on 17 December.

Rising needs amid a constrained operational environment

In the 2018 HRP, 1.9 million Palestinians were targeted for assistance at a total cost of $539.7 million. The reduction in the number of beneficiaries to be targeted and funding requested for 2019 does not reflect a lower level of humanitarian need. On the contrary, there has been a sharp deterioration in the humanitarian situation in 2018, particularly in the Gaza Strip: poverty, unemployment and food insecurity have increased and there has been an enormous rise in Palestinian casualties as a result of the “Great March of Return”  (GMR) demonstrations. Economic growth is declining in the West Bank, where settlement expansion, settler violence, demolitions and evictions are intensifying the coercive environment on vulnerable Palestinian communities.

As the situation worsens, humanitarian and civil society organizations are facing an increasingly constrained operational environment. Access restrictions, political considerations by donors and a rise in attacks designed to delegitimize humanitarian action are placing greater challenges on the ability of humanitarian actors to provide protection and assistance (See next article in this Bulletin).

Funding for the oPt at an all-time low

Concurrent with increased needs and operational constraints, funding for humanitarian activities is declining; only 44.4 per cent of the $539.7 million requested for the 2018 HRP was secured, significantly lower than the global average of nearly 58 per cent. The shortfall is mainly attributable to the decline in contributions to UNRWA by the United States, the Agency’s largest contributor, but reflects a trend of reduced funding for humanitarian agencies across the oPt. This situation is not expected to improve in 2019 as donors indicate that current funding levels will be maintained at best.

As no improvements are currently foreseeable in the humanitarian situation, in the resources required to meet rising needs or in the operating space for humanitarian activities, the 2019 HRP has been revised to identify what can be done with the existing political and resource climate. The target of 1.4 million beneficiaries is based on the maximum number of vulnerable people who can realistically be provided with basic food, healthcare, shelter, and water and sanitation in 2019, if the required funding is received. The $350 million requested to meet these needs is $190 million lower than the 2018 HRP and is designed to maximize the benefits of limited funding in a restrictive environment.

The funds actually needed to provide humanitarian assistance to all 2.5 million Palestinians in need is an estimated $800 million. Should more funding become available, humanitarian partners are ready to scale up their response to reach more people.

Launching the 2019 HRP, the Humanitarian Coordinator stated: “It is the most prioritized and focused it could possibly be. We have done this in consultation with donors so we expect a better donor response to this plan. In requesting $350 million we are asking for more than we actually received in 2018, but this is well below the real needs. We recognize that much more assistance is needed. We stand ready to do much more but to do so, we must be able to access communities without interference. We must be able to get our staff in and out, and between, all parts of the occupied Palestinian territory. We must be able to deliver goods and services to the people who need them. Palestinian and Israeli authorities need to facilitate our work rather than undermine it.”

What is the Humanitarian Response Plan?

The HRP represents a collective plan by the international community to respond to the most urgent humanitarian needs identified by partners across the oPt. The 2019 HRP forms part of a multi-year plan for the period 2018-2020 and is guided by the same strategic objectives as last year: 

  • To protect the rights of Palestinians living under occupation in accordance with international law, while duty-bearers are increasingly held to account; 
  • To ensure that the basic needs of vulnerable Palestinians are met through the provision of quality basic services and improved access to resources; 
  • To ensure that the capacity of vulnerable Palestinians to cope with the situation is supported, while solutions to violations and other root causes of threats and shocks are pursued. 

The situation in the oPt continues to be characterized as a protracted protection crisis, largely attributable to Israel’s ongoing occupation of the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and Gaza Strip, the continuing internal Palestinian divide and violations of international law. Accordingly, the centrality of protection has been maintained as a shared system-wide responsibility throughout the 2019 HRP, with approximately 10 per cent ($36 million) of the total funding requested targeting ongoing protection needs.

Food, shelter, water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) projects have undergone stricter prioritization this year in response to the restrictive funding environment. As in previous years, the majority (approximately 59 per cent or $206 million) of the funding requested is to provide food assistance to the 1.7 million Palestinians who are moderately to severely food insecure. Exceptionally, requirements for the health sector has increased (nine per cent, $30 million) as conditions in Gaza have deteriorated due to the surge in casualties from the GMR demonstrations. The remaining 32 per cent requested ($104 million) will address a range of projects in WASH, coordination, education and shelter.

The 2019 HRP encompasses 203 projects to be implemented by 88 organizations, including 38 national and 37 international NGOs, and 13 UN agencies. About 77 per cent of the funds requested target Gaza, while the other 23 per cent focus on Area C, the Israeli-controlled area of Hebron city (H2) and East Jerusalem in the West Bank.

As in previous years, the humanitarian community’s ability to implement the 2019 HRP, and associated projects and activities, is fully reliant on receiving the requested $350 million via voluntary donor contributions.